We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AtholPlace Hotel & Villa
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My girlfriend and I spent a night at Athol Place just before leaving for a Safari, and it has been amazing.
We didn't really like Johannesburg, but Athol Place is like a Pieace of Eden.
The room was amazing and very comfortable, and also the dinner has been great.
The staff has been very nice, especially our waiter during the dinner.
And also the Manager has been very kind. At the check out I made him notice that the dinner was already paid and I had to pay only for the wine, but at that point he refused us to pay for the wine and gave it as complimentary. He has been really nice even if he had not to.
Wonderful Experience

Room Tip: We had superior suite, and was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RinseW, Guest Relations Manager at AtholPlace Hotel & Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. Great to hear that you really loved AtholPlace Boutique Hotel and our wonderful staff and management. We constantly strive to exceed expectations and we hope you will cherish your good memories of AtholPlace and the rest of your African safari for a long time! Warm regards on behalf of the entire team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2014

My husband and I had the great pleasure of staying at AtholPlace for one night as part of the last stop on our African honeymoon – before we headed back to our home in NYC. Our only regret is not being able to stay at AtholPlace for a longer time. AtholPlace is a luxurious, but affordable, boutique hotel in the heart of Sandton (a central, affluent area within the metropolitan area of Jo’burg).

We arrived late at night from a weeklong rendezvous in Zanzibar and we were instantly greeted by the GM, Callie Haden Smith, who had waited up to meet us and to show us to our room. Not only did she take us to the most magnificent suite (Room #6), but she had champagne chilled for us and some cheese, crackers and fruit prepared as well – after a long night of travelling. From the minute we went through their gates (a very well-protected and beautiful property), we were made to feel as if we were home. The house and rooms are stunning and beautifully decorated in very chic décor.

The hotel’s location is central for any and everything you could want to do in Jo’burg and Pretoria and Callie was super helpful in planning out the few short hours that we had to experience the city. She booked us a private car and made the necessary reservations for us to see and do as much as we could. She was gracious and super knowledgeable and it’s been a joy keeping in touch with her since we returned home (I complimented her necklace and she even went as far to go to the Jo’burg boutique and put on one hold for me to purchase when I got back to the States).

After a wonderful night’s rest, we had an amazing breakfast prepared by the property’s chef. We were treated like a Prince and Princess during our stay. Their hospitality, service and food was remarkable and everyone was so warm and welcoming. Callie and her staff even packed us lunch and snacks for our flights back to the United States. Their customer service is second to none and AtholPlace is a superb addition to the Relais & Chateaux family! A beautiful, intimate boutique property with an incredible staff. We hope to spend more time at AtholPlace in the future… it won’t just be a jumping off/ ending point for our South African travels – but a place we look forward to spending quality time at!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whitkneejill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RinseW, Public Relations Manager at AtholPlace Hotel & Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

The pleasure was entirely ours! We are really happy to read that your short stay at AtholPlace Boutique Hotel was a fitting end to your honeymoon in Africa. And we surely hope that you will come and stay at AtholPlace Boutique Hotel during your next visit! Hopefully you will be able to spend a few more days in Johannesburg to experience all it has to offer. For now please cherish the fond memories of Africa..... Warm regards on behalf of the entire team! Rinse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Luxurious but affordable boutique hotel in the heart of Sandton. The "go to" place to stay in JHB. Central, intimate and comfortable. A handyman to fix some broken window latches, doors etc would take this place to fabulous! It's quiet. If that's what you are looking for look no further. Flexible bespoke dining options.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Regular B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RinseW, Public Relations Manager at AtholPlace Hotel & Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback and comments regarding your stay at AtholPlace Boutique Hotel. We are glad that you feel this is the 'go to' place to stay in Johannesburg. We are aware of the maintenance issues you have rightly pointed out in your feedback. After having taken over the hotel from the previous owners we are in the process of renovating and upgrading. We strive to keep disturbance to our guests to the absolute minimum and to bring the hotel to our high quality standards as soon as possible. We hope to impress you even more during your next stay with us. Kind regards, Rinse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Entire experience from the driver pickup, hotel stay to my departure was top notch. It was my first time back home from the States in 15 years and this was a wonderful re-entry into South Africa. The staff were lovely and professional, paying utmost attention to detail. This was a combo work-personal family trip and the hotel staff took great care of my jetlagged 7 year old daughter and husband. Food was delicious and fresh. Our room was luxurious and spacious and this is in comparison to many stays at Starwood and Morgans Group hotels. I will be returning to South Africa again this year and will be returning to Atholplace.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belinda F F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RinseW, Public Relations Manager at AtholPlace Hotel & Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Belinda,
Thank you so much for your kind words and positive feedback about your stay in October. We are doing all we can to make our guests at AtholPlace Boutique Hotel feel comfortable. We are looking forward to having you stay with us again during your next visit to Johannesburg this year!
Warm regards, Rinse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

My single biggest gripe about being on the road constantly for work is staying at hotels where you are just a nameless, faceless number...AtholPlace is the complete opposite of this. From the minute you walk in the door, you are made to feel as if you are at home. Friendly staff from reception to housekeeping to maintenance men; huge, spacious rooms that are warm and welcoming; wonderful food and superb hospitality. It was such a pleasure to be away from home but felt like being at home while on my recent business trip. A superb addition to the Relais & Chateaux family. Thank you x

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinaAponte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I stayed at the AtholPlace for the day, after a long overnight flight from London.

As my tired self got off the plane, I was met after customs by a friendly driver who had been pre-arranged through the hotel. Not only did he drive me safely to and from the airport, but gave me some history of Joburg as we drove through and pointed out the main sites.

I arrived at the hotel and the staff was so friendly and welcoming. I had missed breakfast, however, the chef whipped me up some food anyways.

The room was lovely, with large windows & ceilings, some overlooking the beautiful back lawn. The rooms were also very very spacious.

While I was only there for the day, I wish I would have had longer to enjoy this lovely hotel

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alyson T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

You are welcome like a lost brother, the service and food are excellent and very professional. If you need the service of a business center they are at par with any big hotel. The rooms are well decorated, clean and spacious.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VinceCadoret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandton
1.7 mi away
Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
0.7 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 46 in Sandton
992 reviews
0.7 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
#11 of 46 in Sandton
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
2.3 mi away
Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 46 in Sandton
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AtholPlace Hotel & Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AtholPlace Hotel & Villa

Address: 90 Pretoria Avenue | Atholl, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: £207 - £432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — AtholPlace Hotel & Villa 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AtholPlace Hotel & Villa is a small luxury boutique hotel located in the cosmopolitan northern suburb of Atholl in Johannesburg. Contemporary-classic glamour and understated elegance meet at AtholPlace Hotel & Villa, from our comfortably furnished library with built-in fireplace to the heated swimming pool in our beautiful garden. AtholPlace Hotel offers five superior suites and four deluxe suites. All nine suites have been individually designed, providing a sanctuary of comfort and tranquillity. The large suites, all with en-suite bathrooms, are extremely spacious, ranging from 45-55 square metres. The Deluxe Suites offer interleading doors to the Deluxe Suite next door, making them ideal for families travelling with children. Each suite includes: * En-suite bathroom with bath, shower and double vanity. * Underfloor heating in all bathrooms. * Air conditioning; 42-inch LCD flat-screen television set with DSTV. * complimentary wireless ADSL internet and telephone. * Electronic safe that can house a laptop. * Writing desk and lounge chairs and sofa. * Minibar fridge. * Luggage rack, hairdryer, and luxurious linen bathrobes and slippers. * 24-hour security. Guests have a choice of twin beds (in two of the superior suites and two of the deluxe suites) or extra-length king-size beds. One of our style signatures is our beds made up in crisp white percale Frette bed linen imported from Italy. Luxurious duck-down duvets and soft, silky cushions contribute to the experience of absolute comfort and luxury. Each suite has large doors opening out onto a private balcony. For the ultimate in privacy and exclusivity book the 4-bedroom AtholPlace Villa, with private garden and a heated pool. This villa is ideal for families or groups of friends travelling together (max. 6 adults plus 2 children). AtholPlace Villa comes with its own staff, including your own private chef and butler, who will prepare all your meals and drinks, which are included at AtholPlace Villa. All meals are expertly prepared by our in-house chef. Scrumptious breakfasts, light lunches and delicious dinners are served in the elegant AtholPlace Restaurant with its adjoining lounge. In addition, guests have the option of dining outside on the covered terrace or under the trees in the tranquil seclusion of our landscaped garden. Room service is also available at AtholPlace Hotel & Villa. AtholPlace Hotel & Villa is committed to ensuring the comfort of each guest visiting our hotel, providing you with refreshingly personal service and attention to detail. We offer you an unforgettable leisure experience in Johannesburg's cosmopolitan heart. AtholPlace Hotel & Villa is situated only 30 minutes from OR Tambo International Airport. Within close proximity to AtholPlace Hotel & Villa is Sandton Central, which offers world-class shopping and an abundance of restaurants with something to suit everyone's needs. The Sandton Station of the Gautrain Metro is less than a kilometre from the hotel, and has a direct link to and from OR Tambo International Airport. Airport transfers are also available directly from AtholPlace Hotel & Villa. Smoking inside is not permitted and no pets are allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your AtholPlace Hotel & Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
AtholPlace Hotel & Villa Sandton, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing