We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Hotel Sandton
Ranked #21 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Meekatharra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great overnight stay”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Only stayed the 1 night but the room was very clean and comfortable, location good, happy hour drinks & snacks generous and breakfast very nice. Would have happily stayed longer but sadly our holiday was at an end. Excellent value.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikNakRoyMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Sandton, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for the great review. We’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed our clean and comfortable rooms and found good value in our offering. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    52
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
17
5
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

11 of us booked and stayed one night at the hotel, we were given great servise upon arrival and all placed in large rooms close to each other - the rooms all had great sized beds, nice bathrooms and a small cupboard kitchen which allowed you to keep food and drinks in your room.

The main hotel area was very new and pleasant - sunset drinks in the top lounge from 1730 is a must and a great place for us to meet before a short walk to Sandton City center for dinner.

Breakfast was very good, wonderful service with a smile ! we will go back often

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Sandton, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review. We’re glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that we will be seeing more of you. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Very comfortrable setting and room clean - looks like an update in the carpets! Bathroom with amenities - clean. Convenient bar fridge and microwave with basic utensils available. Complimentary coffee/tea and biscuit. Downstairs room convenient for when it rains and easy access to car! Reception staff very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Downstair room if you have heavy luggage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judith a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Sandton, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Stayed two nights 10 min walk to Nelson Mandela square and great restaurants staff friendly and courteous nothing too much bother would definitely stay again. rooms are spacious and clean only niggle, you have to pay for wi-fi access after the 1st hr otherwise spot on well done to the management and staff..

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Sandton, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

just recently went to a four day trip to jo'burg, stayed at the courtyard hotel, tucked in the quite side of sandton just near the hilton hotel and i was quite impressed with the rooms in particular. This hotel is a self serviced one with facilities including wash area, utensils, a fairly big fridge that can contain stuffs and what strikes me most is how concealed the was area is. It also has a balcony where you can entertain guests .The hotel staff were quite friendly, and you had maximum privacy. It is close to the train station and like 15-20mins walk to the Sandton City and Mandela Square where you can go have fun and loads of activity there. You also have a McDonalds like 3 mins walk and supermarket for supplies.

Make sure they program your hotel room card to the maximum days you are staying as i had an issue with that and could not access my room late at night. Asides that, splendid hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skibochi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Sandton, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thanks so much for your review - we hope to welcome you again at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Large comfy rooms with decent en suite, set in a collection of 2-floor chalets dotted around the property. Rooms have kitchen with fridge and kettle. Too many little windows which let the light in but otherwise god some good sleep and is quiet enough despite being next to the main road.

Relaxed bar with complimentary drinks and snacks, and a nice little terrace, but don't be put off by some of the staff who are so relaxed they seem reluctant to do their jobs, I once even asked for coffee in the afternoon in the bar and the waiter said it wouldn't be possible! No room service - they will bring water to your room, reluctantly, but then charge you over the odds for a small bottle. Fairly steep charge for breakfast, which should be included in the room rate which is very expensive for what you get. The hotel is comfortable but for what you have to pay you would expect luxury. Although breakfast was good and the waiters there were very friendly and accomodating.

Wifi very expensive and slow.

Small pool with freezing water during our stay, but in a nice suntrap.

Secure parking and decent security all round.

No lunch or dinner on offer, but there are enough decent restaurants in the immediate area, including the Bull Ring in Maude St, which is fab.

Half an hour's drive to the CBD and also Soweto.

Sandton is good for business travellers but is corporate and soulless, all malls and expensive car garages which chaffs a bit when you consider the rampant poverty in this country. Excellent location if you want to ignore it. But if you don't, I can highly recommend a trip to Soweto and Mandela House, which is the real, beautiful South Africa and was the highlight of my trip.

Room Tip: Get one away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 675Bill1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Sandton, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I have had the privilege of staying at this fab hotel a few times. Not only is it close to the Gautrain (walking distance), it is also close (also walking distance) the very lively Sandton Shopping centre and Sandton Square - filled with fantastic shops, restaurants and other entertainment. Although the hotel is so centrally located, once you enter the gates you feel like you are far out of town. The rooms are huge and have been revamped recently. I love the "walk in" little kitchenette which is so convenient if you want to stay in after a long day of work.

I have to make special mention of all the staff - they are always smiling and have been greeting me as if they have known me for years. The breakfast is delicious!

During my last stay the hotel hosted (and sponsored) a special event for abused children. I find this truly hart warming - not only do they care for their clients, but that are also supporting the community out there!

Of course the cherry on the top is the fantastic rate - very good price for the middle of such a popular and busy center.

Thnx all at the Courtyard Hotel - see you hopefully soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moniquestrydom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Sandton, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Thanks for the kind review - we certainly are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.2 mi away
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
#23 of 47 in Sandton
100 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Hotel Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Hotel Sandton

Property: Courtyard Hotel Sandton
Address: 130 Rivonia Road, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Hotel Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of bustling Sandton, this Courtyard Hotel exudes warmth and charm among the grandiose buildings which surround it. The ambience is true home from home comfort and relaxation. The hotel is in close proximity to The Village Walk, Sandton City and Nelson Mandela Square with easy access to major motorways and only 30 minutes from Johannesburg’s international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard Hotel Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Sandton
Sandton Courtyard
Courtyard Hotel Sandton Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing