We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

““Not Impressed, Not Recommended"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ash Manor Guesthouse
Ranked #22 of 72 Sandton B&B and Inns
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
““Not Impressed, Not Recommended"”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

The Accommodation pictures on the website are deceiving. It's certainly not a " Manor" it's a house with a garden to which an extention had been added to the house that has been converted into these "Rooms". An outbuilding to be exact.The picture of the house shown on the website is where the owners live, Its not where the rooms are. The Kira room is old and shabby. The "wireless in the room is rubbish and practically non-existent, the DSTV apologies what DSTV. There is no microwave in the kitchen. The conduct by the Owner Trish is completely unacceptable Trish is rude, clearly she has no idea of how the hospitality industry works and should not run a guest house. There is no phone in the room, I had to use my personal phone to contact the owner when necessary. I will never book here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JHB2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    6
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
3
5
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
istanbul
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

Ash Manor's rooms seem to be converted servants quarters. The pictures on the web are misleading. Albeit the rooms are beautiful and well furnished.
What was good:
lovely room - comfortable - gorgeous bath and nice and big - lovely bathroom facilities and well lit for make up etc. Bed has a heated blanket
The host Trish took great care to make me as comfortable as possible
What was ok:
Felt that the room was very isolated from the house - no phone or contact to a reception
Whilst the host made a huge effort to make me a lovely dinner and breakfast - compared to other venues it was simply not up to scratch and very poorly served
The TV in the room had shocking reception
Recommendations
Sort out the food - hire some support staff to make it feel like a B&B - make sure there is some kind of link to reception - panic button or something of this nature

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abatriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellville, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2011

This was my first and definately not last visit to Ash Manor Guesthouse. I was on a business trip and stayed for two nights. The host, room and services was excellent. Thank you Trish. This was really a home away from home. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColetteKuhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2010

My group of 10 stayed at Ash Manor during the World Cup. The hosts were spectacular and the guest house is beautiful. It's located in a gated residential area so you need a taxi or car to go anywhere but that was really the only drawback. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ekescher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandton
2.7 mi away
The Dorr Guest House
The Dorr Guest House
#29 of 72 in Sandton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.2 mi away
A Peaceful Retreat Bed & Breakfast
1.2 mi away
Fountain Hill Guest Lodge
Fountain Hill Guest Lodge
#6 of 15 in Bryanston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
21 Kingfisher
21 Kingfisher
#23 of 72 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
3.5 mi away
Claires of Sandton
Claires of Sandton
#1 of 72 in Sandton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
3.4 mi away
Le Petit Fillan Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ash Manor Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ash Manor Guesthouse

Property: Ash Manor Guesthouse
Address: 17A Ashley Avenue | Bryanston, Sandton 2191, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ash Manor Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ash Manor Guesthouse is situated in a beautiful park-like garden, which provides security, privacy and sophisticated tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ash Manor Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ash Manor Guesthouse Sandton, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing