We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and convenient ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here several times now and have always been very pleased. Good service, nice restaurant, bar and pool deck. Small gym has an amazing view. The walk-through to the mall next door is very convenient. A variety of restaurants in the mall plus the hotel's Italian restaurant leave you spoilt for choice within walking distance.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Lance W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muhammad_rawat, Front Office Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Lance

Thank you for you rating on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to hear that the hotel has met with your expectations.

The Staff at Southern Sun Hyde park are geared in creating memorable experiances for our guests and look forward to your return.

Kind regards
Muhammad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
There are newer reviews for Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

What a lovely, stunning, cosy hotel! I would recommend this Hotel anytime when you wish to have quality time with your loved ones even for business, the food at the Bice restaurant is exceptional! One thing to note, ask how much is the bottle of water before you agree to have the waitron pour in you glass #R60 bottled water is way too much!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Msimelelof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muhammad_rawat, Front Office Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Msimelelof

Thank you for your time in rating us on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear that you had a memorable experiance with us.

The price of the bottled water will be reviewed by our food and beverage manager.

We would like to thank you for bringing this through to our attention.

Kind Regards
Muhammad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This hotel is in a great area and connected to a shopping mall. The 1st room I was given was supposed to be non-smoking, but somehow the room reeked of smoke. They moved us to a 2nd bedroom. The shower did not drain and was overflowing the bathroom (there is no separation from shower to main bathroom area), and the sliding door bathroom did not stay shut...not ideal when sharing a room with someone else! Several of the lamps also did not work. Requested a move again, and finally, the 3rd room was okay.

There is also a very weird odor in the hallways. I noticed that there is some sort of deodorizer next to each elevator, maybe it's trying to mask the smoke smell? I guess the only good thing about this hotel is the bar area. Great for drinks at sunset. I would not recommend this hotel, there are a ton of hotels and guest homes around this area, spend your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlynnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muhammad_rawat, Front Office Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Jlynn

Thank you for your time in rating us on Trip Advisor.

I can assure you that this is not that standard of service which is offered by Southern Sun Hyde park.

I request for you to please furnish me with more details so that we can avoid such incidents re - occuring in the future.

Please send the E-Mail to
muhammad.rawat@tsogosun.com

Kind Regards
Muhammad Rawat
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Lovely hotel, good value for money and location ideal next to high end shopping mall. As Johannesburg not particularly easy to walk around, it's good to be on top do shopping mall with variety of shops and restaurants and cinema.

Room Tip: I had two stays during my recent trip and both rooms offered on second floor offered great perspecti...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank UrsulaRRZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muhammad_rawat, Front Office Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Ursula

Thank you for your rating on Trip Advisor.

Southern Sun Hyde Park has qualified tour guides who can arrange tours in and around Johannesburg at a small fee. All of our drivers and guides have the necessary qualifications to ensure that your experiance is a memorable one.

We also offer chauffeur drives aswell.

For further enquires or future reservations please contact sshydepark.reservations@tsogosun.com

Kind Regards
Muhammad Rawat
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

service
value
rooms
cleanliness
teamwork
appearence
communication
staff
management
facilities
wellcoming
attitude
protection
location
inviromental awareness
room standaed
health facilities
trained staff

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Johannes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

What a great hotel, the staff are the most friendly and helpful that I have ever had the pleasure to meet anywhere in the world, breakfast is excellent, with a wide selection to suit everyone's taste, dinner is very good and the rooms are spacious and very well appointed and the gym is a good size with great views.
Most importantly, the standards never drop, every time I stay here, my experience is excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carli_ferreira, Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Tim W

We thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and we are delighted to hear that we provide you with consistantly excellent service time and time again. Your compliments will be passed on to all our staff and we ceratinly look forward to welcoming you back soon to The Southern Sun Hyde Park!

Warm Regards
Carli Ferreira
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Friendly people , great location with the Hyde Park Shopping centre next door . Had some problems with things bot functioning in the room and nothing was done after politely informing them that the safe did not work , the basin was not draining . I asked for an iron to do my shirts and it never arrived.
Food was very good. may have been a bad day...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Chris S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carli_ferreira, Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Chris SS

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on tripadvisor.
We aplogise regarding the maintenance and housekeeping concerns which you have raised and we have already dealt with our team concerning these, in order prevent such problems re-occuring.

We are however pleased that you found our hotel to be friendly, in a great location and our food very good.

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon to The Southern Sun Hyde Park

Warm Regards
Carli Ferreira
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
2.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
1.7 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 46 in Sandton
901 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 46 in Sandton
1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
1.7 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
1.8 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 46 in Sandton
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton

Address: 1st Road, Hyde Park | Now with free guest Wi-Fi., Sandton 2024, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: £101 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The prestigious Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton forms part of the exclusive Hyde Park Corner Shopping Centre. A state of the art hotel, offering guests all the comforts needed by the discerning traveller . The contemporary design and decor has been carefully crafted to reflect the lifestyle of our discerning guests, with furnishings and fittings adding a touch of class. Rooms offer panoramic views over the tree tops of Johannesburg's northern suburbs and include all the comforts of your own home.There is also a well appointed boardroom and two fully equipped conference rooms that caters for executive business meetings or private signature events.High speed WI FI connectivity is now available to hotel guests on a complimentary basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton Hotel Sandton
Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing