We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel for business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2013

I have stayed here a couple of time before. Good hotel for my business needs and location. Rooms are a good size, clean, modern. Shower good.

Has a pool but small and you will be watched by everyone in the bar and restaurant.

Restaurant run by an English guy. Food is very good. Wine also. Steak and fish brilliant and not expensive.

Only small down side is checking in. Both times very very slow. Internet expensive and not many options available when I was there

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Dear Simon C,

Thank you so much for your review. I am delighted to hear that you experienced the magic of our "best kept secret in Sandton" Property!

We pride ourselves on the tailormade service and the wonderfull personalised service the restaurant offers.

I am also happy to inform you that as off the 1st of April, we will be offerening our guests complimentary internet access.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards

Wilma Swart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (330)
There are newer reviews for Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2013

Situated pretty central. In the heart of Sandton and about a three (3) minute drive to Sandton City. Stayed in the suited - nice room with a decent sized lounge and TV's in the lounge and room.

PROS
* Big Room
* Comfortable Bed
* Private Balcony
* Decent Breakfast spread

CONNS
* Far from the main part of the hotel (breakfast room)
* It's not a typical hotel, with only a few rooms as part of it's main section and the suites are seperate units - though this may appeal to some.
* Private balcony is almost on top of the room next door.
* The "complimentary drinks fridge" had nothing in it? So much for that idea.

Room Tip: Suites are nice options if affordable.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustinAsher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Dear JustinAsher

THank you for your lovely review. Yes, we pride ourselves on being a quiet haven in the middle of the rushed Sandton. Our rooms are bigger than a normal hotel room and the seperate lounge and dining area with kitchenette makes it ideal for long stays and for travellers who enjoy extra space.

Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

I have stayed at this hotel before and enjoyed it. It is a lovely cozy and friendly place to stay. Food and wine is very good. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious. The safe didn't work in the room and it took 2 attempts to fix and then it had to be replaced. This meant we had to leave valuable items in the room on a few occasions. I would suggest checking it as soon as you arrive in the room. Although service is overall very good, some of the staff could do with being less apathetic and smile more! Internet is very expensive and only provides for 600Mb! Not much use for business travellers.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saffyleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Dear Saffyleo,

Thank you for your lovely comments about our property. We have listerned to your suggestions and are delighted to announce that free limitless internet is now available. We also recently renovated our rooms and all safes have been checked.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

when i saw the hotel i was so pleased. its cozy, neat and central. then i realised the morning i had to check out. they stole my wallet. at my hotel room. i reported it and one of the managers was very dispondant! that to me, means some of the staff are thieves !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! . i had to keep phoning them for feedback as i had left due to it bieng imperative to be at work. i was nearley stranded at the airport because i realised my ID document was stolen when i was there. thank goodness i was very early and the flight managers assisted me boarding!!!!!! disgustedbecause i trust the southern sun brand and this is what happened to me.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dawn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at the Southern Sun Katherine Street. It was a great first stop in our SA trip.We immediately relaxed and felt very comfortable after a very long flight. It is ideally located near a hugh mall, lots of variety of shops. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The restaurant was excellent. Great variety of food on the menu and we experienced some of our first SA wine, wine list had lots of good selections. The food was well presented and the chef and staff were very responsive to my dietary allergies. Everyone was very courteous and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2012

Dear Joyce B.

Thank you for your lovely review of the hotel. I am glad we exceeded your expectations in all areas. We love what we do, and we are very passionate about guest satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you back to South Africa in the near future!

Wilma Swart
General Manager
Southern Sun Katherine Street

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We needed a peaceful, relaxing and "calming" environment during our 8 night stay. and this hotel offered us all of that ! We had a really outstanding hotel experience and thank ALL the staff who were ALL exceptionally helpful and friendly. Always greeted with smiles and available to help and keen to please. The evening drinks at reception is a fantastic touch - well done! and just smooths off the end of a rough day. The food was outstanding and thanks to the Chef for his voluntary special attention. We were in a home from home environment , comfortable , pretty, calming and friendly. Who wants to go home after all this 5 star treatment !! A special mention for Pindi, Thabo, Rob Brown, Jacob Lucia, Zikhona, Tumi, Enos and of course Elvis. Hope to stay here again when next in Jhb.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiknEle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine080, Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

Dear MiknElne

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experiences whilst staying with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that we made you feel like you were at your own home.

Our team is very proud of their friendly service and will be so grateful for your compliments. We look forward to welcoming you back, and please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you have any special preferences.

Warm regards
Yolande Coetzer
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

The hotel feels more like a home. As a president member of southern sun frequent guest, I got upgraded to presidential room every time. The service is average and the breakfast is not so great compared to other southern sun hotels.

The parking is free and I will prefer this hotel if I have a long stay in Johannesburg

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RanjitKodali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine080, Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Dear Ranjit Kodali

Thank you for your wonderfull review of our property, we are delighted that you enjoyed the suites. I am pleased to inform you that we are in the process of renovating these suites, and we have already completed two blocks. This project will be completed in February next year, but please feel free to request one of these during your next stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards

Yolande Coetzer
Assistant General Manager
Southern Sun Katherine Street

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.9 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 46 in Sandton
901 reviews
0.7 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 46 in Sandton
1,331 reviews
0.8 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton

Address: 115 Katherine Street, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: £96 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everyone from sportsmen to business travelers is attracted to the Southern Sun Katherine Street Hotel in Sandton for its elegance, proximity to Sandton's attractions and welcoming atmosphere. Executive suites have their own kitchenette and dining area, perfect for the traveler staying a bit longer to truly explore the city. The intimate conference facilities are ideal for private business meetings and the restaurant and bar offer a relaxing place to unwind after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton Hotel Sandton
Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing