We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay at radisson blu gautrain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

exceptional stay ,staff went out of their way to make the stay memorable .this was our wedding anniversary celebration and from the reception to the checkout ,everything was faultless . would definitely return

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank 481ak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear 481ak,

Thank you very much for making the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel your home away from home and allowing us to make your anniversary a memorable occasion.

We strive on 100% satisfaction and we are happy that we exceeded your expectations during your stay - I will make sure to pass your message of compliments onto the entire team here at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel.

We are really looking forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel in the very near future. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we really look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Mark Wernich
General Manager
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

778 - 784 of 1,230 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

I spent a week at Gautrain for business purpose with a global satisfaction:
+ very convenient train connection with the airport
+ very good service in general
+ food is good
+ very confortable rooms
- can be noisy, with no view for x25 to x31 rooms
- the hotel shuttle is not efficient nor reliable (we had to call several times with the same answer - it's on its way - during 1 hour while the normal time from the hotel was 10 minutes).
Thanks to the team

Room Tip: Not x25 to x31 rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhildeBru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear PhildeBru,

Firstly we would like to thank you very much for making the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel your hotel of choice on your recent visit to Johannesburg and also for taking the time to write about your experience here on Tripadvisor.
We take pride in our “Yes I Can!” culture and receiving great feedback on our staff and service is what motivates us to always strive for 100% guest satisfaction. We understand how important a quiet environment is and apologize. Should if you ever experience noise level problems again please let the Manager On Duty know and we can look at moving you into a different room.

We will address the unreliable and inefficient shuttle service that you experienced with the transport company. I can assure you that this is not the standard of Radisson Blu and that this matter will be investigated to prevent this happening in the future.

Once again thank you for staying with us and we really look forward to welcome you back to the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Mark Wernich
General Manager
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

For some reason there are two Radisson Blus in Sandton and they are literally a block apart. They both have a modern style and a security conscious entry system (enter through the ground floor and then check in on the upper floors). They are both very comfortable, have great food and are reasonably priced. The service is comparable and well above the average for Joburg and they are both within easy walking distance of where you need, or would want, to be.
But the Blu Gautrain is just a fraction better in every department. It is closer to the Gautrain station which will save you time and money. It is closer to Mandela Square. The bar/lounge is imperceptibly nicer and the staff just have an edge on skills and experience.
The difference is marginal and down to personal preference. I would happily stay at either (and do quite regularly) but for my money the RBG pips it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gustypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Gutsypants,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience.

We are delighted that you loved every aspect of your stay with us, our location is one of the best in Sandton with easy access to the Gautrain and all the major shopping centres.
We are most pleased with your comments about the service and attentiveness of our staff, we strive for 100% guest satisfaction and we will be sure to pass your message of compliments to the entire team here at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel.

Once again thank you for selecting the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel as your hotel of choice on your recent visit to Johannesburg and we really look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Mark Wernich
General Manager
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Located directly opposite the Gau train station a perfect location to come straight from the airport. Tell them you are coming and the porter will meet you at the station. Located in Sandton a courtesy vehicle will drive down the road to the massive Nelson Mandela shopping area. Well worth a look.
The rooms were modern and immaculate. A perfect stop for vacation or business. Designed to meet all your needs.
A restaurant provides a selection to delight for breakfast and other meals. Late check in and out.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janer225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Janer225,

Thank you very much for making the Radisson Blu Gautrain your hotel of choice on your recent visit to Johannesburg and also for the excellent review and recommendation.

It is really great to hear that you had a great experience with us and that you found our porters to be efficient and helpful. I will make sure to pass your message of compliments to the entire Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel team.

Once again, thank you very much for staying with us and we really look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Mark Wernich
General Manager
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Very good hôtel, clean and modern. The restaurant was very interesting, the food was excellent and the service thoughtful. Good situation near the Gautrain to the city center. The only problem the personnal didn't inform us of the fire exercise in the afternoon, the first day we were coming after 40 hours of travel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Denis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Denis D,

Thank you very much for making the Radisson Blu Gautrain your hotel of choice on your recent visit to Johannesburg and also for the excellent review and recommendation.

We are very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us. My apologies for not being informed upon arrival about our fire evacuation drill. We will make note of this for the future so as not to inconvenience any of our guests.

Once again, thank you very much for staying with us and we really look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Mark Wernich
General Manager
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

While the rooms are dark at night so working in them is not great and the Internet connect is free but very very slow the chef has put together an interesting menu. Plus she is very accommodating to special diets. If retiring to the airport and not taking the train during rush hour give yourself about 60 - 75 minutes.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank DrDavid44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear DrDavid44,

Thank you very much for making the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel your home away from home on your recent visit to Johannesburg and also for taking the time to tell us about your experience here on TripAdvisor.

We strive on 100% satisfaction and are saddened that your expectations were not met. We are so sorry about the slow internet, we have been having a few problems with regards to internet provider but I can assure you that this has been sorted out and on your next visit you will experience our brand standard fast internet back again. It is feedback like this which we really appreciate in order to improve ourselves as a Hotel.

On a positive note we are happy to accommodate our guests requests. We are pleased that the kitchen was able to put together a menu to suit your dietary requirements - our Executive Chef Stuart Cason will be very pleased to hear that you had a great dining experience in our Central One Restaurant, I will be sure to pass your message of compliments to him and the entire restaurant team.

Once again, thank you very much selecting the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel and we really look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Mark Wernich
General Manager
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The hotel is located almost opposite the Gautrain Station. Nelson Mandela Square and Sandton City (Mall) are just behind the Gautrain station. Though its about 5mins walk, the hotel has a shuttle that can take you there and pick you up whenever you are ready to leave.

The staff were friendly and helpful and the room service are as efficient as can be! The food taste fantastic as well and the buffet breakfast is really varied.

The size of the room was okay, not too large or too small, chocolates laid on the pillow in the evenings with organic bottle water (hope i got that right) given daily. the shower glass was a bit see through but that wasn't a problem for me.

All in all, it was a great experience and i have started recommending the hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emamz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Emamz,

Thank you very much for making the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel your home away from home on your recent visit to Johannesburg and also for taking the time to tell us about your experience here on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you have recommended our hotel to your family and friends. This is a testament to our hard work to always strive for 100% guest satisfaction at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel.

Our Executive Chef Stuart Cason will be very pleased to hear that you had a great dining experience, I will be sure to pass your message of compliments to him and the entire restaurant team.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we really look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel on your next visit to Johannesburg.

Kind Regards

Mark Wernich
General Manager
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 46 in Sandton
1,375 reviews
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 46 in Sandton
993 reviews
0.3 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.3 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
#11 of 46 in Sandton
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel

Address: Rivonia Road, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#9 Business Hotel in Sandton
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: £77 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel overlook the beautiful Sandton Skyline, the epitome of South African opulence. This stylish hotel which is located a mere 55 steps from the Sandton Gautrain Station boasts 220 rooms and suites designed in varied moods and tones, ranging from warmth, earthy African tones to bold, contemporary splashes of colour. The rooms are spacious and modern with breath taking views of the city skyline. Each of our guest rooms offer satellite television with a large selection of channels to be enjoyed on a wall mounted flat screen television. Complimentary high speed wireless internet access helps guests stay connected whilst in Johannesburg for business or leisure. The Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel enjoys a premier location only 55 steps from the high speed Gautrain rapid rail station and has easy access to the Sandton Convention Centre, Sandton City and all the major banking offices in Johannesburg. The Hotels conference facilities offer unique meeting spaces which include elegant meeting rooms as well as executive boardrooms catering for any size event from large banquets to intimate board meetings. The latest audiovisual equipment, climate control, complimentary high speed internet access and natural lighting make these some of the most enviable conference facilities in Johannesburg. The Award Winning Central One Restaurant and Bar offers a unique dining experience with a wide variety of award winning dishes as well as weekly specials to make every stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing