We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service & Location, But One Big Problem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The location is excellent: adjacent to the shopping mall at Mandela Square. Service is also superb: an outstanding concierge staff and sandwiches available in the lobby bar 24/7. Buffet breakfast is also a winner. Here's why I don't give it five stars: due to a major design flaw in mapping the rooms, your door is very loud when it clicks shut...and, each time the door closes in the adjacent room, it sounds very much as though your door is being forced open. Not good...especially if you have a nocturnal neighbor. The Hotel is aware of this problem and says they are looking for ways to fix it. Until they fix this, not sure if I would rebook here. Once the problem is fixed, however, I would likely give them a fifth star, because everything else clicks here...in a good way.

Room Tip: Any room where the noise from the closing door next door doesn't scare you to death...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobbyBMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuiAntunes, Deputy General Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear BobbyBMiles,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write the above TripAdvisor report for us. We value all feedback as it assists us in correcting any possible service shortcomings. We strive to offer only the best possible service to our guests and to ensure that they leave with good memories.

I would like to apologize for the inconvenience the noise from the neighboring door caused. As you mentioned, we are currently looking at feasible options to rectify this problem as it has been raised on many occasions.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back with smiles in the near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (604)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

309 - 315 of 604 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

This is a first class hotel with good service and most interesting rooms decorated in a black-and-white motif. You might not like it for your home but it is different for a hotel stay and quite pleasing. The breakfast was excellent with equally attentive service. The security in the hotel is outstanding and the convenience of the location right on Nelson Madela Square makes it a wise choice for visitors who what access to great shops and restaurants without having to walk any distance. I would definitely recommend this hotel to visitors who want a safe, nice stay in Johannesburg.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magexport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuiAntunes, Deputy General Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Magexport,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful report for us on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the black and white décor to be pleasing. We look forward to welcoming you back to the DAVINCI with smiles in the near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

A refreshing drink and a quick orientation to the hotel was just what we needed after touring Soweto. The difference in living standards were all the more apparent after our tour. This hotel is beautifully decorated although the frosted glass bathroom walls took a bit of getting used to! Location is everything and this hotel is located on Nelson Mandela Square and an elevator or escalator ride takes you to the Sandton Mall. A shopper's and foodie's paradise. After dinner to return to our relaxing retreat upstairs in the hotel was a luxury. The amenities were great, the bedding fresh and crisp with comfortable pillows and a mattress that was just right. The breakfast buffet was very good and varied although it was a bit confusing as to when or how you ordered something from the hot menu that was also provided. All in all a lovely sojourn.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cruisingatsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuiAntunes, Deputy General Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Dear cruisingatsea,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful report for us on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel to be a luxury, the amenities great and the mattress “just right”.
We look forward to welcoming you back with smiles in the near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We went to my wife and I spend a few days into our honeymoon. The treatment of workers was great. A very romantic and relaxing experience. The quality / price is in line with what you get. Returning to South Africa stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuiAntunes, Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Gio C,

We thank you for your review as well as the wonderful feedback. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to all departments.

We trust you had a wonderful holiday in our beautiful country and look forward to once again hosting you when you return to South Africa.

Kind regards,

Rui Antunes
Deputy GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Of our group of 38 people embarking on a tour of South Africa, 8 of us stayed here for two nights; the rest just for one night. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and the restaurant was nice (good food though not quite excellent). There was a nice pool. It is what one might expect for a hotel of this class.
Location is the real plus for this hotel. It is located on Nelson Mandela Square, where good restaurants and shopping abound. There is a rather nice craft market not far away (just across the square). The very large and upscale Sandton City Mall is a short walk away, connected to Nelson Mandela Square - one never need go outside.
We ate at The Butcher Shop and Grill on Nelson Mandela Square and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandyRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuiAntunes, Deputy General Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear RandyRoss,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write the above TripAdvisor report for us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your dinner at The Butcher Shop and Grill was memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the DAVINCI in the near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Great stay with all the services one would expect from a hotel of this class. Excellent spa, very nice restaurant and friendly staff who are willing to help with everything. Rather surprised that the 'business center' comprises of two computers in front of the gym with a printer, but it was sufficient for my needs.

Nothing major, but a small problem with housekeeping; on Monday morning I met the cleaning lady coming into my room as I was leaving just before 9. When I returned after 12, the room had not been serviced completely, the bedding had been stripped of the bed and left on the floor and the coffee not replenished. Someone only came to complete the job after 1 o'clock. Not that big a deal, but rather distracting when one has to work in one's untidy room.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKotze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuiAntunes, Deputy General Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear MKotze,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write the above TripAdvisor report for us.

Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience that was caused when you room was completely serviced the morning. Our Executive Housekeeper is investigating the matter. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to DAVINCI in the near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

a good business and leisure hotel with lots of restaurants and within the mall. fantastic location with good large room and bathroom. internet wi fi needs to be improved. drops out frequently and only 350 mgb daily.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grimj03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuiAntunes, Deputy General Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear grimj03,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write the above report on TripAdvisor for us.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our IT technician is looking into the internet concerns and we trust that it will be resolved shortly.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the DAVINCI in the near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.1 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 46 in Sandton
993 reviews
0.0 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 46 in Sandton
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.1 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 46 in Sandton
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DaVinci Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DaVinci Hotel and Suites

Address: 2 Maude Street | Corner 5th Street, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#3 Business Hotel in Sandton
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: £131 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — DaVinci Hotel and Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DAVINCI Hotel and Suites - A Contemporary Masterpiece. Legacy’s latest luxury hotel and all suites development is located adjacent to the prime location of Nelson Mandela Square. This is Legacy’s fourth hotel on the cosmopolitan square in the heart of the Sandton business and leisure district. One could speak of the opulence of the rooms, the restaurant and lounge, pioneering fitness centre and health spa but we suggest you come and see for yourself. Guests can enjoy the convenience of luxurious shopping at the Legacy Corner Mall and Sandton City just an elevator trip away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your DaVinci Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davinci Hotel Sandton
DaVinci Hotel And Suites Sandton, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing