We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$307
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sandton Sun(Sandton)
US$292
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$250
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Protea Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$623
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$600
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$243
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$204
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Sandton(Sandton)
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$247
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Maslow(Sandton)
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,294)
Filter reviews
1,294 results
Traveller rating
524
513
142
58
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
524
513
142
58
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnelson mandela squarethird floora business class roomsandton citytrain stationbusiness hotelbusiness tripnespresso machinetambo airportroom servicepool deckmodern hotelconvenient locationlate checkhotel restaurantshuttle servicecomfortable rooms
Filter
Updating list...
838 - 843 of 1,294 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on a business trip. The hotel was modern, clean and everything was up to expectations.


Lobby bar and breakfast area were good. Buffet breakfast good quality with fair selection.

Only thing to complain is that hotel wifi can be unsteady at times.


I stayed in a junior suite which offers great view, rain shower and a firm bed which gave me a good nights sleep. Better than some of the older hotels nearby, like Hilton.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Nelson204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Nelson204,

Thank you very much for making the Radisson Blu Gautrain your hotel of choice on your recent visit to Johannesburg.

It is really great to hear that you found the quality of our Hotel top notch. The Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel takes pride in the comfortable elegance we have to offer our guests from our rooms to our slick and stylish Central One Bar & Restaurant. I recommend coming for dinner on your next stay. The Central One Restaurant offers a uniquely refined selection of cuisine using the freshest ingredients which results in a memorable dining experience.

I do apologies for the issues you had with our Wi-Fi, but we recently upgraded and should be back to brand standard on your next visit.

Once again, thank you very much for staying with us and we really look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Mark Wernich
General Manager
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Radisson Gautrain hotel on Labour day. The thing I value most at this hotel is the location. This was our first time to SAR and It's literally right outside the Gautrain Sandton station which made traveling from the airport (even with all our luggage) a fifteen minute breeze. Traveling around Johannesburg was also a lot easier because of that as well and Nelson Mandela Square was right around the corner.
Our check in was very swift and efficient. The room was a little small for the price but had an excellent view of Sandton. The Nespresso machine and variety of Tv channels were much appreciated. The reception staff were polite , friendly and efficient. The wait staff in the restaurant- not so much ,although breakfast was excellent!
I didn't appreciate the layout of the hotel in terms of the entrance being on ground floor and the reception being on 3rd. Also did not like the wet area of the bathroom being right outside the bath (it felt like one was messing up the bathroom floor intentionally). The bathroom walls were thin with a frosted glass wall which made it slightly uncomfortable to use (even though it was just my husband and I) but I guess some people may enjoy this design.
It didn't feel like a Radisson entirely but I highly recommend this hotel for its excellent location.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KandVaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear KandVaroundtheworld,

Thank you very much for selecting the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel as your hotel of choice on your recent visit to Johannesburg, we are so sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations of a Radisson Blu Hotel.

We are however delighted that you would recommend our hotel to family and friends. We take pride in our “Yes I Can!” culture and we are delighted that you found our team to be helpful and efficient. We will be sure to pass your message of compliments to the entire team here at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel.

We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued and will be used to consider improvements in the future. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Kind Regards

Mark Wernich
General Manager
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This is super convenient if you have a short trip to Jo'burg as you can get off the plane - on to the Gautrain and in 15 minutes be in Sandton and the hotel is diagonally opposite the Gautrain station. The reception is on the third floor and next to a good restaurant and bar area. There's an outside terrace and swimming pool as well. The rooms are modern, clean and have a seating/almost a suite area. Good value with the advantage of the Slow Lounge beneath the hotel which you can rent for business meetings and located right near Nelson Mandela Sq and the Mall so other dining options nearby

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicholasUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Nicholas,

Thank you very much for the great 4 star review on Trip Advisor, it is really positive to hear that you had an excellent stay with us and that your expectations about our hotel were met.

The Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel takes pride in the comfortable elegance we have to offer our guests from our rooms to our slick and stylish Central One Bar & Restaurant.
We are pleased that the hotel met your expectations.

We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued and we hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Kind Regards

Mark Wernich
General Manager
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

we are a couple ( 2 doctors from Cairo, Egypt ), we stayed in this hotel for one night in April 2014, we had a problem in checking in due to a defect in communication between the tourism company that made the reservation for us, the supplier, and the hotel, the problem was dealt with in a professional way from the young man in the hotel reception ( Mr/ Miven ). that was a good positive first impression about the hotel. The hotel room was very comfortable, bath room is clean, breakfast was of good quality. the location of the hotel, is in a very good and Safe area. near to the Sandton shopping center, 2 minutes by the hotel "complementary" shuttle car, and 5 minutes walk, in a safe area. you can find most of your needs in that sopping center, ( food, shopping, banks, etc..). in conclusion we felt we are in a safe place, and that was the most important issue for us.

Room Tip: please, do not get a room overlooking the swimming pool, because it overlooks also an area which is not that clean.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rafa e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Good Day,

Firstly thank you very much for selecting the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel as your hotel of choice on your recent visit to Johannesburg and also for taking the time to tell us about your experience here on Trip Advisor.

It is really great to hear that your problem at check in was resolved in a very professional manner by Miven, we will make sure to pass this message of compliments to him.

It is really positive to hear that you felt safe whilst staying with us, our location is one of the best in Sandton with easy access to all the major shopping centres as well as Nelson Mandela Square and it is also great to hear that you enjoyed making use of our complimentary shuttle service to explore the Sandton area a little bit more.

Once again, thank you for selecting the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel on your recent visit and we are really looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Johannesburg.

Kind Regards

Mark Wernich
General Manager
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Christine the Manager was very helpful with a special request and the staff is always attentive. The restaurant, deck with small pool and bar area are all great! A very comfortable, accomodating and eventful place to spend the evening after the work day. The Gautrain across the street is great, cheap and easy to use transportation to and from the airport. The room was very clean and spacious.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roccreazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Good Day,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us this amazing 5 star review here on Trip Advisor, we really appreciate your positive feedback.

It is really excellent to hear that your stay with us exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed your time relaxing in our Central One Restaurant and on our Pool Deck.

We are most pleased with your comments about the friendliness and attentiveness of our staff, we strive for 100% guest satisfaction and we will be sure to pass your message of compliments to Christine and the entire team here at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel.

Once again thank you for selecting the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel as your hotel of choice on your recent visit to Johannesburg and we really look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future,

Kind Regards

Mark Wernich
General Manager
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews