We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cappacinos not nice as they used to be” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gia's on Montrose

Gia's on Montrose
Ranked #89 of 208 Restaurants in Sandton
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sandton
1 review
“Cappacinos not nice as they used to be”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Have been there in the past nice food, good service and most amazing coffees esp cappacinos. But went there on the past christmas holidays food and service great as always but coffees not nice as they used to be. They used to make best coffees in Sandton, cappacinos with heart and flower decorations made with passion but recently u won't see that again. Will be back soon please retain the standard of your coffees esp cappacinos.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HendrickBotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, Owner at Gia's on Montrose, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Hendrick, it is with much disappointment that i read your review concerning the standard of our cappucino's. A coffee can certainly make or break one's meal, and I must apologise that your cappucino's you experienced at Gia's were less than satisfactory. I ensure you that they are back, better than ever! I hope you will accept our apology, and upon your next visit to Gia's, please introduce yourself to me in order for us to rectify that what was an unpleasant coffee experience. Hope to see you soon, kind regards Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    20
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sandton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

For those who have not eaten at this restaurant are in for a treat. The food is fresh and delicious and the service is top notch. We eat there at least twice a week and have never been disappointed. Wayne and Michelle, the owners have created a real gem of a restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Sandtonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, Owner at Gia's on Montrose, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Sandtonian, thank you so much for the wonderful review. We really appreciate that all the extremely hard work that goes into Gia's is in return appreciated by customers such as yourselves. Kindest regards, Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Serene Venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

What a lovely setting for a venue. Tucked away from the frantic Sandton traffic, Gia's is serene, with minimal decor - the garden/plants are a feast for the eye. Breakfast was a standard scrambled egg & bacon for 50 guests, so I would love to go back and try their normal menu. The coffee however, was sublime.
We came away peaceful and happy. Lovely way to start the day.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lizpowrie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, Owner at Gia's on Montrose, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Lizpowrie, thank you for your kind words, its always so encouraging to hear how guests enjoy Gia's and surrounds. We're very blessed to be here everyday. I am so happy to hear that the function was a success judging by your review. However, as you were not impressed with our coffee, I extend an invitation to you to have another coffee on the house as I am always proud of the excellent coffee my barista serves up. Also a great way to put a name to the face! kind regards, Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A garden oasis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Lovely breakfast menu and great coffee all set amongst lovely gardens.
If you are staying in Sandton and you are sick of the breakfast buffet at your hotel, then this place is perfect. It is just outside the Sandton CBD so it's not difficult to get too. Really is a lovely and relaxing way to start your day... I think this will become a regular Sunday breakfast spot for me!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, Owner at Gia's on Montrose, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Andrew C, thank you soooo much for those kind words! All credit must certainly go to our wonderful staff :) we look forward to seeing you here on a regular basis. Kind regards, Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The garden pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Sitting in the garden at Gia's, having coffee! various forms of croissant! hearing the birds! smelling the adjoining garden is a pleasure of transport into a sanctuary in the midst of the bustle of Johannesburg. An enchanting place on all counts.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sesphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, Owner at Gia's on Montrose, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Sesphd, thank you so much for your kind words. Such positive reinforcement just makes us glow with pride and encourages us to always go the extra mile for all our customers. I shall certainly be passing on your review to the rest of the staff, which will no doubt put a smile on their faces for the rest of the day :) Kind regards, Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gia's on Montrose also viewed

Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Gia's on Montrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing