We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value for money”
Review of The Capital Moloko

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Capital Moloko
Ranked #23 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The rooms are spacious and the decor is impeccable. Very clean with all the mod cons. The hotel is set in a very quiet 'Cul-de-Sac' kind of location with a stream running 'through the property'? Close to all amenities...Sandton shopping centre. Shuttle service to and from the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbug849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcWachsberger, Manager at The Capital Moloko, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Moloko Executive Apartments and Hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Moloko, the service was exceptional, staff were friendly and beyond obliging. The room was beautiful and had everything we could have asked for, it was spotless. The facilities are so pretty, it felt like we were a million miles away!

Thank you for a great stay!!!!!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Candice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcWachsberger, Manager at The Capital Moloko, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Moloko Executive Apartments and Hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We were expecting a top class hotel, judging by the pictures and description as advertised on the website. Although the accommodation itself is more than adequate, neither the management, maintenance staff or security could assist us to operate the Airconditioning in both bedrooms. This resulted in 3 sleepless nights for my daughter, husband and myself. Staff at reception were somewhat disinterested. There was no working aircon in the gym. When we enquired about this, we were told someone would come to assist us. This never happened! Although the units are serviced daily, shelves in the lounge area were never cleaned! Other issues too .... Conference guests allowed to have a party very loudly in the parking lot in the earliy hours of the morning, mattress like a canoe ......Very, very disappointing!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Sheree L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcWachsberger, Manager at The Capital Moloko, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank-you for this constructive feedback and we apologies for your poor stay.

Since receiving your comments, we have investigated all matters thoroughly and addressed processes to ensure that these issues are not repeated.

I can only apologies and hope we have a chance to meet in the future where we can show you Moloko at its best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Let's think about it... You had a 12 hours flight, landed in the morning 9am, have worked until 6:30pm, and then go to your hotel to hear that your booking has been cancelled ?
I have been told that it is because the travel agency never secured the booking... When checking with the travel agency, it appears that if they are in the booking system it means that they do not need your credit card details. The hotel can say whatever they want to try to make it like it wasn't their fault, IT IS their fault and this is UNACCEPTABLE!!!

I stayed there before and the appartments are very nice (not the rooms). Clean and very quiet (as long as you don't have guests putting the music very loud), convinient location. Very small bar and you better don't talk to the waiters, they might ask you for a job... Restaurant was ok. They were anxious about getting the payment as soon as I checked in instead of taking a deposit like the other hotels, I should have wondered why...

But I won't take the risk to book there again, would be to scared to have to find a room in the evening again...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msa72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcWachsberger, Manager at The Capital Moloko, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

We have investigated this booking thoroughly and we have determined that the travel agent who made the booking is at fault for not providing us with correct contact details in order to secure a guaranteed booking.

It is standard hotel practice that non-guaranteed bookings be released at 6pm on the date of arrival. Our reservations department tried calling the phone number listed on the booking (no other contact details given) which number rang and then went engaged.

On arrival the guest was offered alternative rooms in the hotel at discounted rates as well as alternatives at our sister establishments.

We are therefore satisfied that we have followed hotel best practice for this booking but we of course regret that our clients were inconvenienced and frustrated with this booking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

A nice modern quiet hotel. A little out of the heart of Sandton. Rooms are modern and pretty well kept. Big soft bed with lots of pillows. Light switches are a little confusing. No iron in the room but delivered quickly when requested. Service for breakfast and diner was very good. The meals room always seems quiet. Front desk staff are helpful and friendly.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
Thank Matt_kal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcWachsberger, Manager at The Capital Moloko, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Thank you for your positive review.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Moloko Executive Apartments and Hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Last night I celebrated my company’s sixth anniversary at Moloko. The event went off very well, largely to the efforts of the team at Moloko.
Siya (Marketing) has held our hand for the past month, nothing has been to much for her to arrange, or assist with. She was in attendance last night making all our guests feel very special.
Johann and Sipho were pillars of strength in relation to ensuring the audio visual equipment was up and running as well as their enthusiasm and charm for the rest of the evening.
Alex did a splendid job with the food – really delicious.
The bar tenders, waiters and waitresses where attentive, warm and welcoming.
The transformation in the establishment from two years ago (noted not just by me last night) is incredible. You have a winning team on board who makes all guests feel as if they are being welcomed into their own hom. I can only wish the hotel and its staff everything of the best. We look forward to using the establishment again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeonieE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcWachsberger, Manager at The Capital Moloko, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Thank-you for this highly positive review.

We are so glad to see that the hard efforts of our team over the past 6 months are indeed resulting in our clients satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Moloko Executive Apartments and Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I am presently staying at the hotel and have been so impressed with the team's exceptional service and willingness to accommodate guests that I decided to write this review prior to checking out. The facilities are clean and tastefully decorated. The restaurant is a little too warm in the mornings but my request to cool it down was immediately accommodated. The barman, Khensani (hope I got that right), is exceptionally friendly, accommodating and professional. The CDP, Brian, makes a SUPERB steak - exactly to spec (and I'm very specific about wanting a rare steak). Overall, the food was absolutely fantastic with generous portions and quality ingredients. The restaurant manager in the evenings - Lenny - is a consummate hospitality professional who went out if his way to see that I was comfortable and taken care of as a single female traveller. My only criticism would be that there was no porter or doorman on my arrival (late check in at about 7:30pm) which means I had to lug my heavy bag out of the car myself.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaR00s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcWachsberger, Manager at The Capital Moloko, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Thank-you for your positive feedback and for staying with us at Moloko Executive Apartments and Hotels.

We do indeed have a porter at front desk. We will ensure that front desk is briefed to assist when our porter is assisting another client. Thank-you for this feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
1.5 mi away
The Capital Empire
The Capital Empire
#20 of 47 in Sandton
218 reviews
1.1 mi away
Faircity Falstaff Hotel
Faircity Falstaff Hotel
#22 of 47 in Sandton
163 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Maslow
The Maslow
#10 of 47 in Sandton
892 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 47 in Sandton
1,423 reviews
1.2 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capital Moloko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capital Moloko

Address: 160 Helen Road | Strathavon, Sandton 2196, South Africa (Formerly Moloko Executive Apartments and Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#20 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: £73 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Capital Moloko 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay serene. Stay where you count. All our guests at The Capital Moloko, enjoy complimentary parking, complimentary scheduled transfers to Sandton and complimentary Wi-Fi access. In fact, there is every modern convenience you would imagine - all with the surprise of a hidden garden of tranquillity; calm amid the noise and haste. The Capital Moloko is sublime - especially when it comes to our particularly personal service; quietly attentive; reassuringly exclusive; excellence in supreme hospitality. In fact, while The Capital Moloko is miles apart from any other experience, it's perfectly positioned close to thriving centre of Sandton - the premier 'capital' of South Africa for shopping, business and commerce. For those crucial conferences when business need smaller rooms for important matters to be discussed or the details of big deals to be thrashed out in detail, The Capital Moloko provides the ideal environment - including 3 meeting rooms (that can also used as private dining rooms), a lounge and a restaurant perfect for cocktails. It's a venue perfect for smaller, more intimate celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Capital Moloko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Capital Moloko Sandton, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing