We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Clean and Convenient”

Strathavon Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Strathavon Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 81 Sandton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Very clean and friendly and situated in a convenient area of Sandton for business. The proprietor was most helpful and even assisted me by driving me herself to a nearby location. Staff are equally helpful and friendly

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHTSandton, Owner at Strathavon Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review. We always appreciate a review, whether it is positive or negative.

I have relayed your positive comments to our staff, who are always grateful to know they are appreciated.

We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

Bad satelite tv reception in room, it would be nice to have some bottled water in the room .Breakfast room no one was there to assist with water boiler for coffee and other coffee machine was not user friendly . Otherwise no complaints , Nancy was friendly and professional and the location of the B&B was very close and convenient for me !

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Meiring V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHTSandton, Owner at Strathavon Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review. We always appreciate a review, whether it is positive or negative.

I apologise for the bad reception on the tv. We have investigated the connections and found some of the points were faulty.

I take your point on the bottled water, however this would ensure additional costs, and we try very hard to keep our rates low and have therefore chosen to keep the guest amenities to the minimum required.

We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Friendly and relaxed and mainly quiet atmosphere. Easy-going and most helpful hosts. I enjoyed the simple internet access available. Good breakfast spread and options, especially the croissant. Well done Greg and Nancy

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LaurenceS97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathavon, Owner at Strathavon Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Thank you for being such a pleasant guest! We enjoyed having you and would love to see you the next time you travel to Sandton. Regards Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The guests are very helpful and friendly, it´s a cool family house, our room had an huge bathroom. We stayed for a night and it was pleasant. Wi-fi and continental breakfast included. We do recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank WellingtonJesus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathavon, Owner at Strathavon Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Thank you so much for the time taken to respond, and also for the positive comments. Hope to see you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Great host, nice room and bathroom except for the broken bedside lamp. Breakfast wasnt great, on day 1 i at was offered fruit salad, nothing offered on day 2. no protein available, just Carbs, brown bread, cereals and donuts........and 1 processed cheese slice........

Also had very noisy neighbours, were in and out of their room all night banking the sliding door. There was also about 5 of them in the 1 room at one stage.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHTSandton, Owner at Strathavon Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Good Evening
I apologise for the delay in responding, I had responded but it was not posted, not sure why, but again I apologise.

In reference to your comments, the breakfast is a continental breakfast, not a full english. We normally supply the following: - Fresh Orange Juice, Croissants and or Muffins, both brown and white bread is offered for toast. Yoghurt and Fresh Fruit is also offered, along with a selection of cereals.

I apologise for the noise made by the other guests, I was not aware that it went on after 9pm, should this happen again during a stay, please make us aware immediately and we will address it.

Again many thanks for your review and I'm glad to see that you have continued to use our establishment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Close to the Sandton Gautrain station (80 ZAR by taxi). Make sure you print off directions for your taxi driver. The breakfast is a basic continental spread, but the options are plenty. Laundry service is available too for 100 ZAR. This is an excellent place if you want to avoid some of the pricier hotels in the Sandton area. Easy access to the Holiday Inn Sandton where you can book day tours. At least that's what I did, but I had friends staying at the Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mastersamwise33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathavon, Owner at Strathavon Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Thank you so much for your positive response, we look forward to seeing you next time. ps We can arrange tours if requested.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

A super stay for a one night stay. However, whould like a more full English Breakfast. I love eggs and bacon with sauages early in the morning. But the muffins were realy great. The bathroom was superb. The bed very nice, especially with hot water bag. You could think of installing air cons though.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ManieDeLange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathavon, Owner at Strathavon Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Thanks so much for your positive comments. We have taken to heart your request for a full english breakfast, and have now added that as an option. In order to keep our rates low for people who are happy with a continental breakfast, we have had to add a surcharge for the cooked breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
2.3 mi away
Mizizi House of Sandton Bed & Breakfast
3.5 mi away
The Dorr Guest House
The Dorr Guest House
#36 of 81 in Sandton
5 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 47 in Sandton
1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
1.6 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 47 in Sandton
1,013 reviews
1 mi away
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
#25 of 47 in Sandton
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathavon Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathavon Bed & Breakfast

Address: 34 Dion Close | Sandown Estates, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Sandton
Price Range: £27 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Strathavon Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 2004, this well-appointed Guest House is a haven in the busy Sandton Metropolis. It is just a short 5-minute drive from Sandton City. Strathavon Guest House is easily accessible via either the M1 motorway, the main link between Johannesburg and Pretoria or the N3 National Highway. OR Tambo International is approximately a half hour drive away. Willow Cottage (Max Occupancy 2 Adults): Willow Cottage is a private, fully contained, self-catering unit. Willow Cottage is complete with a full kitchen and open plan compact lounge area. There is a large master bedroom. The compact bathroom offers a shower, toilet and washbasin. Tambotie Suite (Max Occupancy 2 Adults): This is a beautiful large master bedroom, situated on the ground floor overlooking the gardens and fountain. The room has two single beds pushed together to make a king size bed. There is a large full bathroom en-suite. The Jacaranda Suite (Max Occupancy 2 Adults): The suite has a good sized bathroom with full shower and bath. The suite has its own television. Tea and coffee making facilities are available in the suite. The room has two single beds pushed together to make a king size bed. The Maroela Room (Max Occupancy 2 Adults): Is a comfortable and compact downstairs unit. The room furnished with a double bed. The bathroom is made up of a shower, toilet and washbasin. There is a television in the room, as well as facilities to make tea or coffee. This is a perfect room for the overnight visitor. The Fern Room (Max Occupancy 2 Adults): Is a comfortable and compact downstairs unit with an outside covered patio. There is a television, and tea and coffee making facilities in the room. The bathroom is made up of a corner bath, shower, toilet and washbasin. The Rose Room (Max Occupancy 1 Adult): The Rose Room is the smallest unit out of six units offered at Strathavon. This budget room is not only affordable, but offers the overnight guest all that they require. The single bed in the room is accompanied by a small desk/dressing table. There is television, and tea and coffee making facilities in the room. The bathroom is made up of a shower, toilet and washbasin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Strathavon Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathavon Bed & Breakfast Sandton, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing