We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely atmosphere however overpriced”
Review of Piccolo Mondo

Piccolo Mondo
Ranked #7 of 215 Restaurants in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: True to its name, the Piccolo Mondo really is “a world in one”, combined with superb food, excellent wine and a sophisticated ambience. The Piccolo Mondo instantly turns your visit into a distinctive culinary experience.Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served seven days a week in this magnificent restaurant, which overlooks the Nelson Mandela Square.
1 review
“Lovely atmosphere however overpriced”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

The occasion: a friend's birthday. All the girls (15 of us) went for high tea. Price: R195pp (incl tea). Any other drinks are over and above this already high price. As an example, a small 200ml soft drink costs R30! Exorbitantly priced.

The service wasn't anything to write home about... We had to ask for drinks that we had ordered (but hadn't arrived) more than once.

The waiters start reminding you to leave from 16:30 so they can prepare for the dinner service. Nothing like having the staff willing you to leave their establishment to make you feel unwanted.

The music, courtesy of the man playing the piano, was lovely.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelCDW, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Caryn M,

Thank you for your feedback on your high tea as well as your comments on TripAdvisor.

Please allow us to apologize for the substandard service you received. This is not our usual standard. We strive for superior service at Piccolo Mondo and I can assure you that your comments have been taken into consideration and corrective measures are already in place. We have also contacted the guest who's birthday it was in order to extend our apologies. We do value your patronage and hope to welcome you back soon. We promise that you will receive the Piccolo Mondo experience you hope for.

On your next visit to the Piccolo Mondo please contact mdewet@legacyhotels.co.za and we will ensure that you are well taken care of.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    90
    42
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent person - Everisto Robbin”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I had recently booked the Piccolo Mondo restuarant for my sister's surprise babyshower. The ladies at the reception of PIccolo Mondo restuarant I must say are very unfriendly and off putting, rude and unhelpful.
But anyway we had a specific waiter his name is Everisto Robbin. He took care of us like royalty. My guests are really impressed and we really had a great time as well we were a group of 19 and he made sure we always had something to drink, cleaned up perfectly,kept the table in order, kept my guests happy, kept on checking if we were ok, he paid attention to detail. This guy is great, kind, courteous and excellent customer service, excellent friendly smile. amazing, we were so blessed to have him serving our table.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank malisha s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PiccoloManagement, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear malisha s
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, we welcome all feedback.
Your comments regarding our reception staff will be investigated and corrective action will be taken. On the plus side I am thrilled to hear that Everisto made your day, your review will be shared with all our staff to highlight how excellent service is rewarded by customer satisfaction.
Thank you for your support, we look forward to welcoming you back very soon
Regards
Piccolo Mondo Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the best ever”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Amazing food and great service. Eric was very friendly and he served the wine in a very unique way. It was weekday so we had a quiet, calm and perfect dinner, I loved it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JuMarques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PiccoloManagement, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear JuMarques
Many thanks for your personal feedback about Eric, he is a true asset to our team and I will definitely share your comments with him, happy to hear you enjoyed the food, wine and service.
Safe Travels
Regards
Piccolo Mondo Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Excellent attentive service and a great menu.”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

A great evening. An excellent setting overlooking NM Sq. Excellent menu and extensive wine list. Food was superb and the wine great.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PiccoloManagement, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear John P

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed both the food and wine selection, we look forward to hosting you again very soon.

Regards

Piccolo Mondo Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Vegetarians Avoid”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I decided to treat my wife for her birthday at Piccolo Mondo and although the restaurant have a good atmosphere I was rather disappointed with the menu. As a vegetarian I was surprised not to see any vegetarian dish on the menu and upon request I was offered a pasta meal with no parma ham. The dish was tasteless and must've been the worst pasta dish I've ever had and then still got charged for the full dish with parma ham. (I am sure with parma ham it could be a great dish but without it most certainly not)
However, my wife ordered lamb and was very impressed, the desserts at least made up for a rather unsatisfactory evening out.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PiccoloManagement, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Martin017

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that your lamb dish was a success
Our service and culinary team will ensure that we have a more comprehensive vegetarian offering available, freshly made to order.

Regards

Piccolo Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Piccolo Mondo also viewed

Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Bryanston, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Piccolo Mondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing