We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience at BICE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton
Ranked #13 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great experience at BICE”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Made an online booking for my wife's birthday at BICE. Booking was confirmed by email and a wonderful evening was had by both of us.

The food was world class and the service very good. The extras included a birthday message to my wife in chocolate. The kicker - her name was spelt correctly - great attention to detail.

Highly recommend a visit to BICE

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisvz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    149
    30
    16
    12
See reviews for
27
74
28
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

Very pleasant stay with friendly staff and very tasty room service. Ordered a melanzane and it was just lovely.
Convenient to have the basement parking lead directly into the mall.
Also enjoyed the views. Had to leave early each day so did not sample the breakfast. Would recommend this hotel with confidence.
Also stunning views from the lounges and lovely cocktails.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blissful_Voyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K, General Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Blissful Voyage,

Thank you for your comments on trip advisor, we are delighted you enjoyed the room service, cocktails, view and the friendly staff, we do hope you will visit agian soon in the future.


Kind regards,

Michael and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This my second stay at this hotel when visiting Johannesburg on business. It is very clean and comfortable to stay here. Dlrect entry from hotel to the shopping mall is nice. Everthing you need can be found at the mall.
Breakfast and room service excellent. Smiling staff eager to help you whatever you need.
No minibar and suitcase rock on the room.
But you will enjoy to stay and shop at the hotel which is located very close to center of city.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cankad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K, General Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments on tripadvisor.

It is pleasing to hear that you decided to stay a second time with us while travelling to Johannesburg on business.

A luggage rack is not supplied in our standard rooms however most definately available on request my team would be more than willing to assist.

Although we do the complimentary coffee station and 3 mini bar refreshements, the mini bar can be stocked to your requirements by letting us know from the list provided in the directory of services in your room.

We do hope to see you at Southern Sun Hyde Park in the near future where we can most definately see to your personal preferences to make your stay that much more comfortable.

Kind regards,

Michael and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Have stayed at this hotel many times when visiting Jo'burg on business (not sure It would be my choice if it was a purely leisure trip). It is very conveniently located and being, literally, on top of the Hyde Park shopping mall has access to plenty of dining and shopping options. Can't fault the cleanliness and service and have always found the staff to be extremely friendly and willing. Breakfasts are also excellent.
Just a couple of tips if you are considering a stay. The 'superior' rooms, in my experience are exactly the same as the standard rooms - when I queried this I was told the extra charge was for the 'view' of the highway - don't bother. And into the bargain the rooms overlooking the back of the hotel are much quieter.
Secondly, avoid rooms overlooking the pool deck, particularly in summer when it tends to attract a large and raucous crowd outside. Not only is the noise a problem, if you feel like an early night, but you have to contend with clouds of noxious cigarette smoke billowing up from below!

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mactraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K, General Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on tripadvisor.

We are glad to hear that you are happy with the cleanliness and service that my team has delivered on. The food and beverage team are particularly pleased that you rated the breakfast at the hotel as excellent, thank you.

Could we recommend a room on the opposite wing of the hotel on your next stay so that we can assist and ensure that any kind of previous concern can be eleviated and hopefully aid in a more comfortable and memorable stay at Southern Sun hyde park.

Thank you for your traveller comments.

Kind regards,

Michael Kewley and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maputo, Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Good modern Hotel very close to Sandton City. Conveniently located having the Hyde Park Shopping Center attached to the Hotel. The Breakfast was delicious with a nice variety of fresh quality fruit. My only complaint would be that the mini bar in room was un-stocked and there was no suitcase rack in the room which was rather inconvenient. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K, General Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Anita,

Thank you for your kind comments on this review.

We are glad that you would stay with us again when in Joburg.

Although not all our room types have a luggage rack we can most definately supply one if you require, with regards to our mini bar service the three items on arrival in your mini bar are with compliments from the hotel, however the mini bar can be stocked with any items you please, a mini bar selection is available in the directory of service and can most definately be stocked with your favorite items for your convenience during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun Hyde Park in the near future,

Kind regards,

Michael Kewley and the Southern Sun Hyde Park Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Very nice business hotel. Everything you need in very good quality in a stylish outfit.

Well equipped gym, very nice restaurant with very friendly sushi chefs.

I enjoyed every single day and will definetively return to this hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank speedster1721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K, General Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time to share your comments with future guests on your experience and stay at Southern Sun Hyde Park.

We look forward to you visiting us again in the future.

In the meanwhile , safe travels.

Regards,

Michael Kewley and the Southern Sun Hyde Park Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed here in April this year for five nights and were very impressed. Having the Hyde Park Shopping Centre next door was also very convenient. Breakfast was a great spread every morning and even though we were placed near the elevators found it very quiet, so a ten out of ten from me!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tweedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K, General Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing such a great review on your 5 night stay with us and even more so the
" ten out of ten" comment, we do hope you visit us again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
1.7 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#3 of 48 in Sandton
838 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
2.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#14 of 48 in Sandton
1,266 reviews
1.8 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#4 of 48 in Sandton
922 reviews
1.9 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton

Property: Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton
Address: 1st Road, Hyde Park | Now with free guest Wi-Fi., Sandton 2024, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The prestigious Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton forms part of the exclusive Hyde Park Corner Shopping Centre. A state of the art hotel, offering guests all the comforts needed by the discerning traveller . The contemporary design and decor has been carefully crafted to reflect the lifestyle of our discerning guests, with furnishings and fittings adding a touch of class. Rooms offer panoramic views over the tree tops of Johannesburg's northern suburbs and include all the comforts of your own home.There is also a well appointed boardroom and two fully equipped conference rooms that caters for executive business meetings or private signature events.High speed WI FI connectivity is now available to hotel guests on a complimentary basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton Hotel Sandton
Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing