We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surprisingly pleasant stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Ranked #11 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“A surprisingly pleasant stay...”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel on 2 occasions over the space of 16 days in October and on both occasions the rooms were immaculate with great linen and the service and friendliness of the staff impeccable. Wi-fi was good, rates were good (booked through Hotels.com) and couldn't fault it. The breakfast has a huge variety of choice and whilst the bar prices were steep, they atmosphere was enjoyable. Not quite the place to prop up the bar but great for a nightcap.

Had a fantastic time here, thank you Radisson Blu Gautrain staff.

A note of caution, if you are using Gautrain though to get to this hotel it is close to the station but not the easiest crossing to make on foot despite the dedicated pedestrian crossings, especially with a lot of luggage. On the the second stay we decided to use the hotel's transfer to the airport and for 6 of us that was cheaper than the train and very convenient. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: There are some building works taking place across the road and although one spends little time in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson Blu Ga... M, Marketing Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Good Day,

Firstly we would like to thank for for selecting the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel as your hotel of choice for both or your recent stays in Johannesburg and also for taking the time to tell us about your experience here on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our Radisson Blu Gautrain Team very friendly and helpful, we will be sure to pass the message of compliments onto the entire team.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we really look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    477
    129
    53
    53
See reviews for
110
244
91
617
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The hotel is in a really awesome location. It is across the street from the Gautrain which gives you easy access to Johannesburg and the airport. If you are coming from the airport on the Gautrain, you will see the hotel as soon as you exit the station at the main exit, it's very easy to find. The hotel is also close by a mall and great restaurants. The customer service was excellent too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson Blu Ga... M, Marketing Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Good Day,

Firstly we would like to thank you for selecting the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel as your hotel of choice on your recent visit to Johannesburg as well as taking the time to tell us about your experience here on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us and that you found our staff very friendly and helpful - we will be sure to pass your message of compliments to the entire team at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel.

Once again thank you very much for staying at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel and we really look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The main thing this hotel has going for it is proximity to the Gautrain station. Literally just across the street it is 15 minutes between airport to hotel. Check-in was smooth and with an extremely helpful lady. Check-out was a misery with a surly man who seemed really put out that I bothered to show up at his counter. Not a please, thank you or hope you enjoyed your stay to be heard. (usually pricey 4 or 5 stars welcome guests and management should tell him.) Anyhow, the rooms are comfortable. The wi-fi coverage was very strong throughout the property. Very nice bathrooms but very stingy on the amenities like soap; even upon request they were thrifty. This is very much a businessman's hotel during the week but I saw a lot of families during the weekend. The for-fee parking is in short supply, especially when you factor in all the day conference attendees and half the garage being used by a rental agency. The breakfast had a variety but i never understand why there is always one chef on a large omelette station with a queue of guests. At least he had the manners to tell me, "This is not the omelette you asked for, sorry" when he handed it to me 10 minutes later. Note to Food & Beverage: Put the plates behind the counter by the chef. While waiting for service I counted five people touch one plate before a guest picked it up and passed it over for their eggs. Yuck. I also had to search 5 tables to find a fork while several servers huddled in a corner. The bar is very stylish and had a nice atmosphere. The crowd of 5 seemed to overwhelm the bartender so plan on a leisurely evening. I suggest they create a bar menu and not use the room service menu as it would be nice to have smaller options while having a drink. Overall, an adequate stay but I probably will not lodge there again based on parking, breakfast hygiene, the need to bring my own soaps and p*ss poor attitude upon check-out.

Room Tip: Maybe the Radisson down the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spoiledtravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson Blu Ga... M, Marketing Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Good Day,

Firstly we would like to thank you for selecting the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel as your hotel of choice on your recent visit to Johannesburg and for taking the time to tell us about your experience here on Trip Advisor.

We are very disappointed to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations and we would really like to apologize for not living up to the normal Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel standards during your stay.

Each of the mentioned issues has been handed over to the relevant heads of department and will be addressed as a matter of urgency so the same issues never occur again.

Once again we are sorry that all your expectations were not met and we would really appreciate it if you give us another chance on your next visit to Johannesburg, we look forward to welcoming you back and giving us a chance to make it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We recently held a conference at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel for our client. We had nothing but professional service from all the staff who were welcoming and very helpful. The food was fantastic and everyone who attended the conference felt they had been well fed! Simple little things like putting up our banners before we arrived or finding a better looking presentation board at registration that we hadn't asked for but was just part of the can do attitude of the hotel. The location is absolutely ideal for travellers - literally 45 steps from the Gautrain. Thank you once again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 960Leanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson Blu Ga... M, Marketing Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Good Day,

Firstly we would like to thank you for selecting the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel as the hotel of choice on your recent conference in Johannesburg and also for taking the time to tell us about your experience here on Trip Advisor.

We are very please to hear that your conference was a success and that you loved the friendliness of our staff as well as our food - this is a great compliment, thank you very much.

Once again, thanks for this great review and we really look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melfi, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I've been two times in this hotel for work and of course the first thing that I noted is that the hotel is very close to the Gautrain rail station of Sandton, very useful for people coming from the airport.
Very nice and wide rooms with modern style, very good cooking and a breakfast rich in variety.
The service was of good level and they have given me everything I needed.
Good reception but with little warmth, I would have preferred a few more smiles.
Very useful the shuttle service for fast displacements.
My general opinion is that this hotel is very good and I suggest it for people travelling in Johannesburg fro holiday and also for business.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson Blu Ga... M, Marketing Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Good Day.

Firstly we would like to thank you for selecting the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel as your hotel of choice during your recent visit to Johannesburg and also for taking the time here on Trip Advisor to tell us about your experience.

We are very pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed our different services which we offer as well as the food from our Central One Restaurant. Your mention about the warmth at the front desk has been noted and will certainly be addressed.

Also thank you very much for your recommendation and we really look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed at Radisson Blu Gaurain for a business trip. I travel regularly and choose Radisson where I can.

Overall the hotel is nice and clean and the room spacious and comfortable.

Be warned though that Radisson Blu Gautrain bill guests for parking at their hotel. In a competitive market this surprises me greatly, as the Radisson Hotel Sandton, literally across the road, does not bill for parking.

The parking rate is exactly the same rate as if I were a day visitor to the building. While I appreciate that this is likely imposed by the building's management, my message to Radisson Blu Gautrain is: This is not an excuse and that you should be treating your guests better. Either inform us upfront of this policy or subsidise the cost of parking, after all we are your guests.

My surprise of a R300 parking bill at check out was a sad event that soured my stay at your hotel. For a cost that was less that 5% of my hotel bill, your lack of attention to the small things will mean that on my next trip to Johannesburg I will choose a different hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarethFry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson Blu Ga... M, Marketing Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Good Day,

Firstly we would like to thank you for selecting the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel as your hotel of choice during your recent visit to Johannesburg and also for taking the time to tell us about your experience here on Trip Advisor.

We are very sorry to hear that we did not meet all your expectations during your stay with us. This parking issue has been mentioned to our Front Office Manager and training will be arranged to that all guests are fully aware of how the parking charges work.

Once again we would like to apologize for not completely meeting your expectations during your stay with us and we really hope that you will give us a second chance on your next visit to Johannesburg - we really look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2013

we actually are now staying at this hotel and feel somewhat sharing our impressions right away.

check-in was done quite inpersonal, they wanted us to confirm a 1 night stay but we actually are here for 3 nights. anyway, correction was made, glad we had a voucher from our travel agency with us as a proof. no apologies were made.

i informed the check-in person, that we are on our honeymoon. she said "oh then you probably dont want a twin room" - good idea. i do not know if it was the travel agent or them, who ignored the information already given at time of booking.

when the room door was opened, there came the next surprise. you could smell smoke. horrible for non-smokers. we called the reception for a change of rooms and waited. in the meanwhile housekeeping came to change the bed, we told them, that we would get another room and this effort is not needed for the old room as nobody had told them.

after a personal visit by my husband at the reception 15 minutes later, we finally got a new room. honestly: we as guests can just tell what it is like, it does not help using more room perfume or explaining that this should be a non-smoker room.

after sorting these things out, we went to the pool bar to finally get some very late lunch (as all other options are closed at 1600). it took quite a while until the single waitress had time for us. then we had to wait 45 min for a burger and a club sandwich. sorry, but with less then every 2nd table occupied and most people just having drinks, this is a bit of a long wait. food was ok. not ok was one of those little mayo glasses served open as just being used by someone else.

all in all quite up and down impressions here. it seems as if the management is more interested in conference guests than in others.
quite sad as this is the last station of our honeymoon and the last impression of hospitality in south africa.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle_Coo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson Blu Ga... M, Marketing Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Good Day,

Firstly we would like to thank you for selecting the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel as your hotel of choice on your last stop of your recent honeymoon and also for taking the time to tell us about your experience here on Trip Advisor.

We would like to apologize for not living up to your expectations during your stay, we can assure you that this is not the norm at our hotel and that all your concerns have been taken seriously and passed on to the relevant Heads of Department to investigate and sort out.

Once again we would like to apologize for the mishaps during your stay and we really would like you to give us another chance to make things right for you on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.3 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#14 of 48 in Sandton
1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 48 in Sandton
932 reviews
0.3 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 48 in Sandton
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel

Property: Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Address: Rivonia Road, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#10 Business Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel overlook the beautiful Sandton Skyline, the epitome of South African opulence. This stylish hotel which is located a mere 55 steps from the Sandton Gautrain Station boasts 220 rooms and suites designed in varied moods and tones, ranging from warmth, earthy African tones to bold, contemporary splashes of colour. The rooms are spacious and modern with breath taking views of the city skyline. Each of our guest rooms offer satellite television with a large selection of channels to be enjoyed on a wall mounted flat screen television. Complimentary high speed wireless internet access helps guests stay connected whilst in Johannesburg for business or leisure. The Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel enjoys a premier location only 55 steps from the high speed Gautrain rapid rail station and has easy access to the Sandton Convention Centre, Sandton City and all the major banking offices in Johannesburg. The Hotels conference facilities offer unique meeting spaces which include elegant meeting rooms as well as executive boardrooms catering for any size event from large banquets to intimate board meetings. The latest audiovisual equipment, climate control, complimentary high speed internet access and natural lighting make these some of the most enviable conference facilities in Johannesburg. The Award Winning Central One Restaurant and Bar offers a unique dining experience with a wide variety of award winning dishes as well as weekly specials to make every stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing