We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Suburbia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Modern Suburbia”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This hotel was great! I bought a package deal were breakfast was included. I loved the fact that it was connected to the mall where it allowed my group to go to the grocery store and do some souvenir shopping. I only stayed at this hotel for 2 nights but I enjoyed the stay.

The bedrooms were very comfortable and the shower was great. Free bottle water was available, which was a nice perk! Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheniseleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    152
    30
    16
    12
See reviews for
28
75
28
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Stayed here on two occasions within two weeks and was delighted

I found the rooms to be well appointed, spacious (after upgrade), good access to the mall, strong service ethics, staff are attentive and a pleasure to interact with, good twist with the room menus, several "care calls" per day from staff checking up on me (improvement area here: a roster would help avoid irritating guests, a bit of chit chat would be nice !), fantastic pool bar and bar stock, really appreciated the wine, cheese and savouries on arrival.

In terms of areas of development, I was not entirely satisfied with how my loyalty status (President) was managed especially around the upgrade (first a good room was available and then it was not when the Supervisor was asked to approve my room upgrade - I would take a decent size room rather than gifts on arrival !), laundry contractor needs looking into, the pool bar sun-shades were not always working properly (hot day !) and I think the seating area has potential for more !

All in all the hotel helped me maintain a good social / business balance and in closing this could possibly be my temporary home in Joburg.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms over the pool bar - if you are a light sleeper !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

It was my first time visiting Joburg and found the hotel to be most ideal.

Location: In Sandton, which looked to be an upmarket suburb, the hotel is surrounded by huge gated mansions. The hotel is also also attached to a small mall which was handy for dinners.

Vibe: hip and modern. With a fantastic pool side bar that attracted hip locals.

Rooms: In the small side but comfortable, beautiful and clean.

Breakfast: Great spread, you can order pretty much any hot food you want on top of a continental breakfast.

Service: FANTASTIC. Always with a smile and so efficient on everything, including organising a car to take un to Nelson Mandela Square for dinner and then pick up as well.

Small annoyance - you have to call housekeeping for an iron and ironing board. It was delivered promptly, however but not having it readily available is somewhat annoying, but no bug deal.

Overall, it was a very enjoyable 5 night stay and will def. stay here again should I come back to Joburg.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0hannaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This hotel is closer to almost everything. Sandton, Rosebank, Zoo Lake, transit nodes and is right next to a very upmarket mall. The rooms are very spacious with a bar fridge and other necessities, plus you get a bathroom woth a bath aand a shower. The restaurant serves great food and their wine cellar is do die for. You are just spoilt for choice. The morning or night view from the reastaurant allows you to take in all the urban jungle like setup going as far as Braynston.The chef will prepare any meal according to your specications whether for health reasons or lifestyle preferance. Their room service is always prompt, food arrives piping hot. I just love the vibe in the bar, comfy sitting, with electric points in case you wanna work, or charge something. They serve some very interesting cocktails. This is a very good hotel for leisure or business anytime

Room Tip: Try and avoid rooms that are more to the left and closer to the mall. The noise coming from those ai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwaziQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Good reliable hotel with clean rooms, but very brown decor....

Pool is very small, but bar is good and spacious, and packed with people from the SA fashion awards when I was there one time, and the England cricket team the next.

The restaurant has an excellent sushi bar

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiscerningDiner77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The hotel is located next to a shopping mall which means you can afely walk to the mall and eat at the various restaurants inside it.
The rooms were clean and well appointed and the breakfast buffet was very good.
I have to commend the honesty of the staff at this hotel. We checked out early in the morning and then later that evening my coworker discovered they had left their iPhone in the hotel room. We called the hotel and amazingly the maid had found the phone and turned it in!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Very well appointed, large rooms. Excellent breakfast with multiple choices of season fresh fruits, in additon the the standard meats & eggs, oatmeal, err porridge in South Africa, and fresh pastries. Good gym for workouts. Excellent selection of moderately priced restaurants in shopping center a 2 min walk out back door of hotel. Wifi was abysmal, however and a struggle until I paid for a week's worth of wifi. Hotel somewhat isolated and vehicle needed to go anywhere except the shopping center. No real possibility to take a walk from the hotel, but that could well be the case in city center as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bsmithSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
1.7 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 48 in Sandton
866 reviews
2.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
1.8 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 48 in Sandton
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#14 of 48 in Sandton
1,287 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
1.9 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton

Property: Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton
Address: 1st Road, Hyde Park | Now with free guest Wi-Fi., Sandton 2024, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The prestigious Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton forms part of the exclusive Hyde Park Corner Shopping Centre. A state of the art hotel, offering guests all the comforts needed by the discerning traveller . The contemporary design and decor has been carefully crafted to reflect the lifestyle of our discerning guests, with furnishings and fittings adding a touch of class. Rooms offer panoramic views over the tree tops of Johannesburg's northern suburbs and include all the comforts of your own home.There is also a well appointed boardroom and two fully equipped conference rooms that caters for executive business meetings or private signature events.High speed WI FI connectivity is now available to hotel guests on a complimentary basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton Hotel Sandton
Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing