We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistant excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I have consistently received excellent service from Katherine Street Southern Sun and this one was the same. Great room, fabulous dining experience and a good welcome from staff. Wi-Fi connection was superb and staff very responsive to my needs.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank wimshisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Wimshisa,

Thank you so much for the wonderfull review.

I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards

Wilma Swart
General Manager
Southern Sun Katherine Street

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

This was not the first at this hotel but my expectations were surpassed this time around. The rooms looked spacious and the accessibility to the bathroom was easy. The kitchenette was clean and looked hygienic. the TV was easy to watch while in bed. I came here without prior arrangement but the manner in which I was helped was excellent!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Kwaito1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Kwaito1957,

Thank you so much for your lovely review about your stay experience at Southern Sun Katherine Street.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and all the unique features of our rooms.

We sure hope to see you back soon!

Warm Regards

Wilma Swart
General Manager
Southern Sun Katherine Street

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We often visit Johannesburg and stay in the Santon area because of the short distance to the Gautrain the shoping centre and our work commitments. This hotel answers to all of the above. We found our room clean and well maintained. The price was reasonable and we will return upon our next visit.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lionel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Lionel,

Thank you so much for your lovely review on our hotel and your recent stay.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you find out extra spacious rooms so conducive to your business needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards

Wilma Swart
General Manager
Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend... for the price, I was expectin a lot more... rooms require urgent upgrading... the hot water shut off after 1 person had a bath...the hotel is crying out for an upgrade... I have stayed at many Southern Sun hotels before, but this was very disappointing.....give it a miss

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asish_Maharaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Asish,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor about your stay.

I am very disturbed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. You were in one of the remaining 40 rooms that have not been refurbished yet. All our other rooms have undergone a refurb recently and these 40 rooms will be done early in next year.

I would love to invite you back to stay with us on your next trip to Sandton on a complementary basis. Hopefully this will give you the opportunity to experience our newly refurbished rooms.

Please contact me directly should you wish to make use of this invitation and I will gladly make the necessary arrangements for you.

Warm Regards

Wilma Swart
General Manager
Southern Sun Katherine Street
wilma.swart@tsogosun.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Excellent stay at Katherine street . Staff always friendly and helpfull and very professional and tidy in their uniforms.Rooms comfortable and very clean.Special thanx to Nelson and the shuttle service, always just a phone call away.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Anjs T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Anjs,

Thank you so much for your lovely review about our Hotel.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the staff to be performing at the high level we aim to provide to our valued guests.

We sure hope to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards

Wilma Swart
General Manager
Southern Sun Katherine Street

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Despite the construction that is happening along the road in front of the hotel, the service is still of very high quality and the property is in close proximity to certain places of interest and business complexes. The hotel is strategically placed in Katherine street. It definitely gives value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Matlhogonolo827 M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Matlhogonolo827M,

Thank you for your lovely review on our Hotel.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also looking forward to the council completing the expansion of the entire Katherine Street but understand that they need to do this in order to create a designated bus lane.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards

Wilma Swart
General Manager
Southern Sun Katherine Street

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Rooms are very clean.. Hotel stuff are very kind and very good services
I would highly recommend to try and stay at this hotel during your visit to Sandton..you won't worry for anything there... Excellent hotel

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Wassim_Adra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Wassim Adra,

Thank you so much for your lovely review of Southern Sun Katherine Street in Sandton.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff saw to your every need.

We sure look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm Regards

Wilma Swart
General Manager
Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.7 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 47 in Sandton
1,423 reviews
2.4 mi away
Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Garden Court Morningside Sandton
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton

Address: 115 Katherine Street, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: £87 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everyone from sportsmen to business travelers is attracted to the Southern Sun Katherine Street Hotel in Sandton for its elegance, proximity to Sandton's attractions and welcoming atmosphere. Executive suites have their own kitchenette and dining area, perfect for the traveler staying a bit longer to truly explore the city. The intimate conference facilities are ideal for private business meetings and the restaurant and bar offer a relaxing place to unwind after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton Hotel Sandton
Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing