We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I was obliged to book in this hotel due to the fact that my company was organizing a training here. But I have to say I have enjoyed 8 nights of excellent service. Hotel is across the street from Sandton Gautrain station, 200 meters from Mandela square. They have a free shuttle to take you anywhere within 4 km radius free of charge. I was using the Gym every day. If you need anything that is not on the dinner menu Chefs are willing enough to make you happy. I really recommend it.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank SherifRashed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear SherifRashed,

Thank you very much for the excellent 5 star review on Trip Advisor, it is really great to hear that you had an excellent stay with us and that your expectations about our hotel were met.

We are really pleased that you found the location of the hotel excellent, being the most centrally located hotel in Sandton does provide certain perks and we are happy that you took advantage of our free shuttle to explore the surrounding Sandton area.

You will be happy to know that we recently upgraded our gym machinery, creating a better workout environment for our guests. So be sure to make a turn on your next visit.

Our Executive Chef Stuart Cason will be very pleased to hear that you had a great dining experience, I will be sure to pass your message of compliments to him and the entire restaurant team.

Once again, thank you very much for staying with us and we really look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Mark Wernich
General Manager
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

774 - 780 of 1,237 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

My first time visit to Radisson Gautrain, but must say that I was a bit disappointed.

Upon checking in, they struggled to find my reservation. After a while they finally got it.
I was booked for a Twin Room - standard room, but got a King Size bed business room (that was a bonus)
Room was not clean at all.
Dustbin were full of dirt.
No bathroom amenities. Used soap was still left in the bathroom.
Wet hand towels were left in the basin.
Toilet was very dirty and you can imagine what I was seeing....
No Coffee pods at the coffee machine.
Internet connectivity is not good and had to phone a couple of times to fix the problem.
Breakfast was a total disaster. Bacon was cold and stone hard and also not fresh. The fat was yellow.
Scrambled Egg was cold. (Find it strange as I was one of the first people when the breakfast opened).

I did not expect such service from Radisson at all.
Would consider staying in Park Inn for any future visits.

Room Tip: Corner Room (business class) does not have good internet connectivity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Werner d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Werner,

We apologize that you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We regret to hear your dining experience did not meet your expectations. Our goal is to ensure fresh food is provided and that each item is available for all of our guests. We have passed on your comments and concerns to our Food & Beverage department so that they may address this situation with the team and ensure that we deliver outstanding service and presentation.

Regarding the state in which you found your room, we will discuss the conditions of your room with our staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Radisson Blu standards.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. This gives us the opportunity to review the situation and correct any deficiencies we may have in our service Your comments are valued and will be used to consider improvements in the future.

Thank you once more for selecting the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel as your hotel of choice and we really hope that you will give us another chance in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mark Wernich
General Manager
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Business class was good. It had everything I needed. It was conveniently located in Sandton making traveling from airport via Gautrain as pleasure. Breakfast was very good and staff very friendly. I will definitely recommend this to any body who has business to do in Sandton flying in from another town/city.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank mikedevill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Mike,

Thank you very much for making the Radisson Blu Gautrain your hotel of choice on your recent visit to Johannesburg. We are so pleased that you will be returning to experience our great hospitality.

We are delighted that you loved every aspect of your stay with us. We strive for 100% guest satisfaction and we will be sure to pass your message of compliments to the entire team here at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel.

Once again, thank you very much for staying with us and we really look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Mark Wernich
General Manager
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Very convenient Hotel for Business purposes and next to the Gautrain and Shopping Malls. Hotel Price need to be reviewed as it is pricey. I would recommend friends to the Raddison Blue Hotels to business colleagues and the Conference facility is excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear John,

Thank you very much for the great 4 star review on Trip Advisor, it is really great to hear that you had an excellent stay with us and that your expectations about our hotel were met.

We are delighted that you would recommend our hotel to family and friends. We take pride in our “Yes I Can!” culture and we are delighted that you found our team to be helpful and efficient. We will be sure to pass your message of compliments to the entire team here at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel.

Once again, thank you very much for staying with us and we really look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Mark Wernich
General Manager
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Having been frightened by tales of how dangerous Johannesburg can be, this hotel was a great find. It is virtually opposite the entrance to The Gautrain Station and train connection to the airport.. The position of the hotel plus helpful, friendly staff made it ideal.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen5N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Good day Helen,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience.
It is really positive to hear that you felt safe whilst staying with us, our location is one of the best in Sandton with easy access to the Gautrain and all the major shopping centres.

We are most pleased with your comments about the friendliness and attentiveness of our staff, we strive for 100% guest satisfaction and we will be sure to pass your message of compliments to the entire team here at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel.

Once again thank you for selecting the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel as your hotel of choice on your recent visit to Johannesburg and we really look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Mark Wernich
General Manager
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We booked a Junior Suite for 5 nights for $20800 Rand. On checking in they put us in a Business Class room which was much smaller. When we checked out they charged us almost $25000 Rand - their reason was the rate was based on availability!!! We were never advised this and how could it be more than the suite? We queried this but they kept repeating the same answer. It was such a terrible ending to a nice relaxing break. We contacted hotel again when we got back to NZ regarding this but yo date have had no response. Very disappointed. Will not recommend or be staying there again and we make frequent trips to South Africa.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Leslie David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Good day Leslie,

Thank you very much for selecting the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel as your hotel of choice on your recent visit to Johannesburg, we are so sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations of a Radisson Blu Hotel.

We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention and understand the inconvenience an unexpected charge can cause. I can assure you that this matter will be investigated to prevent this happening in the future. If you would kindly forward us your reservation number or the name in which the booking was made, to our Marketing manager (cleo.johnson@radissonblu.com) we can have a look into the matter.

We attempt to fulfill each of our guest’s requests to the best of our ability. Prior to your next stay, we welcome you to contact us so we may discuss your accommodation requirements in detail.

Once again I would like to apologize for your stay not meeting your expectations and we will certainly work on improving all your concerns, thank you once more for selecting the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel as your hotel of choice and we really hope that you will give us another chance in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mark Wernich
General Manager
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Business Trip / Crew of 5: I travel regularly on business and this was one of the best hotels and hotel values I have stayed in. Clean, modern and comfortable rooms. Good internet access (free) Staff on every occasion (front desk, restaurant, lounge, transportation) were excellent. Breakfast is very good, brilliant dinner menu and presentation. The location allows walking to many good restaurants and shopping. Right across the road from the Gautrain making getting to airport and other locations super easy, fast and cheap. Taxi stand across the street. The 5 of us, over a 10 - 14 day period, really had no issues.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Mitchell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Mitchell,

Thank you very much for the excellent 5 star review on Trip Advisor, it is really great to hear that you and your party had an excellent stay with us and that your expectations about our hotel were met.

It is great to hear that you really enjoyed the quality of the food from our Central One Restaurant and that you also found our staff very friendly and professional, we will be sure to pass your message of compliments to the entire team at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel.

Once again, thank you for making the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel your hotel of choice on your recent visit to Johannesburg, we really look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mark Wernich
General Manager
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 47 in Sandton
1,390 reviews
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 47 in Sandton
998 reviews
0.3 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel

Address: Rivonia Road, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#9 Business Hotel in Sandton
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: £80 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel overlook the beautiful Sandton Skyline, the epitome of South African opulence. This stylish hotel which is located a mere 55 steps from the Sandton Gautrain Station boasts 220 rooms and suites designed in varied moods and tones, ranging from warmth, earthy African tones to bold, contemporary splashes of colour. The rooms are spacious and modern with breath taking views of the city skyline. Each of our guest rooms offer satellite television with a large selection of channels to be enjoyed on a wall mounted flat screen television. Complimentary high speed wireless internet access helps guests stay connected whilst in Johannesburg for business or leisure. The Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel enjoys a premier location only 55 steps from the high speed Gautrain rapid rail station and has easy access to the Sandton Convention Centre, Sandton City and all the major banking offices in Johannesburg. The Hotels conference facilities offer unique meeting spaces which include elegant meeting rooms as well as executive boardrooms catering for any size event from large banquets to intimate board meetings. The latest audiovisual equipment, climate control, complimentary high speed internet access and natural lighting make these some of the most enviable conference facilities in Johannesburg. The Award Winning Central One Restaurant and Bar offers a unique dining experience with a wide variety of award winning dishes as well as weekly specials to make every stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing