We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Biz trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Biz trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Was a good experience. Of course the location makes all the difference. Staff is a bit too "mechanical" but well trained. Reservation and reception is a bit disconnected. (an experience with a voucher that was not passed through, could have been a systems issue rather than human error)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Serge B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Serge B,

Thank you very much for the great 4 star review on Trip Advisor, it is really great to hear that you had an excellent stay with us and that your expectations about our hotel were met.

We are really pleased that you found the location of the hotel excellent, being the most centrally located hotel in Sandton does provide certain perks.

We do apologise if there was a lapse in our service regarding your reservation, but pleased that this was resolved immediately.

Once again thank you for selecting the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel as your hotel of choice on your recent visit to Johannesburg and we really look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Mark Wernich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    457
    125
    52
    53
See reviews for
106
234
88
595
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Ohio
Level Contributor
147 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed here twice, one night in May and one night in June. Both were excellent. It is at a great location. We took the Gautrain from the airport and so close to the station. We also walked to Nelson Mandela square for dinner one night. The path was a little dark but I did not feel unsafe. We also had room service and a lunch at the hotel restaurant. All the food was good quality. The breakfast buffet is really excellent with a great spread and options. The room is compact but comfortable. The bathroom has an interesting layout and it was fine for the two of us. The staff is friendly, helpful and very professional. I will definite recommend this to anyone coming to Joburg.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms have better views. The ground across is under construction and it can be a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTR5959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear MTR5959,

Thank you very much for the excellent 5 star review on Trip Advisor, it is really great to hear that you had an excellent stay with us and that your expectations about our hotel were met.

We are really pleased that you found the location of the hotel excellent, being the most centrally located hotel in Sandton does provide certain perks and we recommend that you take advantage of our free shuttle to explore the surrounding Sandton area on your next trip.

Our Executive Chef Stuart Cason will be very pleased to hear that you had a great dining experience, I will be sure to pass your message of compliments to him and the entire restaurant team.

We are delighted that you would recommend our hotel to other travellers. We take pride in our “Yes I Can!” culture and we are delighted that you found our team to be helpful and efficient. We will be sure to pass your message of compliments to the entire team here at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel.

Once again, thank you very much for staying with us and we really look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel again in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Mark Wernich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I stayed here with a group for 2 nights and it was a very nice stay. The rooms are nice and comfortable. The best thing about this place is the location though. It is adjacent to Nelson Mandela Square for easy access to shops and restaurants etc.. but the most important this is it is diagonal from the Gautrain station that takes you from OR Tambo airport directly to this place in about 20 minutes so no need at all for any airport transfers. It is ideal for business clients or for those who have to do a nights stopover in Joburg to catch an onward flight to Kruger etc.. We also ate at the Central One restaurant which was a buffet for us, very nice, but I had a look at the menu and that looked pretty good. The lobby bar is great fun and all the prices are reasonable. A good selection of conference rooms are available too which we had used.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWalker610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear JWalker610,

Thank you very much for the great 4 star review on Trip Advisor, it is really great to hear that you had an excellent stay with us and that your expectations about our hotel were met.

We are really pleased that you found the location of the hotel excellent, being the most centrally located hotel in Sandton does provide certain perks. The Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel takes pride in the comfortable elegance we have to offer our guests from our rooms to our slick and stylish Central One Bar & Restaurant.


Our Executive Chef Stuart Cason will be very pleased to hear that you had a great dining experience, I will be sure to pass your message of compliments to him and the entire restaurant team. On your return I recommend coming for dinner. The Central One Restaurant offers a uniquely refined selection of cuisine using the freshest ingredients which results in a memorable dining experience.

Once again, thank you very much for staying with us and we really look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Mark Wernich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Generally the hotel and the staff were excellent. Room service and foid excellent however the internet was useless and most dissapointing as I was trying to work from the hotel and keep losing connection. Location near the Gautrain was perfect and easy walk to Sandton City and Nelson Mandela Square.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Deb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Deb L,

Thank you very much for making the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel your home away from home on your recent visit to Johannesburg and also for taking the time to tell us about your experience here on Trip Advisor.

We are most pleased with your comments about the excellent service received from our staff, we strive for 100% guest satisfaction and we will be sure to pass your message of compliments to the entire team here at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel.

We are so sorry about the slow internet, we have been having a few problems with regards to internet provider but I can assure you that this has been sorted out and on your next visit you will our brand standard fast internet back again.

We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued and will be used to consider improvements in the future. Once again, thank you very much for staying with us and we really look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Mark Wernich
General Manager
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed over for a one night business trip. Loved the modern, light, open plan feel to the hotel public areas & rooms. Stayed in room 716. Open bathroom (milk glass) with separate bath & shower. Lovely bed linens & shower products. Excellent location right next to the Gautrain station. Service is not up to standard though. Little small things added up to a bigger picture & improvements needed (safe in room not working, one towel was used ..., reception service average). Food was good, had a beef burger for dinner, very tasty & breakfast buffet excellent in terms of variety & freshness. Too bad it took 10 min to get a simple black coffee... would still rate the hotel as 4 1/2 stars as still very new & very modern feel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Miriam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Miriam,

Thank you very much for making the Radisson Blu Gautrain your hotel of choice on your recent visit to Johannesburg and for taking the time to write this review on Tripadvisor.

We take pride in our “Yes I Can!” culture and do apologize that you did not receive this level of service from our staff. We have passed on your comments regarding staff service and efficiency. These areas of concern will be addressed with the team to ensure that we deliver outstanding service. Our team works hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive our best service.

I have noted your concerns with regards to the breakfast service being on the slow side, I will let our restaurant manager know so that training can be put into place to increase service speed.

We are very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you loved our breakfast buffet in our Central One Restaurant and we will certainly pass your message of compliments onto our Executive Chef Stuart Cason.

We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. This gives us the opportunity to review the situation and correct any deficiencies we may have in our service Your comments are valued and will be used to consider improvements in the future.


Kind Regards

Mark Wernich
General Manager
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Fantastic stay in a hotel that has all the modern commodities combined with excellent staff, comfortable accommodation and everything one requires as a home away from home. Would highly recommend. Its not often that i sleep well in a hotel but this hotel was warm "it was freezing outside" and comfortable and im thrilled this hotel was selected on my behalf because i would use it again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank ThandaSa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear ThandaPGR,

Thank you very much for making the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel your home away from home on your recent visit to Johannesburg and also for taking the time to tell us about your experience here on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you would recommend our hotel to family and friends. We take pride in our “Yes I Can!” culture and we are delighted that you found our team to be helpful and efficient. We will be sure to pass your message of compliments to the entire team here at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel.

Once again, thank you very much for staying with us and we really look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Mark Wernich
General Manager
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

I was obliged to book in this hotel due to the fact that my company was organizing a training here. But I have to say I have enjoyed 8 nights of excellent service. Hotel is across the street from Sandton Gautrain station, 200 meters from Mandela square. They have a free shuttle to take you anywhere within 4 km radius free of charge. I was using the Gym every day. If you need anything that is not on the dinner menu Chefs are willing enough to make you happy. I really recommend it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank SherifRashed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear SherifRashed,

Thank you very much for the excellent 5 star review on Trip Advisor, it is really great to hear that you had an excellent stay with us and that your expectations about our hotel were met.

We are really pleased that you found the location of the hotel excellent, being the most centrally located hotel in Sandton does provide certain perks and we are happy that you took advantage of our free shuttle to explore the surrounding Sandton area.

You will be happy to know that we recently upgraded our gym machinery, creating a better workout environment for our guests. So be sure to make a turn on your next visit.

Our Executive Chef Stuart Cason will be very pleased to hear that you had a great dining experience, I will be sure to pass your message of compliments to him and the entire restaurant team.

Once again, thank you very much for staying with us and we really look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Mark Wernich
General Manager
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.2 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#4 of 47 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
0.3 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
0.4 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#3 of 47 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel

Property: Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Address: Rivonia Road, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#10 Business Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel overlook the beautiful Sandton Skyline, the epitome of South African opulence. This stylish hotel which is located a mere 55 steps from the Sandton Gautrain Station boasts 220 rooms and suites designed in varied moods and tones, ranging from warmth, earthy African tones to bold, contemporary splashes of colour. The rooms are spacious and modern with breath taking views of the city skyline. Each of our guest rooms offer satellite television with a large selection of channels to be enjoyed on a wall mounted flat screen television. Complimentary high speed wireless internet access helps guests stay connected whilst in Johannesburg for business or leisure. The Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel enjoys a premier location only 55 steps from the high speed Gautrain rapid rail station and has easy access to the Sandton Convention Centre, Sandton City and all the major banking offices in Johannesburg. The Hotels conference facilities offer unique meeting spaces which include elegant meeting rooms as well as executive boardrooms catering for any size event from large banquets to intimate board meetings. The latest audiovisual equipment, climate control, complimentary high speed internet access and natural lighting make these some of the most enviable conference facilities in Johannesburg. The Award Winning Central One Restaurant and Bar offers a unique dining experience with a wide variety of award winning dishes as well as weekly specials to make every stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Rezidor, Expedia, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing