We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Sandton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton Sandton
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Sandton
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is a great hotel to stay. The rooms are spacious and clean, everything works well. Nice gym, great breakfast with super nice service. The only thing to improve is the front desk personnel. They are slow, non-responsive and make every request complicated. Other than that, great.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room facing the parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi K, Manager at Hilton Sandton, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Mr Luis E.,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Sandton and for sharing your valuable feedback with us. We greatly appreciate any comments made by you, and this time with regards to the amazing stay you had with us in particular.

Hilton prides itself with guests like you having the feeling of being at home while away from home. Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their well-being very seriously and always hope to meet and exceed our guests’ expectations.

Mr Luis E, please accept our apologies for the service received from our team. Please be assured that the matter has been addressed accordingly and corrective measures are going to be taken.

We are delighted to see that overall you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and I would like to thank you once more for the open and honest feedback. It is comments like yours which always makes all efforts truly worthwhile.

We all are looking forward to welcoming you back again to the Hilton Sandton in the near future. If I can be of any assistance to you in the meantime, please do contact me at any given time. It will be always a pleasure to assist.

Kind regards,

HEIDI KLEINE MOELLER I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    443
    214
    97
    60
See reviews for
108
203
80
735
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed here for a few nights at the end of May. Staff were really friendly and welcoming. The room was really spacious and comfortable with a very good selection at breakfast. Ordered room service though not impressive. Good location, close to train station and tours can be organised via concierge as late as the night before which came in handy. Would definitely stay here again when I return to Jo'burg. Loved the bed and bedding, so comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LDNisALRIGHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

The hotel is very impressive, very clean and put together. The staff is amazing very friendly and will help you with anything you need as crazy as it may seem.. you have a variety of food choices because you have 3 places within the hotel to choose from. Room service food is very good. The pool area has an amazing view to the city and there is a tennis court as well. The hotel is well situated walking distance to Mandela Square and the mall. Very close to restaurants and nice places around the area. It is also very safe.. truly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glo001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi K, Manager at Hilton Sandton, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Mr/Ms Glo001,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Sandton and for sharing your valuable feedback with us. We greatly appreciate any comments made by you, and this time with regards to the amazing stay you had with us in particular.

Hilton prides itself with guests like you having the feeling of being at home while away from home. Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their well-being very seriously and always hope to meet and exceed our guests’ expectations.

Mr/Ms Glo001, we are delighted to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and I would like to thank you once more for bringing to our attention the great service you had received from our team members and it will be my absolute pleasure to share the same with the team accordingly. It is feedback like yours which always makes all efforts truly worthwhile.

We all are looking forward to welcoming you back again to the Hilton Sandton in the near future.

If I can be of any assistance to you in the meantime, please do contact me at any given time. It will be always a pleasure to assist.

Kind regards,

HEIDI KLEINE MOELLER I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Room lacks ventilation. Hotel bill had mistakes. Shuttle bus driver is not accepting any criticism. HE was rude most of the time. The room windows didn't open. The air is stale. fruits are not fresh housekeeping lady felt like she is doing me a favor to clean my room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Maha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi K, Manager at Hilton Sandton, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Mr Maha M.,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Sandton and for sharing your valuable feedback with us. We greatly appreciate any comments made by you, and this time with regards to the amazing stay you had with us in particular. Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their wellbeing very seriously and always hope to meet and exceed our guests’ expectations.

However, it is with greatest concern to read that exactly that was not the case during your visit, for which I most sincerely apologize. Please be assured that your concern and open feedback is highly appreciate and always taken very seriously. I would like to apologize for the service you received and the frustration and dissatisfaction caused. Kindly allow me to comment on your points brought forward.

Mr Maha M., I do apologise for the actions of our team member from housekeeping and our driver. Behavior like this is not tolerated and is unacceptable. We have advised management of what has happened and the necessary actions have been taken.

With regards to the windows been shut this is done for security reasons. Should you wish for the windows to be opened, at check in please let us know and we will have them open for you for the duration of your stay.

When it comes to your invoice, I will come back to you soonest, after the matter has been investigated thoroughly.

Mr Maha M., I am truly sorry about any inconvenience and the frustration caused to you. Though I am not able to undo the negative impression received, I would highly appreciate if you would give us another chance to prove to you, that we can do much better than what you recently have experienced with us.

Please be assured we do look forward to a continued relationship with you, and to welcoming you back to the Hilton Sandton in sunny South Africa one day again.

In the meantime, if I can be of any further assistance for you, please do contact me at any given time. It will be always my pleasure to assist.

Yours sincerely,

HEIDI KLEINE MOELLER I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel makes me question my understanding of the hotel grading system! Shocking for a 5 Star establishment and not even worth a 3 Star grading! Service is shocking, food is not edible, zero customer service! Not worthy of its current grading and bad for the Hilton brand! Makes one question the effectiveness of the SA Tourism grading tool!

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Akona N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi K, Manager at Hilton Sandton, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Mr/Ms Akona N.,

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Sandton and for sharing your valuable feedback with us. Our main aim, being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their wellbeing very seriously and always hope to meet and exceed our guests expectations.

Mr/Ms Akona N, it is very obvious and with greatest concern to read that we failed to do so during your stay, for which I would like to convey my most humble apologies. Please be assured that your concerns and open feedback is highly appreciate and always taken very seriously.

Please be assured that the recent experience made is most definitely not the kind of service we pride ourselves with and we proudly as Hilton stand for. Hence I would highly appreciate if you could elaborate in a bit more detail in order for us to be able to investigate the matter further.

Mr/Ms Akona N., once more you have my most sincere apology for the service you received and the frustration and dissatisfaction caused. Though I am not able to undo the negative impression received, I would highly appreciate if you would give us another chance to prove to you, that we can do much better than what you recently have experienced with us.

Please be assured that we do look forward to a continued relationship with you, and we all are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Sandton in the near future.

In the meantime, if I can be of any further assistance for you, please do contact me at any given time. It will be always my pleasure to assist.

Yours sincerely,


HEIDI KLEINE MOELLER I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Spent a week in Joberg, staying at the Hilton. The hotel was clean, safe and secure. The staff was very attentive and helpful. Very close to Mandela Square and the mall, with great restaurants and places to eat. Next time I visit SA, I'll stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi K, Manager at Hilton Sandton, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Mr John J.,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Sandton and for sharing your valuable feedback with us. We greatly appreciate any comments made by you, and this time with regards to the amazing stay you had with us in particular.

Hilton prides itself with guests like you having the feeling of being at home while away from home. Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their well-being very seriously and always hope to meet and exceed our guests’ expectations.

Mr John J, we are delighted to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and I would like to thank you especially for bringing to our attention the great service you had received from our team . It is feedback like yours which always makes all efforts truly worthwhile.

We all are looking forward to welcoming you back again to the Hilton Sandton in the near future. If I can be of any assistance to you in the meantime, please do contact me at any given time. It will be always a pleasure to assist.

Kind regards,

HEIDI KLEINE MOELLER I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek, Namibia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

if you have a good standing credit card than this is the hotel to be. Just because its Sandton it doesn't mean 100% excellence. if you like peace and quietness this hotel is perfect the staff at conference facility; drivers and restaurant are friendly at all times.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Justine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi K, Manager at Hilton Sandton, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Ms Justine K.,

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Sandton and at the same time for sharing your valuable feedback with us. Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, we do take our guests and their wellbeing very seriously and always hope to meet our guests’ expectations.

Ms Justine K., if I may explain the process and Hilton Worldwide policy, at check in a credit card is required as a deposit for incidentals or you have an option of paying cash. It is our policy to block of services, like removing the mini bar, telephone, room service and restaurant if guests advise us that they do not have a credit card or cash at hand. However I do apologize, if our team members did not approach you in the right manner and our procedures were not explained to you properly. Please accept my humble apology.

Once more I thank you for your open and honest feedback. It is comments like yours which help us achieve our goals. Please be assured that we do look forward to a continued relationship with you, and we all are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Sandton in sunny South Africa in the near future.

In the meantime, if I can be of any further assistance for you, please do contact me at any given time. It will be always my pleasure to assist.

Yours sincerely,

HEIDI KLEINE MOELLER I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.5 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#4 of 49 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.6 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#3 of 49 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sandton

Property: Hilton Sandton
Address: 138 Rivonia Road, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sandton 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Southall Travel and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sandton Hotel Sandton
Hilton International Sandton
Sandton Hilton International
Hilton Sandton Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing