We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and outstanding service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Piccolo Mondo

Piccolo Mondo
Ranked #5 of 211 Restaurants in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: True to its name, the Piccolo Mondo really is “a world in one”, combined with superb food, excellent wine and a sophisticated ambience. The Piccolo Mondo instantly turns your visit into a distinctive culinary experience.Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served seven days a week in this magnificent restaurant, which overlooks the Nelson Mandela Square.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food and outstanding service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Our group of four are staying at The Michelangelo Hotel and just finished enjoying a great meal and outstanding service. Everything we ordered was delicious Two of us had the ostrich and we both loved it. We all had the apple fennel salad and we all ordered the spectacular creme brûlée dessert. We loved the fun and dramatic presentation but more importantly it tasted so good......great way to end a lovely evening I highly recommend.this restaurant for a great dining experience

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LindaDiane5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopSommSA, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Linda Diane5

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your very positive comments on Trip Advisor.

Our main goal here is to delight all of our guests with great food and even better service so I am thrilled to hear that you experienced both, our creme brulee is probably the best in Africa and it usually creates what we like to call a "magic moment" for your dining experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some point, until then happy travels, and thanks again for your feedback it is very encouraging to my team and I.

Kind regards

Jeff Lopes

Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    88
    38
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
112 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Inconsistant meal quality”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

If you are looking to relax this is probably one of the better places in Sandton to do so. You cannot go wrong with the drinks menu or selection of teas. When ordering a meal such as a simple sandwich it is usually quite good and not so expensive. However, the quality of meals and certain deserts are inconsistent. Do give their crème brûlée a chance as it is very well presented and pretty good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopSommSA, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Gary G

Thanks very much for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor.

I am sorry to hear that you have experienced inconsistencies with our menu, judging by your comments and choice of dishes on the menu you have enjoyed our lounge area, the Chef and I would really like to ensure that this does not happen again in the future, so please the next time we host you, please make yourself know to any memeber of the team and we will personally ensure that you recieve the very best service which is what we strive to offer all our guests.

Thanks again for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards

Jeff Lopes

Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Average food and good service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

I dined here for breakfast and for a catered lunch meeting. The food was solidly average but the service was really pleasant and attentive.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cycloneusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopSommSA, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Cycloneusa

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor as always we value all our patrons feedback, I am truely sorry that you did not enjoy the food, the Chef and his team have noted your comments and will investigate all the possible reasons for this.

Thank you very much for the postive comment on our service team we are always very motivated and encouraged by such positive feedback.

Safe Travels

Jeff Lopes

Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
95 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Tasty meal in nice area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Piccolo Mondo is a lovely restaurant in Nelson Mandela Square, one of the top areas in town.

We tried several starters and main courses and my choices were excellent. I recommend the risotto with prawns, a good sized hot starter. Super tasty and fresh.

Then I had the tuna three ways which was excellent and very well presented.

My colleagues had pappardelle with mushrooms, the fish of the day and carpaccio among others and all loved their choices.

We had rose champagne and ended the meal with the typical springbok drink. I must say I don't like the ingredients per se but loved it there! And it was so nicely presented!

Reasonable prices, great service. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LadyinRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopSommSA, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear LadyinRome

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, we welcome all feedback and when it is as postive as yours it is really encouraging to my team and I.

The dishes you mentioned are our Chefs signature dishes so we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed them so much.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Piccolo Mondo very soon.

Safe travels

Jeff Lopes

Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
280 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Stunning restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Piccolo Mondo is really one of Johannesburg's top restaurants. Personally run by the owner, who treats you as if you are the best client he has ever had.
It's food, especially seafood, is superb and the service outstanding.
It is pricey but definitely worth the visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clive V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopSommSA, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Clive V

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your very positive review on Trip Advisor myself and the team here are really motivated and pleased that you had a great experience at
Piccolo Mondo.

Now that you have experienced what we are all about, we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Thanks for your support.

Kind regards

Jeff Lopes

Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Piccolo Mondo also viewed

Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Piccolo Mondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing