We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Welcoming!”
Review of Tladi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tladi Lodge
Ranked #19 of 78 Sandton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Ian and Sylvia welcomed me to their home, and treated me as one of their own. I loved the dinners with the other guests; chatting and getting to know one another. The food was fantastic,and the lodge itself beautiful. One of the best showers in the world! Would highly recommend to anyone, and look forward to coming back with my family some day.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThomasRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, Owner at Tladi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review about Tladi Lodge.

Sylvia and I are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to hosting you and your wife some time soon.

Regards, Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
There are newer reviews for Tladi Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

We've stayed at Tladi on a number of occasions over the last four months. It is a great base for a business or holiday trip to Jo'burg. The rooms are very comfortable, clean and well appointed, and hosts Ian and Sylvia are very hospitable and helpful. The staff are friendly and an excellent breakfast is served. The gardens and pool area are lovely and it's a far preferable environment to a hotel. Conveniently situated, it is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallyD73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, Owner at Tladi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Hi Sally,

Many thanks for your kind words. We look forward to hosting you and Tom again, and maybe you will be able to get your mom out to South Africa for another visit.

Regards, Ian and Sylvia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Stayed one night for a meeting in Sandton. Could not fault the place. The owners and staff were on hand to make the stay relaxed. It is very quite and very well furnished. The bedroom was very spacious and comfortable. I much prefer these places to Hotels and this one is highly recommended if you need to stay in Sandton.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyJScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, Owner at Tladi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Thank you for your review. Sylvia and I look forward to hosting you again and hopefully your next visit can be a longer one.

Ian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I stayed for one night last week. The owners were very accommodating and the room was tastefully furnished and equipped with all the mod cons. Lovely large bathroom and walk in powerful shower. Great nights sleep followed by a superb breakfast spread. The bonus is definitely its close proximity to Sandton and Grayston Drive which leads straight to the highway. The Free wifi a real bonus! I will definitely return when i'm next in town!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
Thank JamesMTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, Owner at Tladi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Hi James,

Sylvia and I were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Many thanks for taking the time to review Tladi Lodge. We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Sandton.

Regards, Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

stayed here 2 nights last week- for business in Sandton. The Lodge is good, with a large garden en a nice pool+ two fun dogs playing around, a kitchen and fridge with drinks etc. Breakfast on a large dining table with other guests.... I enjoyed it much more then staying in the big hotels and surely will return. Free Wifi. Recommend to try out the tuktuk for going to Mandela square (3 km)- much more efficient then a taxi.

Room Tip: I had a room in the main house which was good; with an attached room/ desk etc.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmaria v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, Owner at Tladi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Thanks for your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to hosting you on your next trip,
Regards, Ian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Had a two week stay at Tladi Lodge in April/May 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed my time there. Friendly hosts Ian & Sylvia Harrison made me feel welcome and relaxed at all times.
The property has a stunning, peaceful environment with very comfortable well fitted rooms. I stayed in the exceptionally spacious Fish Eagle Suite and it's separate lounge and full kitchen was great for my longer stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreN2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, Owner at Tladi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Hi Andre,

Thanks for taking the time to review Tladi Lodge. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and had a chance to charge your batteries. We look forward to hosting you on your next break.

Ian and Sylvia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

I have stayed at the Tladi a number of times before on business, mostly recently this week. They effortlessly accommodated my early arrival and allowed me to freshen up early prior to going onto my office. The grounds and accommodation are much more reminiscent of a rural environment than downtown Sandton yet are ideally placed to access urban highlights such as Nelson Mandela Square. The breakfasts are excellent, the rooms comfortable and importantly the wifi works well - a key drawback of many South Africa hotels. Ultimately it is a great place to stay with a relaxed service focused attitude.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMW27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, Owner at Tladi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Many thanks for your kind words. We are pleased we were able to accommodate your early check in. We always try to allow for early check ins, but this is sometimes dictated to us by what time the previous guest checks out.

We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Sandton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandton
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.8 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 46 in Sandton
1,331 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#8 of 66 in Johannesburg
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
1.4 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 46 in Sandton
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tladi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tladi Lodge

Address: 16 David Street, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Sandton
Price Range: £86 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tladi Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 2 acres of lush tranquil gardens, Tladi Lodge Johannesburg, combines all the benefits of a hotel with the intimacy of a guest house. This beautiful area boasts an abundance of cultural, natural and social highlights - you'll be spoilt for choice for things to do. Whether you fancy an awe-inspiring champagne balloon ride or a day on a manicured golf course, the hospitality staff at this 5 star guest house will be happy to advise. Tladi Lodge is an extensive thatched property surrounded by verdant trees and set amidst romantic winding pathways. The on-site tennis court and swimming pool will keep you in shape whilst you enjoy the open-air life. Welcoming business executives, couples and families with children of 8 years and older, the guest house is the perfect haven for work, relaxation or that extra-special break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tladi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tladi Lodge Sandton, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing