We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay with some suggestions...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Uk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good stay with some suggestions...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

I have stayed at this hotel before and enjoyed it. It is a lovely cozy and friendly place to stay. Food and wine is very good. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious. The safe didn't work in the room and it took 2 attempts to fix and then it had to be replaced. This meant we had to leave valuable items in the room on a few occasions. I would suggest checking it as soon as you arrive in the room. Although service is overall very good, some of the staff could do with being less apathetic and smile more! Internet is very expensive and only provides for 600Mb! Not much use for business travellers.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saffyleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Dear Saffyleo,

Thank you for your lovely comments about our property. We have listerned to your suggestions and are delighted to announce that free limitless internet is now available. We also recently renovated our rooms and all safes have been checked.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    114
    33
    9
    4
See reviews for
36
33
18
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

when i saw the hotel i was so pleased. its cozy, neat and central. then i realised the morning i had to check out. they stole my wallet. at my hotel room. i reported it and one of the managers was very dispondant! that to me, means some of the staff are thieves !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! . i had to keep phoning them for feedback as i had left due to it bieng imperative to be at work. i was nearley stranded at the airport because i realised my ID document was stolen when i was there. thank goodness i was very early and the flight managers assisted me boarding!!!!!! disgustedbecause i trust the southern sun brand and this is what happened to me.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dawn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at the Southern Sun Katherine Street. It was a great first stop in our SA trip.We immediately relaxed and felt very comfortable after a very long flight. It is ideally located near a hugh mall, lots of variety of shops. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The restaurant was excellent. Great variety of food on the menu and we experienced some of our first SA wine, wine list had lots of good selections. The food was well presented and the chef and staff were very responsive to my dietary allergies. Everyone was very courteous and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Dear Joyce B.

Thank you for your lovely review of the hotel. I am glad we exceeded your expectations in all areas. We love what we do, and we are very passionate about guest satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you back to South Africa in the near future!

Wilma Swart
General Manager
Southern Sun Katherine Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

We needed a peaceful, relaxing and "calming" environment during our 8 night stay. and this hotel offered us all of that ! We had a really outstanding hotel experience and thank ALL the staff who were ALL exceptionally helpful and friendly. Always greeted with smiles and available to help and keen to please. The evening drinks at reception is a fantastic touch - well done! and just smooths off the end of a rough day. The food was outstanding and thanks to the Chef for his voluntary special attention. We were in a home from home environment , comfortable , pretty, calming and friendly. Who wants to go home after all this 5 star treatment !! A special mention for Pindi, Thabo, Rob Brown, Jacob Lucia, Zikhona, Tumi, Enos and of course Elvis. Hope to stay here again when next in Jhb.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiknEle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine080, Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear MiknElne

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experiences whilst staying with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that we made you feel like you were at your own home.

Our team is very proud of their friendly service and will be so grateful for your compliments. We look forward to welcoming you back, and please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you have any special preferences.

Warm regards
Yolande Coetzer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

The hotel feels more like a home. As a president member of southern sun frequent guest, I got upgraded to presidential room every time. The service is average and the breakfast is not so great compared to other southern sun hotels.

The parking is free and I will prefer this hotel if I have a long stay in Johannesburg

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RanjitKodali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine080, Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Dear Ranjit Kodali

Thank you for your wonderfull review of our property, we are delighted that you enjoyed the suites. I am pleased to inform you that we are in the process of renovating these suites, and we have already completed two blocks. This project will be completed in February next year, but please feel free to request one of these during your next stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards

Yolande Coetzer
Assistant General Manager
Southern Sun Katherine Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

Southern Sun Katherine Street is centrally located in Sandton and close to Gautrain, Sandton City, links to freeways etc

Staff are always helpful and accommodating. One of the best restaurants in JHB is on site - Kelsey's which is perfect if you are traveling alone to stay in the hotel and have high quality food and wine. Athol Square is directly opposite the hotel and home to The Grill Room - one of the best steak restaurants in JHB

Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalTraveller829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine080, Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Dear Pascal C

Thank you for your wonderful feedback on Trip advisor, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are please to announce that we are in the process of refurbishing our rooms, which includes an update on all furniture and fittings.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards

Yolande Coetzer
Assistant General Manager
Southern Sun Katherine Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kigali, Rwanda
Level Contributor
144 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

Good Southern Sun franchise. While the room I stayed in would be well served with a bit of updating, the hotel makes up its motel-like set-up (car parks under and in front of the rooms) with an extremely friendly and professional service and an excellent location. A free shuttle service is available to and from Nelson Mandela Square at Sandton City shopping mall, which in any case is only a few hundred meters away. Conferencing facilities were adequate and the restaurant lived up to Southern Sun standard, both for breakfast and dinner. If you want to combine work and shopping in Johannesburg, this is certainly a good address for a reasonable price.
The rooms are well appointed and the TV's show a large DsTV selection, including all sports channels.
While smoking rooms remain available, the restaurant (of course and rightly so) and even the outside terrace are smoke free zones. Being aware that we are now even in Africa following more and more intolerant non-smoking policies, outside areas should in my view at least partially be kept smoker friendly. This hotel bans smokers to the pool or to some forelorn garden table in the scorching sun.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pascal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this review, 30 September 2012
Dear Pascal,


Thank you very much for your lovely review. You will be delighted to hear that we are in the process of refurbishing all the outside rooms with new carpets, curtains, furniture, Flat screen TV's and new airconditioners. We have finished our first block already and hope that on your next stay you will stay in one of these new luxurious rooms.

Warm Regards

Wilma Swart
General Manager
Southern Sun Katherine Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.7 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#3 of 47 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn Sandton
Park Inn Sandton
#27 of 47 in Sandton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton

Property: Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton
Address: 115 Katherine Street, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everyone from sportsmen to business travelers is attracted to the Southern Sun Katherine Street Hotel in Sandton for its elegance, proximity to Sandton's attractions and welcoming atmosphere. Executive suites have their own kitchenette and dining area, perfect for the traveler staying a bit longer to truly explore the city. The intimate conference facilities are ideal for private business meetings and the restaurant and bar offer a relaxing place to unwind after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton Hotel Sandton
Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing