We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Radisson”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“It's Radisson”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I was about to skip the review of this hotel, as it is Radisson. To me Radisson is always the same. Very high standard, I've never been disappointed. But I guess I should review it, as it could help someone.

Here it goes: Very clean rooms, comfortable beds (BIG pillows) and a fair bathtub. An interesting feature was the walls of the bathroom, which were made of glass. We were two friends staying in the room and well.. we got to see new sides of each other.

The breakfast buffet was amazing! The hotel also provided a shuttle service to the main attractions in the area, which felt good to me since I spent my first hours in South Africa at the Radisson and did not now where to go, what to see or how safe it was to move around. There's a nice pool at the terrace, but I couldn't really go in to it as there was a lot of businessmen sitting around.

The location of the hotel is superb, with the Gautrain station just across the street, from where you reach the airport in 15 minutes. If you like shopping, the huge Sandton City shopping center is also really close to the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeciliaSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson Blu Ga... M, Marketing Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Good Day,

Thank you very much for making the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel your hotel of choice on your recent visit to Johannesburg and also for taking the time to tell us about your stay here on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased to hear that you and your friend had a very enjoyable stay with us and that you loved our Super Buffet Breakfast as well as our complimentary shuttle service in the area.

With regards to the glass shower, on your next visit please ask our friendly reception team for the shower sheet, this will block out the shower from the room allowing for more privacy.

We really hope to welcome you and your friend back to the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel in the very near future,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    481
    129
    53
    53
See reviews for
112
247
92
621
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

I loved the hotel and the restaurant design. It is close to the Guatrain so it us easier to commute to and fro. There is also a shuttle to take you to Sandton CITY shops and bring you back. Good food and drinks.

A few cons. My business class room was missing the nespresso machine and a but too small comparably to other business class rooms in other hotels but it wasn't a bother.

Evenings are not to exciting at the bar and that could be because Johannesburg had a lot of outing locations.

Lower class rooms don't get water daily which I think for a 4-star hotel is surprising. I think water daily is pretty much standard. South Africa had one if the best water in the world but it's just better to have water fault. I was in a Business Class Room so I got water.

Overall I was satisfied with the service is the staff and they were always willing to serve which is a good thing.

I hope the standard is not dropped.
I wouldn't mind going there again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank TheDotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson Blu Ga... M, Marketing Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Good Day.

Thank you very much for making the Radisson Blu Gautrain your hotel of choice on your recent visit to Johannesburg and also for taking the time to tell us about your experience here on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased to hear that you had a great stay and that you found our staff friendly and helpful, we will be sure to pass this message of compliments onto the entire team.

It is also great to hear that you will stay with us again on your next visit, we really look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Great stay thanks will be surr to get back to you guys this time around please let customers know about available rooms as I needed a larger room but other than that I had a great stay thank you Radisson blu hotel

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 391leightonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson Blu Ga... M, Marketing Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Good Day,

Firstly we would like to thank you for selecting the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel as your hotel of choice on your recent visit to Johannesburg and also for taking the time to write this amazing 5 star review about your experience with us.

We are very please to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that you would like to stay with us again on your next visit.

We really look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Gautrain in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel on 2 occasions over the space of 16 days in October and on both occasions the rooms were immaculate with great linen and the service and friendliness of the staff impeccable. Wi-fi was good, rates were good (booked through Hotels.com) and couldn't fault it. The breakfast has a huge variety of choice and whilst the bar prices were steep, they atmosphere was enjoyable. Not quite the place to prop up the bar but great for a nightcap.

Had a fantastic time here, thank you Radisson Blu Gautrain staff.

A note of caution, if you are using Gautrain though to get to this hotel it is close to the station but not the easiest crossing to make on foot despite the dedicated pedestrian crossings, especially with a lot of luggage. On the the second stay we decided to use the hotel's transfer to the airport and for 6 of us that was cheaper than the train and very convenient. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: There are some building works taking place across the road and although one spends little time in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson Blu Ga... M, Marketing Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Good Day,

Firstly we would like to thank for for selecting the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel as your hotel of choice for both or your recent stays in Johannesburg and also for taking the time to tell us about your experience here on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our Radisson Blu Gautrain Team very friendly and helpful, we will be sure to pass the message of compliments onto the entire team.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we really look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The hotel is in a really awesome location. It is across the street from the Gautrain which gives you easy access to Johannesburg and the airport. If you are coming from the airport on the Gautrain, you will see the hotel as soon as you exit the station at the main exit, it's very easy to find. The hotel is also close by a mall and great restaurants. The customer service was excellent too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson Blu Ga... M, Marketing Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Good Day,

Firstly we would like to thank you for selecting the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel as your hotel of choice on your recent visit to Johannesburg as well as taking the time to tell us about your experience here on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us and that you found our staff very friendly and helpful - we will be sure to pass your message of compliments to the entire team at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel.

Once again thank you very much for staying at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel and we really look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The main thing this hotel has going for it is proximity to the Gautrain station. Literally just across the street it is 15 minutes between airport to hotel. Check-in was smooth and with an extremely helpful lady. Check-out was a misery with a surly man who seemed really put out that I bothered to show up at his counter. Not a please, thank you or hope you enjoyed your stay to be heard. (usually pricey 4 or 5 stars welcome guests and management should tell him.) Anyhow, the rooms are comfortable. The wi-fi coverage was very strong throughout the property. Very nice bathrooms but very stingy on the amenities like soap; even upon request they were thrifty. This is very much a businessman's hotel during the week but I saw a lot of families during the weekend. The for-fee parking is in short supply, especially when you factor in all the day conference attendees and half the garage being used by a rental agency. The breakfast had a variety but i never understand why there is always one chef on a large omelette station with a queue of guests. At least he had the manners to tell me, "This is not the omelette you asked for, sorry" when he handed it to me 10 minutes later. Note to Food & Beverage: Put the plates behind the counter by the chef. While waiting for service I counted five people touch one plate before a guest picked it up and passed it over for their eggs. Yuck. I also had to search 5 tables to find a fork while several servers huddled in a corner. The bar is very stylish and had a nice atmosphere. The crowd of 5 seemed to overwhelm the bartender so plan on a leisurely evening. I suggest they create a bar menu and not use the room service menu as it would be nice to have smaller options while having a drink. Overall, an adequate stay but I probably will not lodge there again based on parking, breakfast hygiene, the need to bring my own soaps and p*ss poor attitude upon check-out.

Room Tip: Maybe the Radisson down the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spoiledtravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson Blu Ga... M, Marketing Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Good Day,

Firstly we would like to thank you for selecting the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel as your hotel of choice on your recent visit to Johannesburg and for taking the time to tell us about your experience here on Trip Advisor.

We are very disappointed to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations and we would really like to apologize for not living up to the normal Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel standards during your stay.

Each of the mentioned issues has been handed over to the relevant heads of department and will be addressed as a matter of urgency so the same issues never occur again.

Once again we are sorry that all your expectations were not met and we would really appreciate it if you give us another chance on your next visit to Johannesburg, we look forward to welcoming you back and giving us a chance to make it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We recently held a conference at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel for our client. We had nothing but professional service from all the staff who were welcoming and very helpful. The food was fantastic and everyone who attended the conference felt they had been well fed! Simple little things like putting up our banners before we arrived or finding a better looking presentation board at registration that we hadn't asked for but was just part of the can do attitude of the hotel. The location is absolutely ideal for travellers - literally 45 steps from the Gautrain. Thank you once again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 960Leanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson Blu Ga... M, Marketing Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Good Day,

Firstly we would like to thank you for selecting the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel as the hotel of choice on your recent conference in Johannesburg and also for taking the time to tell us about your experience here on Trip Advisor.

We are very please to hear that your conference was a success and that you loved the friendliness of our staff as well as our food - this is a great compliment, thank you very much.

Once again, thanks for this great review and we really look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.2 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 47 in Sandton
943 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#14 of 47 in Sandton
1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.3 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 47 in Sandton
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel

Property: Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Address: Rivonia Road, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#9 Business Hotel in Sandton
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel overlook the beautiful Sandton Skyline, the epitome of South African opulence. This stylish hotel which is located a mere 55 steps from the Sandton Gautrain Station boasts 220 rooms and suites designed in varied moods and tones, ranging from warmth, earthy African tones to bold, contemporary splashes of colour. The rooms are spacious and modern with breath taking views of the city skyline. Each of our guest rooms offer satellite television with a large selection of channels to be enjoyed on a wall mounted flat screen television. Complimentary high speed wireless internet access helps guests stay connected whilst in Johannesburg for business or leisure. The Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel enjoys a premier location only 55 steps from the high speed Gautrain rapid rail station and has easy access to the Sandton Convention Centre, Sandton City and all the major banking offices in Johannesburg. The Hotels conference facilities offer unique meeting spaces which include elegant meeting rooms as well as executive boardrooms catering for any size event from large banquets to intimate board meetings. The latest audiovisual equipment, climate control, complimentary high speed internet access and natural lighting make these some of the most enviable conference facilities in Johannesburg. The Award Winning Central One Restaurant and Bar offers a unique dining experience with a wide variety of award winning dishes as well as weekly specials to make every stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Rezidor, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing