We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$307
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sandton Sun(Sandton)
US$292
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$250
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$243
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$204
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Sandton(Sandton)
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$247
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Maslow(Sandton)
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (688)
Filter reviews
688 results
Traveller rating
588
51
23
12
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
588
51
23
12
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbutler serviceluke dale robertspresidential suiteafrican artthe main hotelhigh teaprivate residencenelson mandelamolton brown toiletriesterrace restaurantboutique hotelfour seasonsgorgeous hotelcape townan oasisworld classspent one night
Filter
Updating list...
471 - 476 of 688 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I was in Johannesburg for only one night and had to attend an evening award ceremony. I had the pleasure of staying at the Saxon. The itinerary for this visit was jampacked. The staff at the Hotel made the whirlwind visit to Johannesburg an absolute breeze. Transfers to and from the Gautrain and from Pretoria to the Hotel late at night was always on time and well planned. I would like to make special mention of the exceptional service rendered by Claude. He is part of the Butler staff at the Hotel. He organised a replacement formal shirt within the hour after I realized that I have left mine in Cape Town. His service was simply outstanding. My only regret is the fact that I could not have stayed longer to thoroughly enjoy this beautiful property. I can highly recommend this Hotel for business and leisure travelers alike.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pieter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George C, Managing Director at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Pieter V,

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you received the true Saxon Butler service, with the attention to detail we offer our guests. I have relayed the message to Claude and we will applaud him for his intuitive and attentive service. We are truly humbled at your wonderful praise of our hotel and I have shared this with all our team members.

I hope to welcome you back again very soon and on your next visit please do let sales@saxon.co.za know as we would love to make you feel even more at home with us.

Kind regards
George Cohen, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Went for High Tea at The Saxon. It's a beautiful hotel, the reception is great, however, the same cannot be said about their high tea. For a hotel of its magnitude, the experience was rather average. The service was equally average, with the waiter rarely around, tea was cold, not a worthwhile experience. It's very important to always offer guests a worthwhile experience, especially when you build a reputation of high standard. I think they could do better.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Itumeleng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George C, Managing Director at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear Itumeleng,

I sincerely apologise for the experience you had with us during your High Tea. We are currently in the process of changing our High Tea offering and improving tremendously on the service and overall experience.

In addition, we have trained two of our team members to become tea sommeliers and they will offer a large selection of luxury teas and are skilled in the art of tea presentation. I would encourage you to please join us again in the near future for our new High Tea and we appreciate your constructive feedback that you have offered us.

We can only learn from this and improve on the service we offer you as one of our valued guests.

Warm Regards,
George Cohen

Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We decided to celebrate our 17th anniversary in style at the Saxon. The service is of the highest standard. When we arrived we were upgraded to a villa. The room is very spacious and beautiful with lots of nice surprises. The food was also excellent to say the least. The gardens, views of the city and the hotel is breathtakking. Thank you for making our anniversary very special.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George C, Managing Director at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Marinda C,

My team and I are delighted to read that you had a wonderful anniversary celebration with us and I thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review and for your recommendations. Wishing you many more happy years and on your next visit please do let sales@saxon.co.za know as we would love to make you feel even more at home with us.

Kind regards
George Cohen, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Saxon is an outstanding hotel and provides an exemplary level of service and comfort in blissful peace despite being conveniently located for the City. However, having visited a few times previously, there was no particularly good reason to eat at the hotel as the food was fine but not on a par with the rest of the property.

However, with the opening of 500, this has changed. The new restaurant situated on the first floor adjacent to the Nelson Mandela suite is well appointed with 20(?) covers and a chef's table, where we dined. The food is probably not only the best in Africa but comparable to any top restaurant in Europe or North America. Preparation and presentation and produce were faultless in all dishes offering imaginative but not outlandish combinations, edging on the molecular but with the honesty pioneered by Noma and the Nordics. The wine pairing was similarly imaginative covering a broad spectrum of geographies and perfectly matching each course. Service from the kitchen and the waiting staff was enthusiastic with clear pride in what is being presented. Bravo, it makes the Saxon complete.

The spa is also outstanding and we had a wide range of treatments during our stay all of which were perfectly executed and with a weakening Rand, offering extremely good value.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nowvoyager1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George C, Managing Director at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear nowvoyager1,

I speak on behalf of Executive Chef David Higgs and his fantastic team at Saxon five hundred, when I thank you for this wonderful review of the restaurant.

Five hundred is the Saxon's experiential restaurant, based on the intriguing concept of food, wine and art. The chefs interact with guests and serve a unique gallery of artistic cuisine and wine pairings. The menus reflect the chefs' passion and inspired ideas, showcasing the freshest ingredients, simplicity and superior flavour.

We are all delighted you enjoyed the experience with us and on your next visit please do let sales@saxon.co.za know as we would love to make you feel even more at home with us.

Kind regards
George Cohen, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Most likely my best hotel experience! Amazing. Rooms are enormeous with double sinks and closet. All amenities and confortable. Truly special, icluding a very confortable bed. Stunning pool with great outdoor tables for a superior dining experience. Very quiet and clean place. Elegant, serene. Impeccable service.
Perfect!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George C, Managing Director at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear Andrea N,

We are delighted to read that you have named The Saxon as your #1 hotel experience. Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review and for your recommendations.

On your next visit please do let sales@saxon.co.za know as we would love to make you feel even more at home with us.

Kind regards
George Cohen, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews