We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Sandton(Sandton)
US$156
US$138
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Sandton Sun(Sandton)
US$344
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$289
US$275
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$183
US$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$262
US$221
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$615
US$585
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$167
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Maslow(Sandton)
US$172
US$163
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$191
US$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$120
US$105
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (642)
Filter reviews
642 results
Traveller rating
374
199
44
15
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
374
199
44
15
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnelson mandela squareshopping mallglass doorlarge mallexcellent hoteldirect accessmodern hotelnespresso machinestar hotellate checkoutthe air conditioningturn down servicerooms are largebreakfast buffetsouth africapool deckmini bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
328 - 333 of 642 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Loved the hotel - rooms are a little small but very well laid out. Very convenient to the Mall and you never have to get out at all. Had dinner/drinks at Maximillien Restaurant and it was outstanding - good food and service. The Manager/Food & Beverage, Warren Harvey, is a blast of a person and so made our whole evening with his great humor and attention to our every need. It was a real surprise and treat to find a great restaurant in a hotel - a real jewel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Venice911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuiAntunes, Deputy General Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Venice911,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful report for us on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the DAVINCI with smiles in the near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I was there for a business visit/training. The rooms are large and spacious will all the necessary amenities. The beds were very comfortable and enjoyed the general cleanliness and decor. The also have sockets for international travelers! Very handy.The staff were very courteous and helpful. The have airport shuttles available too.
The hotel is conjoined to a large shopping mall and makes life very easy for going shopping without actually leaving the building. Lots of coffee shops and restaurants around the area.
The hotel restaurant is also excellent and thoroughly enjoyed the menu.

Room Tip: No particular view is available
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnujJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuiAntunes, Deputy General Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear AnujJ,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a report for us on TripAdvisor.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a memorable experience overall. We look forward to welcoming you back to the DAVINCI with smiles in the near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I've stayed at DaVinci before several times, and the sleep quality and shower/bath etc are beyond question.

However, considering I'd say that this is primarily a business hotel, one plug socket available per room is poor, and in my room that did not work. I asked the front desk if they could send someone to have a look, was asked if the socket was switched on, and nobody came to fix it. I was also annoyed that one of the lifts didn't seem to be working, and that this lift was often the one waiting whenever I was in the reception area.

Given what it costs to stay in a hotel such as this, this is unacceptable, and I'll consider looking elsewhere next time I'm in Joburg.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheRunawayFound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuiAntunes, Deputy General Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear TheRunawayFound,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a report for us on TripAdvisor.

Please accept my apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your last stay with us. The lifts leading down to the ground level were undergoing routine maintenance which unfortunately does cause inconvenience however this is solved. The issues with the plug sockets will be addressed with the relevant Heads of Departments and corrective action will be taken. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we trust that you will give us the opportunity to improve your service experience the next time that you are in Johannesburg.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

A wonderful hotel in an incredible location. Lots of restaurants near by. The Hotel restaurant has excellent food and wines. I recommend it. The service at the hotel was outstanding. Great staff. A great place to stay when visiting Johannesburg.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pili11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuiAntunes, Deputy General Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear pili11,

Thank you very much for the wonderful report that you wrote for us on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the DAVINCI in the near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed for four nights at the Da Vinci. It's biggest plus is that it is attached to the Sandton Shopping Centre, the best mall in Jo'burg. Incidentally, Sandton is the safest locality in Johannesburg, a city noted for its petty crime.
The other plus is that their room service is prompt, and the Concierge was very helpful in organsing taxis, etc.
The minus side is that the hotel needs to be refurbished, nothing major just small R&M that a 5 star hotel must undertake on a timely basis.
We had a comfortable stay there, and I would recommend the Da Vinci to anyone looking for retail therapy in Johannesburg.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrityunja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuiAntunes, Deputy General Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Mrityunja



Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful report for us on TripAdvisor.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us however it would be great if you could send us more information regarding the refurbishment comment. We looking forward to welcoming you back to the DAVINCI Hotel and Suites in the near future. You can email us directly on davinci@legacyhotels.com


Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews