We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Sandton, South Africa
1 review
“Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

I wish that your bed cleaners could do the proper bed change when they change the linen so people dont get all this bad expirience that i went through because your hotel is one of the best.Otherwise you have a good reception that is so warm

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Martha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Martha R,

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted to see you enjoy all the property has to offer. On your next stay please make contact with the Executive Housekeeper so we know exactly how you would like your bed made.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards

Wilma Swart
General Manager
Southern Sun Katherine Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    110
    33
    9
    4
See reviews for
35
30
18
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I have always loved Katherine Street for the provacy it affords me. One can actually go in and out without being seen by anyone except the security guard. The units are also independent and big enough for one to be able to make a long stay without feeling trapped or suffocated.

The environment, although in the busy Sandton, makes it easy to forget that you are actually in town because you do not see anything of the outside world.

This is my preferred stay when in Johannesburg

Room Tip: Always request to stay in the outer independent units, NOT in the main building. Your privacy will b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tebogo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Tebogo,

Thank you so much for your lovely review.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the privacy of our outside units and that you experienced the tranquility of the hotel whilst in Sandton.

We sure look forward to welcoming you back soon.

regards

Wilma Swart
General Manager
Southern Sun Katherine Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I enjoy staying at this hotel as it is very easily accessible from all major roads especially if you do not stay in this province or your knowledge of Johannesburg and Sandton is limited. It is small enough to be cosy and intimate without the feel of bigger hotels where you are lost in the crowd and just become a number. The service is personal and the rooms offer the warmth of a classical style yet with all the modern facilities. I recommend the suites and units that offer a degree of self catering ability. This is one of the few hotels that offer you a stand alone shower and bath as opposed to those clumsy arrangements where your shower is in your bath and you have to use a horrible shower curtain that leaves your bath drenched in water. I was here for business and enjoyed my stay and this is one of my hotels of choice in Johannesburg.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Lubabalo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Lubabalo M,

Thank you so much for the lovely review you posted on the hotel.

I am delighted to hear that the intimate ambiance that we aim to provide, appealed to you and made your business trip so comfortable.

We sure hope to be welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards

Wilma Swart
General Manager
Southern Sun Katherine Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Within close proximity to all that Sandton has to offer (ie Gautrain, business district, entertainment). Clean rooms, modern decor, excellent and friendly service, delicious food, great value for money...what more can you ask for?

Room Tip: Perhaps request a room on the second or third floor. I think these rooms in the main hotel would hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tsholofelo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Tsholofelo,

Thank you so much for your lovely review of our Hotel.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and all that Sandton has to offer.

We sincerely hope to be welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards

Wilma Swart
General Manager
Southern Sun Katherine Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed here recently with a young adult son. We picked this place because it had a 2 bedroom suite so he did not have to have a separate room, and because the location was close to shopping/Gautrain station. Also, we needed a place with a restaurant because we were arriving in the evening and did not feel comfortable going out to find a place to eat. I know Sandton is safe, but we just did not feel comfortable. We had already stayed in a similar hotel in another part of Johannesburg earlier in our trip to Africa and by comparison I have to stay we preferred the other place because the Southern Sun was not as friendly or convenient (location wise). When arriving it was unclear how to check-in. There were two desks with people sitting at them but they did not look up and invite us over, so we were not sure if that was where you were supposed to check in or if they were part of a business office. We had to awkwardly stand around until the porter came over to greet us and I asked where to check in. After we checked in the very friendly porter helped us find our room and get our luggage in, and asked if the check-in person had told us about the on-site restaurant, eating establishments nearby, etc. The check-in person had not, so he told us everything. If it had not been for the porter all we would have would be the room with no idea about the pool, restaurant hours, bar, business facilities, etc. and there was no "book" in the room that described the hotel services. It turned out that the hotel was a good distance from the Sandton shopping area it was located near, but the hotel had a free shuttle that was easy enough to use to get there. One minor oddity was that even though we had a two bedroom suite there was only one shower, which was ensuite with the twin bed bedroom. The master bedroom had a nice bathroom but only a bathtub. So overall the stay was nice, and the restaurant was very good, but the friendliness of the staff and convenience of location was less so than the hotel we previously stayed at in Rosebank, and the price of the Southern Sun was more.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Lisa B,

Thank you for your review on our Hotel.

I ammglad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the restaurant.

I will adress your concerns with regards to your check in with the relevant receptionist.

Warm Regards

Wilma Swart
General Manager
Southern Sun Katherine Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
94 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

This must be one of the best Southern Sun hotels. The concept is great and service is always very good.As a business hotel I always like to visit this place and have also been here when on holiday.The concept of having the rooms as apartments is great.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank henmo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Henmo67,

Thank you for your lovely review of the Hotel.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our apartment concept appealed to you.

We hope to be welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards

Wilma Swart
General Manager
Southern Sun Katherine Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richards Bay, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Check in to be more efficient. Consider having and taking phone call bookings outside the check in area(back office). It is not good reception when you come in and the person is on the phone taking a booking.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank FundiD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Fundi,

Thank you for your review of the hotel.

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. We have a dedicated reservations office in the back, but some times guests ask to speak to the reception person they know to make their booking exactly to their liking.

We sure hope to see you back soon!

Warm Regards

Wilma Swart
General Manager
Southern Sun Katherine Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.7 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
0.2 mi away
Park Inn Sandton
Park Inn Sandton
#27 of 49 in Sandton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 49 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton

Property: Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton
Address: 115 Katherine Street, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everyone from sportsmen to business travelers is attracted to the Southern Sun Katherine Street Hotel in Sandton for its elegance, proximity to Sandton's attractions and welcoming atmosphere. Executive suites have their own kitchenette and dining area, perfect for the traveler staying a bit longer to truly explore the city. The intimate conference facilities are ideal for private business meetings and the restaurant and bar offer a relaxing place to unwind after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, South African Hotels, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton Hotel Sandton
Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing