We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Capital 20 West
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Can not complain ab this hotel. Price is aceptable , location is perfect . Hotel has a nice gym and swimming pool . A restaurant i have never used the service from during two visits using the services from this hotel . Parking widely available and underground parking gives you direct acces to elevators. Rooms are decent with all te bells and whistles , maybe cable tv could be organised in such a way that we would have all dstv channels and not oly a few of them . Room cleaning is done well and complimentary laundry service is apreciated and would even be more apreciated if shirts would be folded , think of your business guests who need to travel . As only negative comment ab this hotel i would critisize the architect who designed this hotel rooms have nearly no sun or day light and this just because the way this place was designed. I will surely be back soon and enjoy the good and friendly service the people of this hotel give me now i just have to hope they will let me check out late afternoon and not 10 am as my flight leaves in the evening and i have to work during the day and would apreciate if this hotel would let me either use my room or give me a room to freshen up before my flight this would make service near perfect as i receive in asian countrys when on a business trip there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcWachsberger, General Manager at The Capital 20 West, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Thank you very much for your continued patronage and your relevant feedback. I hope to welcome you back to 20 West soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

201 - 207 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2013

This hotel is magnificent! The staff is professional, very helpful & very friendly! The 2-bedroom apartment is fully equipped, spacious rooms, and beautifully decorated! We'll definitely be back! Thank-you 20 West!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharmaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcWachsberger, General Manager at The Capital 20 West, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us have this excellent feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back to 20 West in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Checked in here for three week stay. Main bedroom and bathroom smelled urine. Staff did attend to it quickly but was coming from ac vent so lingered. No sheer curtains in main bedroom so no privacy to road in first floor apartment. Noisy as faced busy street.
Brochure offers full 42 bouquet DSTV however could only offer about 36 and they were of inferior quality and not all of what was offered in the brochure.
Brochure and staff offer heated pool but when we asked were told it is not actually heated.
Ceramic tile flooring very cold.

Tried to use dishwasher provided but found it was not installed and staff seemed very confused by this.
No drawers provided in closets. Really not suitable for longer than night or two

Staff helpful but not able to solve issues and seemed puzzled at our requests

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor not facing main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcWachsberger, General Manager at The Capital 20 West, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

As per our previous email correspondence, thank you very much for the constructive feedback.

In order to ensure privacy we will be moving you to a higher floor tomorrow. Our interior decorators chose not to install voile curtains in the apartments. Two of the Satellite TV decoders had been in for repair. They have been returned today and are working again. The swimming pool is heated to 24 degrees and will be monitored as the weather changes. The dishwasher is now installed correctly.

I am quite confident that your stay with us until the 29.03.2013 will be a pleasant one and as discussed, feel free to contact me directly should there be anything else I can do for you to make your stay a more enjoyable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

from the Reception to the housekeeping ,everything is done with a smile.very mordern ,upmarket and safe.very close to Sandton City Mall and Mandela Square.If you are on business you are close to the business hub of Johannesburg.If you are on holiday ,then there area number of places to visit ,as this would be your centrel point for the Gauteng area.i have stayed in most of the upmarket places ,this one is the best.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MohamedRSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcWachsberger, General Manager at The Capital 20 West, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to 20 West in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We chose the hotel because it was close to avis office and in a safe part of the city. The room we got was tiny and the one window it had was facing a wall. The furniture were ikea style. The service at the check in was slow. We had to ask few times for towels and hairdryer which were missing. The restaurant downstairs was ok. Overall it was ok for one night but definitely will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelerIS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcWachsberger, General Manager at The Capital 20 West, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback. I have brought your comments to the attention of the management team. Even though you stay was as far back as October, the head of departments will take the time to discuss all the shortcomings with their staff in their staff meetings.
Our 2012 standard room rates were R895.00 per night which we believe was the best value for money in the Sandton area at the time. Our property also has suites which are more than double the size if you are looking for more space 80 m2 versus a 30m2 standard room.
I hope that we are able to welcome you back to 20 West in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

I stayed 4 nights at the Hotel and I love the place. The restaurant, the pool, the big park, the security of the place was great. The rooms are well equipped with a flat screen TV with all the local and international channels, a safe an walk in closet and a big shower. 10 min by Taxi from Mandela Square and Sondton City. Fully recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joao R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcWachsberger, General Manager at The Capital 20 West, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Thank you very much for your positive response. The 20 West team look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

I came to business trip to Jo'Berg and my company booked 20 West Apts, for me. I really loved the ambiance of the apartments and the kindness of their service. Rooms were pretty clean when i checked in. I am also impressed by the daily cleanliness. Staff working there were very co-operative. Next Time if i visit, i am damn sure, will stay at the same place.

To the management i have to say, Keep up the great work

regards
Senthil

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sierra_SS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcWachsberger, General Manager at The Capital 20 West, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2013

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. I hope that the 20 West team will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandton
0.7 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 47 in Sandton
1,430 reviews
0.3 mi away
Garden Court Morningside Sandton
1.4 mi away
The Capital Empire
The Capital Empire
#20 of 47 in Sandton
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.5 mi away
Westpoint Executive Suites
Westpoint Executive Suites
#19 of 67 in Johannesburg
210 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capital 20 West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capital 20 West

Address: 20 West South Road | Morningside, Sandton 2196, South Africa (Formerly 20 West Executive Apartments & Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Sandton
Price Range: £64 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Capital 20 West 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 West. Good for professionals. Take the executive decision. The Capital 20 West is the professional’s dream. Luxury hotel and apartment living in the heart of Sandton; walking distance from the financial capital of Africa. Surrounded by some of Sandton’s most desirable residence addresses, The Capital 20 West puts you where it really counts for a professional. It’s simple, spacious and contemporary living. With a heated pool, large gym, uncapped, fast Wi-Fi and a superb location, The Capital 20 West offers a quintessentially Sandton live, work, play experience. Stay for 1 night or 1 month, you’re guaranteed to enjoy what working and living in Sandton has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Capital 20 West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
20 West Executive Apartments Hotel Sandton
20 West Executive Apartments And Hotel
The Capital 20 West Sandton, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing