We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Kampala, Uganda
1 review
“Hotel Experience”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Good customer service. Complimentary Internet and Fitness center - good experience. Best suited for business purposes due to location - surrounded by buildings - no green grass compound. Nice Breakfast. Nice rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Edward S,

Thank you very much for making the Radisson Blu Gautrain your hotel of choice on your recent visit to Johannesburg and also for the excellent review.

It is really great to hear that you had a great experience with us and that we were able to exceed your expectations. I will make sure to pass your message of compliments to the entire Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel team.

We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued and we hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Kind regards,
Mark Wernich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    465
    125
    52
    53
See reviews for
108
239
90
602
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Great hotel right by the guatrain, so easy for getting to and from airport as well as office in sandton. Staff are friendly and remember me from previous occasions. Rooms are simple, clean and allow for good night's rest. Room service food was simple and tasty.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Andrew W,

Thank you very much for the review on Tripadvisor, it is really great to hear that you had an excellent stay with us and that your expectations about our hotel were met.

We take pride in our “Yes I Can!” culture and are pleased that you did received this level of service from our staff.
Our location is one of the best in Sandton with easy access to the Gautrain and all the major shopping centres. The Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel takes pride in the comfortable elegance we have to offer our guests from our rooms to our slick and stylish Central One Bar & Restaurant.

Thank you also for being very loyal to the Radisson Blu Brand as a whole and having faith in the brand quality and what we as a brand have to offer and we truly appreciate your ongoing loyalty.

Thank you very much for staying with us and we really look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Mark Wernich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The location of this hotel across from the Sandton Gautrain station and a short walk away from Sandton City shoppin centre makes it an ideal location for both business and leisure travel. The friendliness of all staff from check in to porters to cleaners makes one look forward to go back for another visit relatively soon. Overall very good service with a free upgrade without even requesting one and this is something which we all look forward to

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Kevin,

Thank you very much for the great 4 star review on Trip Advisor, it is really great to hear that you had an excellent stay with us and that your expectations about our hotel were met.

We are very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Our location is one of the best in Sandton with easy access to the Gautrain and all the major shopping centres. The Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel takes pride in the comfortable elegance we have to offer our guests from our rooms to our slick and stylish Central One Bar & Restaurant.

We are delighted to be your hotel of choice on your next visit to Johannesburg and we can’t wait to welcome you back!

We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued and we hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Kind regards,
Mark Wernich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The rooms are brilliant. Coffee maker with capsules. Interior decoration, the bed. Nothing to complain. Obviously you like to go to sandton square. but the staff does not know how to get you there. I took a map and walked but did not really feal safe passing all the taxi rangs.

The hotel is just across the Gautrain station and it makes it easy to carry your luggage just across the road.

If you get it for a good price (less 100 Euros) this is my choice in Sandton to spoil your wife.

Room Tip: any room. I had a room with coffee maker (capsules). nice bath and good tv. very good i felt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeinOtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear HeinOtt,

Thank you very much for selecting the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel as your hotel of choice on your recent visit to Johannesburg and also for taking the time to tell us about your experience here on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Our location is one of the best in Sandton with easy access to the Gautrain and all the major shopping centres. The Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel takes pride in the comfortable elegance we have to offer our guests in our rooms and hotel facilities.

We apologize if you were misinformed regarding the free shuttle we have to offer our guests. We will address this with our staff to ensure this does not happen again to future guests.

Once again, thank you very much for staying with us and we really look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Mark Wernich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I stayed in this hotel 4 nights. It's very comfortable and relaxing. Gym on last floor with nice view over the city.
The hotel was very good. Staff were very friendly, helpful and cheerful.
The food was nice, copious with lots of variety. The room was very clean and serviced everyday.
There is Nelson Mandela Square few minutes walk so it was convenient for last day shopping.
It's a Hotel that I would recommend if you're visiting Johannesburg but far from the Bauma Africa - Gallagher Convention Centre.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abdel_ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Abdel_ie,

Thank you very much for selecting the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel as your hotel of choice on your recent visit to Johannesburg and also for taking the time to tell us about your experience here on Trip Advisor.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the rooms clean and comfortable and staff to be helpful.

Our Executive Chef Stuart Cason will be very pleased to hear that you had a great dining experience, I will be sure to pass your message of compliments to him and the entire restaurant team.

We are delighted that you will be recommending our hotel. This is a testament to our hard work to always strive for 100% guest satisfaction at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we really look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel on your next visit to Johannesburg.

Kind regards,
Mark Wernich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
160 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

You first have to navigate your way into the hotel, as it shares the building with other businesses. That said it truly is around the corner from the Gautrain, which connects it to the Joburg airport in about 20 minutes (pay attention as the trains leave every 1/2hr, so you may get stuck if you just miss it; the hotel is only a 3 minute walk from the station and 5 minutes of the escalator ride into the Gautrain abyss).

The only real complaint I have is how long it took to check out. The bureaucracy of RSA still rocks and the Radisson is not immune. The staff are reasonably pleasant as this unfolds. The rooms are the nice but nothing-special rooms, hence my title. You basically have all you need and everything is comfortable, but already two weeks later, I cannot remember the look of the room. The bathroom was clean and the key amenities were all there. I ordered room service which was prompt and decent too. Breakfast was generous and the choice was good. Internet was included in the room price.

I have absolutely no complaints and I am likely to chose the hotel again for an overnight as I transit through Joburg. It's just yet another hotel the look of which will be escaping you only days after you checked out...

Room Tip: They have smoking rooms. Avoid if that bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BorisDivjak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Boris,

Thank you very much for making the Radisson Blu Gautrain your hotel of choice on your recent visit to Johannesburg and for taking the time to write this review on Tripadvisor.

We are exactly 55 steps away from the Gautrain and are pleased that our location was convenient during your time in Johannesburg. On your next visit, please make use of the complimentary shuttle and experience Nelson Mandela square with all its restaurants and the shopping at Sandton City.

We have noted your concerns with regards to the check-out service being on the slow side, I will inform our front office manager so that training can be put into place to increase service speed.

We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued and will be used to consider improvements in the future. Once again, thank you very much for staying with us and we really look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Mark Wernich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a week on business during June. Staff very approachable and helpful, shuttle service around santon was very useful. Area opposite hotel is undergoing extensive building work but as I was out during the day this never bothered me. Wifi was good, rooms spacious and clean with a nice shower. Hotel bar was well stocked, gym facilities were good and the hotel pool a nice area to rest and relax after a long day. All in all a good hotel central to all amenities in Sandton and a minutes walk from the train station.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank sjpw1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson Blu Ga... M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Waltontoffee,

Thank you very much for selecting the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel as your hotel of choice on your recent visit to Johannesburg and also for taking the time to tell us about your experience here on Trip Advisor.

We are really pleased that you found the location of the hotel excellent, being the most centrally located hotel in Sandton does provide certain perks and we are happy that you took advantage of our free shuttle to explore the surrounding Sandton area.
The Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel takes pride in the comfortable elegance we have to offer our guests from our rooms to our slick and stylish Central One Bar & Restaurant.

We take pride in our “Yes I Can!” culture and we are delighted that you found our team to be helpful and efficient. We will be sure to pass your message of compliments to the entire team here at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel.

We are very delighted that you only had pros for our hotel and no cons, this shows us that our guests are really starting to notice all the hard work which we are putting in to strive for that 100% guest satisfaction guarantee.

Once again, thank you very much for staying with us and we really look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Mark Wernich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.2 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#4 of 48 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
0.3 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
0.4 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#3 of 48 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel

Property: Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Address: Rivonia Road, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#10 Business Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms at the Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel overlook the beautiful Sandton Skyline, the epitome of South African opulence. This stylish hotel which is located a mere 55 steps from the Sandton Gautrain Station boasts 220 rooms and suites designed in varied moods and tones, ranging from warmth, earthy African tones to bold, contemporary splashes of colour. The rooms are spacious and modern with breath taking views of the city skyline. Each of our guest rooms offer satellite television with a large selection of channels to be enjoyed on a wall mounted flat screen television. Complimentary high speed wireless internet access helps guests stay connected whilst in Johannesburg for business or leisure. The Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel enjoys a premier location only 55 steps from the high speed Gautrain rapid rail station and has easy access to the Sandton Convention Centre, Sandton City and all the major banking offices in Johannesburg. The Hotels conference facilities offer unique meeting spaces which include elegant meeting rooms as well as executive boardrooms catering for any size event from large banquets to intimate board meetings. The latest audiovisual equipment, climate control, complimentary high speed internet access and natural lighting make these some of the most enviable conference facilities in Johannesburg. The Award Winning Central One Restaurant and Bar offers a unique dining experience with a wide variety of award winning dishes as well as weekly specials to make every stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Rezidor, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel Sandton, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing