We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After nearly a year they remembered my name”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
East London, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“After nearly a year they remembered my name”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I cannot fault this hotel. After not visiting for nearly 12 months the front of house staff remembered my face and name - outstanding! (even though I had not misbehaved the last time :) ). From the welcome by the staff ... to the room being fresh and stocked with current magazines ... to the driver who transported me to and from Sandton City. They all made me feel like much more than just a guest. I will definitely recommend and return to this "more than a" hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AfricanFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear AfricanFish,

Thank you for your lovely review. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and that the staff exceeded your expectations.

We sure hope to see you sooner than 12 months this time!

Warm Regards

Wilma Swart
General Manager
Southern Sun Katherine Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    121
    36
    10
    4
See reviews for
38
33
18
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Check in was smooth, front desk was cool and professional..The hotel was very upscale and definitely a good choice.

Pro's- Rooms were spacious and had all you needed
Taxi's on property (mercedes) 24/7..No need to search for a taxi
Complimentary breakfast was whatever you wanted
Definitely upper scale
Location
Con's- Gym is a bit small

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSol77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear Addis Ababa,

I was delighted to read your lovely comments regarding your recent stay at the Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our offering and that we could make your stay a memorable one.

Warm Regards

Wilma Swart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

I stay at this hotel whenever I travel on business and highly recommend it to anyone for business or pleasure. Every staff member at this hotel has one thing in common - they are all focussed on making your stay memorable. From Reception to the the shuttle service - all of them are polite and so helpful that even though I have stayed here before, I am always (pleasantly) surprised at the service! It is a great location because you can walk across the street to Atholl Square and the hotel shuttle will transport you to and from Sandton City if you wish to indulge in some serious shopping or eating. It is also a whisper away from the Sandton Gautrain station - call the hotel and the shuttle will collect you from the station (15mins by Gautrain from Oliver Tambo International Airport!! yay!!) I cannot think of staying anywhere else in Sandton. Well done guys! I am always happy to return.

Room Tip: I like the rooms on the ground floor for ease of access. If you are on holiday ask for a room facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leo_travelCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear Leo,

Thank you so much for the lovely feedback on your stay experience.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff have impressed you with their customer service focus.

We sure look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warm Regards

Wilma Swart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maputo, Mozambique
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Stayed for one night on a bussiness trip. The whole stay from check in to check out was pleasant, effortless and hassle free. The people at reception are professionals and know how to handle bussiness check inns. I needed to change my room and this was done without any hassle and with a smile.

I recommend and will stay there again next time in JHB,.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moz-Nguni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear Mopz-Nguni,

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your recent stay at our Hotel. I am delighted to hera that you had a memorable stay and sure look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm Regards

Wilma Swart
General Manager
Southern Sun Katherine Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Last month we had the pleasure to stay at the Southern Sun Katherine street, Sandton.
Not only did we have the chance to check in early after the long flight, but were upgraded for all of the 3 rooms,including a special attention for an anniversary couple in one of the suites.. What a fantastic way to start a holiday. Special thanks to the GM. Ms Swart and her lovely staff to make this happen. The hotel is very well located and a free shuttle takes you to sandton square in no time. The restaurant,Kelsheys, on the premises, is also highly recommended by our group.
Will shoose this great hotel again next trip.
Michel van Molle
Brussels belgium

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelv994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear Michel,

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we left you with a memorable experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards

Wilma Swart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

I have stayed here a couple of time before. Good hotel for my business needs and location. Rooms are a good size, clean, modern. Shower good.

Has a pool but small and you will be watched by everyone in the bar and restaurant.

Restaurant run by an English guy. Food is very good. Wine also. Steak and fish brilliant and not expensive.

Only small down side is checking in. Both times very very slow. Internet expensive and not many options available when I was there

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Dear Simon C,

Thank you so much for your review. I am delighted to hear that you experienced the magic of our "best kept secret in Sandton" Property!

We pride ourselves on the tailormade service and the wonderfull personalised service the restaurant offers.

I am also happy to inform you that as off the 1st of April, we will be offerening our guests complimentary internet access.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards

Wilma Swart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Situated pretty central. In the heart of Sandton and about a three (3) minute drive to Sandton City. Stayed in the suited - nice room with a decent sized lounge and TV's in the lounge and room.

PROS
* Big Room
* Comfortable Bed
* Private Balcony
* Decent Breakfast spread

CONNS
* Far from the main part of the hotel (breakfast room)
* It's not a typical hotel, with only a few rooms as part of it's main section and the suites are seperate units - though this may appeal to some.
* Private balcony is almost on top of the room next door.
* The "complimentary drinks fridge" had nothing in it? So much for that idea.

Room Tip: Suites are nice options if affordable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinAsher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Dear JustinAsher

THank you for your lovely review. Yes, we pride ourselves on being a quiet haven in the middle of the rushed Sandton. Our rooms are bigger than a normal hotel room and the seperate lounge and dining area with kitchenette makes it ideal for long stays and for travellers who enjoy extra space.

Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.9 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 47 in Sandton
880 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.7 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#14 of 47 in Sandton
1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton

Property: Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton
Address: 115 Katherine Street, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everyone from sportsmen to business travelers is attracted to the Southern Sun Katherine Street Hotel in Sandton for its elegance, proximity to Sandton's attractions and welcoming atmosphere. Executive suites have their own kitchenette and dining area, perfect for the traveler staying a bit longer to truly explore the city. The intimate conference facilities are ideal for private business meetings and the restaurant and bar offer a relaxing place to unwind after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton Hotel Sandton
Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing