We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Sandton(Sandton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Maslow(Sandton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
41
40
21
5
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
40
21
5
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself cateringapartments are spacioussandton cityliving roomgreat accommodationperfect locationnelson mandela squareminute walkother guestswalking distanceenjoyed my staybusiness tripshopping mallreceptionunitstlccompound
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 115 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2014

A very good place !

Central to Mandela Square and eating spots. We had a vast room/suite with living area, balcony and 2 toilets. All was so clean and nice. Staff pleasant/helpful. Nice small cafe for breakfast at very good prices.
Good value for the moderate cost.
I note some very silly & negative comments from a few others. EG; We were helped with our luggage to our upstairs rooms.
We were happy with our stay. Some of the whingers should stay at the Hilton and pay the difference - and then shut up.

Room Tip: Try for a room near the cafe
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanremo34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The apartment style hotel had a washer dryer outside the apartments that we could use to wash all of our safari soiled clothes. The apartments were a bit dated and looked tired and weary. We had a lot of trouble with the doorknobs, latches, that won’t open or close. Breakfast was in the coffee shop and was pretty good. The grounds were safe and gated with security. Had good parking space. The internet was only available in the lobby and coffee shop and was very pricy from the room. We could walk to the gautrain station and get to the heart of town. Sandton felt safe. No restaurants around. The beds and linens were clean. The space heaters provided were not adequate.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goodytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We booked this hotel as we decided to extend our stay at the last minute. The booking was made on the day of check-in and this hotel was one of the few available and extremely well priced for a two bedroom accommodation near Sandton Central. Upon arriving, it appeared that this hotel was preciously a block of flats, now converted into a "lodge".

The building is extremely aged and not the type of accommodation you would expect when staying in this area. The maintenance on the flat was terrible, with carpets and furniture not looking at its cleanest, mould in the corners of the balcony, in the bathroom and in the kitchen, and the bathroom, kitchen and bedrooms terribly outdated. The second bedroom is extremely small, and would be better equipped for one single bed, but they appear to have squeezed in a second.

The reception staff who are purported to be the management are unfriendly and unhelpful. This accommodation is not suitable for anyone with limited mobility or the elderly. You need to walk to your accommodation through an uneven pathway, and climb steep stairs if you are placed on the first floor. Also note that you will be required to move your own luggage and also carry it up the steep stairs. There is no offer at porterage as you usually find and expect, even more so with such layout.

I would recommend that if you want a suite hotel, book at Hydro Park or at Westpoint Suites in Grayston Drive Sandton. Alternatively find accommodation at Sandhurst Towers through a "B&B". I have previously stayed at two of these, and they have a better location and are in a completely different league. This hotel is not in the CBD and not within walking distance of any amenities. There is also 20 West and many other similar accommodation options available at a greater premium.

If you are looking for a traditional hotel, the list is endless and you should not be looking at any of these options. Furthermore, if you require any services expected from a hotel, such as spa, fitness centre, room service, restaurant on sight, travel desk, readily available transport; this is not the accommodation for you.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Closedmouthshower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAHManager, General Manager at Glenalmond Hotel Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2016
Google Translation

Rival hotel hotel :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My family and I arrived at Glenalmod hotel at 13.30 on Sunday, May 25, 2014. A reservation and a payment were successfully done and a confirmation number was sent to me and to the Hotel. The receptionist was very unfriendly and unprofessional. She told me that she did receive the email with the confirmation but there were an error on the payment. I showed her the email that I had received stating that the payment was successfully done. Children were tired and starved after a long trip. No one invited us to sit while we were waiting for a solution. It was 15.00 when she told me that she had finally received another email and it was ok. She did not apologise or at least said thank you for being so patient or so.
We went to our apartment witch was so far from the main entrance / reception. Main bedroom was good with a toilet but the other bedroom was very narrow with two small beds,. Kitchenette was well equipped and clean.
TV was old and malfunctioning. The remote control was damaged.
Breakfast - poor.
Overall Service - poor.

Staff at the reception is the mirror of the House. It was really a bad Sunday afternoon.
Avoid if necessary!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kool2bbop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Glenalmond Hotel this Easter.The apartments are very spacious,and it felt as if we were at home.Staff at reception were very helpful with all our requests,and we were treated so well from the time we checked in to the time we checked out.The hotel is within walking distance to Sandton city.A taxi from the Sandton Gautrain Station will cost you R70.00 if you have luggage and are unable to carry it all.The neighborhood is extremely peaceful and safe,and there is even a family friendly park nearby.(Mushroom Park)

The units are self catering,and this gives great flexibility with your meals.I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anybody staying in the Sandton area as it offers tremendous value for money in a quality environment.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews