We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“PJ & Lynette Fourie”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sandton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
No. 5 on Franschoek
Ranked #15 of 72 Sandton B&B and Inns
1 review
“PJ & Lynette Fourie”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

we were received very friendly, room spacious and nicely decorated.
Breakfast was very good. Parking could be a problem if establishment is fully booked. Establishment is situated in a very good position with easy access to freeway

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lynette And Pj F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicki07SouthAfrica, Owner at No. 5 on Franschoek, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time for the review, we really do appreciate all feedback. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
7
3
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

I recently did a 5 day training course at the local fti and this B&B made the perfect place to stay over, because it is within walking distance (15 mins walk) from the training facility. Not only that but the hosts were fantastic, food excellent and the place wonderfully clean and well run. Everything you needed was supplied. Halfway between the offices and the B&B there is also a shopping centre with about 6 or more restaurants/takeaways/grocery stores/pub to get anything you may need food or drinks wise. Definitely recommend it and I for one will be back there in future.

Room Tip: All good - all the same quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FestiveLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicki07SouthAfrica, Owner at No. 5 on Franschoek, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you so much for the review, we always are delighted to receive feedback as this helps us tremendously to try to cater for all needs and ensure that we maintain standards. We really do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klerksdorp, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

My father and I needed a place to stay while visiting my mother who was in the Sunninghill hospital. I received a very friendly, warm reception from the owner, Nicky. I booked and paid for 1 twin room but Nicky put my father in a separate room as the twin beds had been made up as a king bed. The rooms were lovely and the bathroom was 5 star. Although there are B&Bs closer to the hospital, this one was considerably cheaper and as good if not better than the others we had stayed in. Lovely private garden with comfortable seats to soak up the afternoon sun or enjoy an early morning coffee. Very good breakfast with a good selection of both cold and hot foods. Parking was a bit cramped and the driveway is a bit tricky to negotiate. Overall an excellent experience which I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LLP62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicki07SouthAfrica, Owner at No. 5 on Franschoek, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
A sincere thank you for taking the time to review us, we really do appreciate all feedback. We do hope that your Mom has had a speedy recovery. We are pleased that you enjoyed the garden for relaxation it's so nice to see how the indigenous plants thrive in South Africa. Yes, I'm afraid our driveway is tricky and we do try to be on hand to direct if need be for a bit of peace of mind. Thank you once again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

It was a lovely experience. Very friendly environment and helpful stuff. The room was great and well equipped. Maybe a blow heater would be a good option in winter, though I did sleep well. The breakfast was worthwhile and good quality.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Erica E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicki07SouthAfrica, Owner at No. 5 on Franschoek, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you for the feedback, it is always so valuable to us. It is encouraging that you found the room well equipped. I note the blow heater request, they do heat really quickly but I'm nervous that they dry the air out, we have opted for wall panel heaters and oil fin heaters. Judith will be delighted that you enjoyed breakfast! We hope that you will stay us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

A very lovely and welcoming family home - yet entirely private and secluded.
Charming rooms with garden - home from home - or the perfect sanctuary for some time away from the office to get that paper written without interruption !!
Judith is an absolute darling and wonderful host

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nichola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicki07SouthAfrica, Owner at No. 5 on Franschoek, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review. We really do value all feedback. We are delighted that you were able to complete your work project! Judith is indeed a very special person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blantyre
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

I had a wonderful stay at No. 5 on Franschoek. The room was simply awesome. Very spacious, well designed, smart and comfortable. the bathroom is also very very nice. the breakfast was just wonderful..

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicki07SouthAfrica, Owner at No. 5 on Franschoek, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Many thanks for staying with us and taking the time to submit your feedback. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the room and Judith will be delighted about the breakfast remarks! We hope to see you in South Africa soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reggio Emilia, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

All modern conveniences. WiFi. Iron + Board. Abundant breakfeast (many choices). Friendly and efficient staff. 30 minutes from OR Tambo International Airport. If required they staff can have a trusted taxi/driver collect or return you to the hotel. Will return.


  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ander C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicki07SouthAfrica, Owner at No. 5 on Franschoek, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to submit your review, we really do appreciate all feedback. Our taxi driver, Peter, is reliable and will go out of his way to accommodate requests. We are pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast menu choices too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
5.2 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#4 of 47 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
5.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
5.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
4.9 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 47 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#3 of 47 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No. 5 on Franschoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No. 5 on Franschoek

Property: No. 5 on Franschoek
Address: 5 Franschoek Lane | Paulshof, Sandton 2191, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Sandton
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
No. 5 On Franschoek Sandton, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing