We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, clean and well situated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
CedarWoods of Sandton
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good value, clean and well situated”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Cedar Park Hotel is very handy for Sandton and the M1 motorway to Pretoria and Johannesburg. Nothing fancy, but good accommodation - clean, well serviced and quiet, even though it's near the motorway. Nice gardens and a pleasant 'pub'. Didn't try the restaurant but others seemed to be enjoying their food.

Room Tip: Rooms are not large, but big enough. Not noisy but furthest from the street probably best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chantelle75, Public Relations Manager at CedarWoods of Sandton, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for choosing Cedar Park Hotel & Conference Centre as your accommodation of choice for your recent trip to Johannesburg. It is our goal to completely satisfy our guests on every stay, and value your opinion.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to welcome you back soon, in order for you to try out the Restaurant. Our menu has something for every taste, and we are sure that you will find the meals mouth watering.

Yours in Hospitality,
Chantelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    54
    15
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
5
5
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

On a business trip to Joburg I booked into this hotel, it is nothing special but it does the trick. The staff all are very friendly and try to please. The rooms are plain and could do with an update and upgrade. Parking is no problem an access to the motorway is fine. Disadvantage is that it is quite out of the way so one always has to drive if one wants to go out to eat, shop or any other activity.

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank_Frambach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chantelle75, Public Relations Manager at CedarWoods of Sandton, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for choosing Cedar Park Hotel & Conference Centre as your accommodation of choice for your recent trip to Johannesburg. It is our goal to completely satisfy our guests on every stay.

We value your opinion, and are pleased to inform you, that we have been hard at work upgrading our rooms, and will be unveiling our Mock-Up Rooms very soon!! We hope to welcome you back into a new room with your next visit!

Also remember that we have a Restaurant on site, with a menu for every taste, so do try that out upon your next visit.

Yours in Hospitality,

Chantelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I went to Jozi with my 2 kids and was looking for a family room. While the room was spacious, there was only 2 beds and supposedly a sofa bed. Fortunately we only used the room to crash at night. The soft furnishing needs to be replaced, it's quite faded and outdated. I can't say it was bad, but can't say it was particularly good. Being the "cheapo" in the family, probably I'd go back if I ever should need to travel again to Johannesburg, but would not dream of taking my husband there. Breakfast buffet is very good. The staff is very friendly.
All in all, considering the discounted price I paid, it was good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank princesslyka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chantelle75, Public Relations Manager at CedarWoods of Sandton, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for choosing Cedar Park Hotel & Conference Centre as your accommodation of choice for your recent trip to Johannesburg. It is our goal to completely satisfy our guests on every stay.

We value your input, and are very pleased to inform you that we have been working very hard with upgrades on our rooms, and will be unveiling our Mock-Up rooms soon! We hope to welcome you (and your husband) back very soon, as these rooms are sure to impress, at the same value for money!

Yours in Hospitality,
Chantelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
3.0 mi away
Park Inn Sandton
Park Inn Sandton
#27 of 47 in Sandton
755 reviews
2.9 mi away
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
#23 of 47 in Sandton
100 reviews
3.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Garden Court Morningside Sandton
3.4 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CedarWoods of Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CedarWoods of Sandton

Property: CedarWoods of Sandton
Address: 120 Western Service Road | Woodmead, Sandton 2196, South Africa (Formerly Cedar Park Hotel & Conference Centre)
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — CedarWoods of Sandton 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CedarWoods of Sandton offers 51 comfortable, air-conditioned bedrooms and suites with large bathrooms, all designed in four Modernised Townhouse styles to accommodate your comfort preference. The 'Modern' style is geared for the individual traveller and the 'Country' style is designed for relaxation and sophistication. Our 'King Leisure' rooms offer a cosy, home-like setting, and the 'Superior Deluxe' rooms provide ultimate size and luxury. All of these rooms offer a work station with international plug points, as well as free Wi-Fi connectivity, cable television, a safe, mini bar, and a complimentary tea/coffee maker. Also onsite is a relaxing, outdoor swimming pool, along with Cedars Pub & Restaurant, which offers an array of delicious meals and drinks in a casual atmosphere, surrounded by beautiful, lush gardens. The CedarWoods property is also highly acclaimed for its multi-functioning Conference Centre that contains nine air-conditioned banquet and conference rooms for all types of special events. The rooms can accommodate from 10 to 700 delegates and guests, and event services include in-house catering, an onsite gated and guarded parking lot with 400 parking bays available at no charge, free Wi-Fi, and a full special events staff that will ensure the success and enjoyment of your event. Shuttle service is available upon request between 6AM and 6PM, Monday through Friday and is complimentary for locations within a seven-kilometer radius, subject to availability. Shuttle service to Gautrain Shuttle at Marlboro and Sandton portals is complimentary, along with the Sandton City, Mandela Square, and Woodmead Retail Park shopping centres. Airport shuttle can be arranged as well at an additional cost. CedarWoods of Sandton, formerly known as Cedar Park Hotel & Conference Centre, has been operating and hosting guests for 12 years. The hotel has completely updated the style and feel of its rooms with the completion of recent renovations, and continues to keep focus on the well-renowned and trusted level of service. The convenient location of CedarWoods of Sandton offers easy access to national roads, the M1 Johannesburg-Pretoria highway, the Sandton Central Business District, is located on a direct route to the OR Tambo International Airport, and close to the Marlboro Gautrain Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your CedarWoods of Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
CedarWoods Of Sandton Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing