We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Clifton, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Good choice”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I was on business and we had our group meeting with about 200 people here. The conference facilities are good and the food pretty good for conf food. The rooms worked and they had a tech in the room to cover any glitches. We had a good meeting. The rooms prices were decent, one of the few cities we did not have to get a waiver on the hotel price. The rooms are very nice. do note the conf facilities are on different floors so we did have to travel up and down a lot to get from room to meeting. No complaints.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pjay99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson Blu Ga... M, Marketing Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Good Day,

Thank you very much for selecting the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel as your conference venue on your recent visit to Johannesburg and also for taking the time to tell us about your experience here on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased that you have no complaints and that you found our conference facilities as well as our selection of conference food very enjoyable and exactly what you were looking for.

We would really like to host your next conference and we look forward to welcome you back to the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    481
    129
    53
    53
See reviews for
112
247
92
622
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indian Head, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The security is tight. You have to take an elevator to the 3rd floor, which takes you to the reception area. From there you take another elevator to your floor. Had a few hiccups the first couple of days. I had to lift the room door to open it and close it as it was crooked. They tried fixing it but it kept going back to sticking. The room was somewhat small too. Finally, they gave me another room but the hard wire internet did not work, so I had to use wireless. The carpets in the hallways need cleaning and the hotel is showing it's age. The staff was somewhat stuffy at first but then as I stayed longer, they relaxed and became more friendlier. Two of my favorite staff at the hotel is "Thandi" and "Bobo". They kept a smile on my face throughout my stay. There is a nice outdoor area where you can sit and see the skyline. The location of the hotel can not be beat as you are across the street from Gautrain [rail system] and within walking distance of Sandton mall which has just about everything you can think of. Shopping, restaurants, Grocery store, etc.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson Blu Ga... M, Marketing Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Good Day,

Thank you very much for selecting the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel as your hotel of choice during your recent visit in Johannesburg.

We are very sorry to hear that there was a few issues with your room during your stay, this has been passed onto the Hotels Chief Engineer to have a look at.

Thank you very much for mentioning Bobo and Thandi as your stars during your stay, we will be sure to pass on your compliments to them.

Lastly we would like to thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience here on Trip Advisor and we really look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel on your next visit to Johannesburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I stayed at the Radisson Blu Gautrain for 6 days attending a conference. The service was excellent in all aspects. I used the train comming and going to the airport, very easy. I liked the room which had a very comfortable bed. I could have done with some more TV stations available, but the excellent and fast WIFI connection which is complementary. Breakfast is great and thenearby shopping centre gives you some more options to eat and shop. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wesel53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson Blu Ga... M, Marketing Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Good Day,

Firstly we would like to thank you for selecting the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel as your hotel of choice during your recent conference in Johannesburg.

We are very pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the level of our service, this has been a major focus for us as a team and we are very happy to see that our guests are noticing it.

We are really pleased to hear that you will stay with us again on your next visit to Johannesburg and we really look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Second time i have attended a conference at this Hotel. I was really impressed with its style and layout. The facilities are really nice especially on our last conference which was on the 3rd floor so during our break we could catch some sun and fresh air on the outside deck with the pool and with it being on the 3rd floor u obviously have a nice view.The Food was also great just what i needed. Staff always friendly and don't hesitate to help which i really appreciate as i was also once in the industry and know how difficult some 5 or 4 star guests can be. I was not one lol. i honestly can say i only have positive feedback and not Negative what so ever and not hard to see why u guys just won the award of the best business hotel for 2013. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheldon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson Blu Ga... M, Marketing Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Good Day,

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to tell us about your conference experience here on Trip Advisor, we really appreciate the kind words.

We are really pleased to hear that you found our conference facilities of the highest quality and that you enjoyed the views from our pool deck. It is also great to hear that you enjoyed the food during your conference with us, we pride ourselves on the quality of our food and we are happy that it gets noticed.

We really look forward to seeing you at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Only stayed here for 2 nights but enjoyed the stay. The hotel was excellent - big size, very clean and very well equiped. Used room service as well and that was excellent.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was very good. We also had an evening meal there as well and enjoyed the food on the menu.

Overall, a fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barneystinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson Blu Ga... M, Marketing Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Good Day,

Firstly we would like to thank you for selecting the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel your hotel of choice on your recent visit to Johannesburg.

We are very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you found our staff very friendly and helpful - we will be sure to pass this compliment on.

It is also great to hear that you really enjoyed the food in our Central One Restaurant, we pride ourselves on the quality of our food.

We really looking forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

- Excellent location: center of Sandton. Right across from Gautrain station and at walking distance from Mandela Square and Sandton City shopping mall.
- Super friendly staff, always smiling and patient to answer all questions.
- 5 star hotel facilities: we stayed at business room, with big bathtub, shower, super big bed and great view from room. They even clean up the room twice a day!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilliana212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson Blu Ga... M, Marketing Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Good Day,

Firstly we would like to thank you for selecting the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel as your hotel of choice on your recent visit to Johannesburg as well as for taking the time to tell us about your experience here on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the turn down service offered complimentary in our Business Class rooms as well as all the other facilities that our hotel has to offer.

We will be certain to pass your message of compliments to the staff in the various departments.

Thank you once again for telling us about your experience here on Trip Advisor and we really look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I spent two nights here before flying to Namibia for a safari. I had a 2-day layover in Jo'burg and chose the hotel for the location near the Gautrain and Sandton City. Here's a summary of my stay:

The good:
- great location across from Gautrain and a 5-minute walk from Nelson Mandela Square/Sandton City. Hotel was easy to find after my long flight, and the mall was a nice place to have lunch.
- modern hotel with nice rooms and bathrooms
- AC, wifi, etc. all worked well
- well-appointed gym

The so-so:
- dinner in the restaurant was great, although a bit overpriced
- service was great in the restaurant, but was average at the reception and at the street-level entrance. No major issues, just not very friendly or welcoming.
- the hotel was somewhat overpriced in my opinion

The bad:
- on Saturday night the bar was extremely loud until approximately 11pm. I could literally hear every word of the songs being played downstairs (and I was on the 8th floor). I was awake and it didn't really bother me too much, but this would be a problem if I had an early flight.

All in all the hotel provided what I was looking for: a modern and comfortable place to spend my 2-day layover, with a few restaurants in walking distance and easy public transit access. I would choose the hotel again in similar circumstances, but might look to another hotel for an extended stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cougrz007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson Blu Ga... M, Marketing Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Good Day,

Firstly we would like to thank you for selecting the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel as your hotel of choice during your recent lay-over in Johannesburg and also for taking the time to tell us about your experience here on Trip Advisor, we really appreciate your extensive and detailed review.

We are very pleased to hear that you found our hotel and its facilities very enjoyable and to your liking, we have noted your comments on the restaurant and the general friendliness of the staff in a few of the other departments and we assure you that this has been investigated and resolved.

We would like to apologize about the loud music from the outside pool area, we had a conference in house and can assure you that the music on the pool deck is not a norm at our hotel.

We are happy to hear that you would stay with us again and we really look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.2 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 47 in Sandton
944 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#14 of 47 in Sandton
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.3 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 47 in Sandton
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel

Property: Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Address: Rivonia Road, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#9 Business Hotel in Sandton
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel overlook the beautiful Sandton Skyline, the epitome of South African opulence. This stylish hotel which is located a mere 55 steps from the Sandton Gautrain Station boasts 220 rooms and suites designed in varied moods and tones, ranging from warmth, earthy African tones to bold, contemporary splashes of colour. The rooms are spacious and modern with breath taking views of the city skyline. Each of our guest rooms offer satellite television with a large selection of channels to be enjoyed on a wall mounted flat screen television. Complimentary high speed wireless internet access helps guests stay connected whilst in Johannesburg for business or leisure. The Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel enjoys a premier location only 55 steps from the high speed Gautrain rapid rail station and has easy access to the Sandton Convention Centre, Sandton City and all the major banking offices in Johannesburg. The Hotels conference facilities offer unique meeting spaces which include elegant meeting rooms as well as executive boardrooms catering for any size event from large banquets to intimate board meetings. The latest audiovisual equipment, climate control, complimentary high speed internet access and natural lighting make these some of the most enviable conference facilities in Johannesburg. The Award Winning Central One Restaurant and Bar offers a unique dining experience with a wide variety of award winning dishes as well as weekly specials to make every stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Rezidor, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing