We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really a home away from home”
Review of Thatchfoord Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thatchfoord Lodge
Ranked #8 of 77 Sandton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really a home away from home”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My family and I stayed at this B&B and had a wonderful vacation. Joyce and Pearl were so nice and very helpful. We really felt at home. The environment was nice, calm and safe. We got a very warm reception by the entire staff. It is an ideal place for a family vacation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oyiwoja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    29
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
37
12
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I have reviewed this BnB before, a year ago and have changed my rating from a 4* to a 5*.
Check-in was simple, everything was ready for me to sign. From the time I arrived until I was in my room was no more than 2 minutes. The room was large, with a full kitchenette. The heater had already been switched on and my hot water bottle was in my bed. Nice, homely touches.

Bed was firmer than I like, but I slept like the dead! Ample hot water in a huge shower. 10/10 for cleanliness. Furnishings of a good standard, but not over the top. Owner friendly without being overbearing.

Breakfast was superb. Lots of variety, cheese, rolls, scones, juice, lovely coffee/tea, cereals and full hot breakfast. Really good and seems to be better than previously.

Only (small) gripe that I see I had last time is that the quality of the soap and shampoo is not in line with the quality of the rest of the offer and needs to upped one notch.

I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rabia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Joyce and Pearl went out of their way to make our visit extremely pleasant and enjoyable aallowing us to host visits from family and friends in very beautiful landscape. The Sand river allows a walk with nature. Thank you for making our stay so welcoming and friendly.

Room Tip: Just ask and if possible you shall be given. Very obliging.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldorf, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This was my first time staying at the Thatchford Lodge and I must say it was a very pleasant experience. The location is clean, beautiful, quiet and peaceful. Pearl and Joyce were wonderful hosts, all of the staff from the cook, the gardener, the night security and cleaning staff were friendly and helpful. There was a good variety of breakfast items to choose from and it’s centrally located to shops, grocery stores and restaurants. With it only being 30 minutes from OR Tambo I would recommend the Thatchford Lodge for anyone wanting a wonderful and pleasant stay in Johannesburg.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mckinabry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is an extremely well-run establishment and includes warm reception, caring and attentive hosts, without imposing themselves. I found the breakfast to offer a good range and the room is prepared for you in the evening, warm bottles during the cold nights, lights switched on if you are out for the evening, these are the things that make it homely yet professional. Very good service all round, from the cleaning staff to the security team. For dinner, you can warm your food in the central lounge microwave and get cutlery and crockery. Its a lodge and not a hotel, so the touch is personal and forward thinking.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liyabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Having stayed in Thatchfoord lodge twice last year we just had to return again this year. Joyce and Pearl are the most wonderful hosts and looked after us yet again particularly after we had been involved in a very bad incident which they both helped us through as though we were family making us feel as though we were in our own home. This is a perfect start and end point for trips to Kruger as it is only 30 minutes from OR Tambo. There are countless shops and restaurants in the area and several attractions locally. Very quiet peaceful and secure location. Fabulous breakfasts cooked to your own tastes. Keep up the excellent service Joyce and Pearl.

Room Tip: The Honeymoon suite is fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Lake, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

we have stayed here 3 times now as we visit South Africa every year. Owner Joyce and manager Pearl are very helpful, delightful people. The location is clean, beautiful, quiet and peaceful. The other guests are interesting. Breakfast very personal. We rented a car at airport this time and drove there, a cab is expensive, public transportation is fine-we have done all three. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
1.5 mi away
CedarWoods of Sandton
CedarWoods of Sandton
#18 of 47 in Sandton
107 reviews
3.1 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
1.8 mi away
Garden Court Morningside Sandton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 47 in Sandton
933 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rivonia Bed & Breakfast
Rivonia Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 77 in Sandton
609 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bellgrove Guest House
Bellgrove Guest House
#12 of 77 in Sandton
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thatchfoord Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thatchfoord Lodge

Property: Thatchfoord Lodge
Address: 53 Crassula Avenue | Morningside Manor, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Thatchfoord Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Thatchfoord Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thatchfoord Lodge Sandton, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing