We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant to try”
Review of Bukhara Sandton

Bukhara Sandton
Ranked #26 of 225 Restaurants in Sandton
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Rabat, Morocco
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant to try”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Setup: Excellent
Waiter service: Excellent
Starters: Excellent
Main course: Try Chicken based meals (Mild).
I was invited to this restaurant by some of my friends. It was wonderful.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mounire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    134
    52
    25
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nelspruit, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, poor service”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had dinner at the Sandton Bukhara on Sunday 25/05/2014.

Our waitress delivered rather poor service. She did not introduce herself, was unfriendly, did not refill our glasses even though we had ordered a large bottle of water in addition to our drinks, did not provide us with napkins, failed to clean the table between starters, mains or desserts, and did not offer nor provide finger bowls or a wet towel to wipe our hands after the meal. It is noteworthy that other customers (with other waiters) had received much better service.

The food we ordered (tandoori lamb starter, butter chicken and lamb shank mains) were of outstanding quality.

It is a shame for such excellent food to be juxtaposed by unexpectedly poor service.

Helpful?
Thank Shahien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randburg
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent food and atmosphere”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We went there on my wives birthday and the atmosphere and food were incredible. This is coming from an Indian who knows his food. Recommend you book early to get a seat. Weekdays are less busy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 6 Contributor
2,434 reviews
837 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 970 helpful votes
“My favourite Indian restaurant in Johannesburg”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Well located in Sandton (Michelangelo Hotel), Bukhara serves up delicious Indian meals. The service is good, the ambience is buzzing and the food is fantastic.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ibadanboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The best Indian Restaurant in Johannesburg by a mile.”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I've been eating at the Bukhara restaurant for many years now and it just gets better and better. Food is perfect - the lamb shank is sensational - and the location, just off Mandela Square is as good as it gets. Their dosa's are also fantastic. A must-try!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bukhara Sandton also viewed

Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Bukhara Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing