We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent home away from home!”
Review of Thatchfoord Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thatchfoord Lodge
Ranked #7 of 74 Sandton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent home away from home!”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I fly up to Johannesburg every month for business and have been staying regularly at Thatchfoord Lodge since early 2012.

The staff are fantastic, welcoming and are always exceptionally accommodating to every need. The guest house is beautifully appointed and all the rooms I have ever stayed in have been comfortable with all the business amenities one would need (free WIFI, a writing desk etc)

My breakfasts are fantastic - a great variety of hot and cold food and they serve from 615am - great for when you've got an early start in Johannesburg.

There's also plenty of parking and it's safe and secure.

Thatchfoord Lodge is also well located, close to the Sandton and Rivonia CBD's and within walking distance to the Morning Glen Shopping Centre.

What I love most about Thatchfoord Lodge is the value for money. It's a great four star guest house at an affordable rate! A warm and welcoming home away from home!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdelsK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    28
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
36
12
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I am staying at this beautiful place fwo or last two weeks and i feel its the best place around to stay. There are many factors which are equally contribute for my fondness for this place:

1. The picture perfect natural ambience - The lush gress lawns and tress around, Sand river flowing in front with gurgling sound, birds chirping, flowers in bloom and the lodge itself looks like a hut.
Surely its love at first sight!
2. Lovely Rooms - Extremely spacious, clean, well maintained, cozy and tastefully decorated. All amenities like swimming pool, bookshelf, heater, tv, wifi, teamaker etc present, everything is handy here. Truly its a home away from home!
3. People - The hosts here will actually become your family in no time. Their warm welcome, genuine care and able guidance leave no room for any complaints or concerns. They are ever willing to help and serve with a smile.
I will miss all of them, when I leave!

So, as a whole I strongly recommend this place to all visitors in Johannesburg and I would like to come down to Thatchfoord only, whenever I visit Joburg.

Room Tip: I stayed at Noka, the river view room for its excellent view. But other rooms are also pretty and un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TambeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foshan, China
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Environment and service is nice. I will choose this guest house if we vist JB next time.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2012

This is the best guest house I ever stayed. Perfect service, clean, very nice environment, very good location...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nebu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guangzhou, China
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2012

I have stayed here for almost half month and cann't forget the nice sightseeing here. all rooms are different and you can see a stream passing through in front of the house. it is really a relaxing place for business man or travelers.

Room Tip: upstairs room is nice,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAM Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I've staid here in January 2012 for 1 night and it's a great place to be. We came straight after we arrived from the Airport and we got a very hospitable welcome. The service was great, the rooms are really nice, proper and clean and also the breakfast is lovely! Equally important: the place felt really save and secured. The swimming pool is one you have to try!

I would definately recommend this place to stay and would stay here next time again. Value for money is in a good balance.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdRo_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

A great introduction to South Africa! My friend and I are very experienced travelers from the U.S. We stayed 2 nights in mid May. Joyce and Pearl went way out of their way to help us. Their travel advice was excellent. The room was clean, quiet and lovely. The breakfast was prepared specifically for each us. We took a cab from the airport, a bit far, would rent a car next time. Highly recommended for more than one night in Jo-Berg.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandton
1.1 mi away
The Oasis Boutique Hotel
3.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
1.5 mi away
CedarWoods of Sandton
CedarWoods of Sandton
#18 of 48 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
1.5 mi away
Faircity Quatermain Hotel
Faircity Quatermain Hotel
#17 of 48 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
2.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thatchfoord Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thatchfoord Lodge

Property: Thatchfoord Lodge
Address: 53 Crassula Avenue | Morningside Manor, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Thatchfoord Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thatchfoord Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thatchfoord Lodge Sandton, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing