We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Green Gables
Nearby Hotels
US$302
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$260
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sandton Sun(Sandton)
US$278
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$250
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Maslow(Sandton)
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$253
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$243
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Sandton(Sandton)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$627
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$599
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$237
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
23
9
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
9
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswholesome breakfasthome away from homeguest houseplace to stayhosts
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2013

It appears that nothing is too much trouble for Christopher and his team, as they go about their business making your stay as hassle-free as possible. The property itself is set in a quiet cul-de-sac, yet close to major freeways to get almost anywhere you need to in the northern suburbs as quickly as possible. Fantastically comfortable bed with crisp bedding, but the highlight for me was the spacious shower - not many allow me to shower freely without having to bend my head under the shower head - what a pleasure! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbh66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

A sudden medical emergency took my wife and I to JoBurg. Not much time to research accomodations. Green Gables is located near the Sunninghill hospital so appeared to fit our needs.
And it most certainly did!
First, our online experience. Christopher, the host, and Evelyn, his secretary, provided fast and accurate communication to all our questions. They arranged a driver to meet us at OR Tambo airport, communicated with our daughter when our flight was delayed and arranged for deferred payment because we arrived with no SA Rand.
Our accommodations were extremely comfortable and Christopher personally explained all the features and controls that might be needed. Our room had a kitchenette equipped sufficiently to allow us to cook several light dinners after our hospital visits. The bedding is first class, warm and comfortable (we were there for their winter; comfortable days but chilly nights). Radiant heat from the floor was warm but a bit different from the system we have at home. The room stays warm while sleeping (we prefer quite cool) but is slow to return in the morning.
Our housekeeper, Geneva, kept the room spotless and the dishes and glasses clean and put away.
Breakfast was light but fit our needs. Coffee, fresh croissants, meats and cheese and fruit. Porridge was offered, but this is something we eat when the temps are bitter cold. There is also cold cereal. Christopher seems to enjoy the opportunity to socialize during breakfast but he does not force conversation if you appear to need some quiet space.
We were not on vacation and so cannot comment on sites to see or things to do. Many in JoBurg advise against walking, however we walked every day to the hospital and to the local plaza for groceries and encountered almost no one. We would consider walking in the daylight a safe activity.
Finally due to family changes, we had to shorten our stay from what we had originally reserved. Christopher was immediately understanding, processed our adjusted costs. There was no penalty or hard feelings.
To close; If you need to stay in the Sandton area of JoBurg, you could not do better than to stay at Green Gables. The price is fair, the accommodations are excellent and the staff are among the most friendly we have ever encounter in our travels.

Room Tip: We enjoyed having a kitchenette. Suggest The Wagon Room. But all are quite and comfortable
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QuikAg80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Excellent bed and breakfast in a safe and quiet suburb in the Sandton area of Johannesburg. Wonderfully comfortable and well-maintained rooms and gardens, and a very welcoming host, which made for a restful and restorative stay. Convenient Gautrain bus stop less than 100m up the hill, made for a pleasant trip to the airport on my way out of South Africa (but note the bus doesn't run on weekends). Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Home from home convenient safe and a pleasure, well worth the stay

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chriswp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

I normally stay in 5-star hotels so Green Gables was really unusual for me. But I'm so glad I stayed. It made me realise how important 'connection' really is. And the host at Green Gables, Christopher Hughes, is a Master at it. He's a character — one that could well be on every travel show you see. My morning breakfasts with Christopher set me up so well for each day.

On top of that, this is a great environment with gorgeous gardens (they reminded me a little of Provence in France).

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulSDunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews