We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Rethink before booking” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Town Lodge Sandton-Grayston Drive

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Town Lodge Sandton-Grayston Drive
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Sandton
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Rethink before booking”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

Rethink your booking at the town lodge! waited 15 minutes before being served a beverage due to the waitress assisting clients to order food over the phone from Mr.Delivery. Reception so poor in the dining hall you cannot even connect to google home page. There is a menu in the room, displaying wonderful food, but while sitting in the dinning area I never saw any activity in the kitchen, only to find out it isn't operational in the evening and they were bring in the food ordered in crates covered in tin foil!! Rethink your booking!

Room Tip: Rather book in the city lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacques v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Sandton-Grayston Drive, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thank you for your review - we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and we will look into the points you have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    22
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
3
7
6
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saitama, Japan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

We stayed here once quite a long time ago, in 1999. We just wanted to find a safe hotel near the mall. We had a double room, which was clean and quiet. We could enjoy watching various African birds in the garden. The breakfast was good, the reception staff were helpful.This place is great for both business and leisure travelers.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eur0peankiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Sandton-Grayston Drive, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Thank you for your review - why not come back for another visit?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

When you're looking for a place to stay, and you don't need more than a comfortable bed for the night... then this is place. It's local to most Sandton businesses for quick easy access. And if you've been at News Cafe till late, you can even walk.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LordUlli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Sandton-Grayston Drive, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Thanks for your comments about our hotel - we hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham Road, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

A clean comfortable hotel centrally situated in Sandton . I got in early and they let me check in at 09H00 - staff very friendly and willing to assist. Parking is free , but Internet is excessive and cell reception ( MTN) shocking -

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

A good place to stay if you need overnight accommodation in Sandton that is inexpensive. The newer rooms on the lower ground floor in the new section were kept away from traffic noise on Grayston drive. The buffet breakfast was good. General cleanliness was good

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the front of the building by the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Treasure K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

Standard hotel of this chain, although I had a few hiccups on arrival. There were hairs in the bed so I asked them to change it, which they did. The cleaning staff also threw away all my packing bags (for shoes etc) whilst they were making up the room the next day, as they mistook them for rubbish, but the front desk apologised and provided more. There was one very friendly member of staff on reception on the night I arrived, but another woman who seemed quite stuck-up. Breakfast was plentiful, although you had to say whether you were having hot or cold, and fill out a card and give it to someone before you could eat anything. They also played Abba songs on repeat. There were no safes in the rooms, but you could lock valuables away in a communal safe room, which had individual lockers, and was kept locked by reception. There was a computer for internet, and you had 15 minutes free per day, after that it was expensive to access the internet. On checkout I was given a muffin, which was a nice touch.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UKEuropa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

I stay here very often since it is good value for money in Sandton and relatively close to many restaurants. I always say that the most important factor of any hotel is how good you sleep. If you sleep well, you are rested, relaxed, happy and ready to go to your meetings the next day. If you are tired, seeing clients are difficult.

Last time I stayed here I unfortunately got only 3 hours sleep. I stayed on the Grayston drive side. The road noise was unbearable and the room was cold. I switched on the heater but it had only one setting: Make the room a sauna. So I had to switch it off again and deal with the noise and cold. Next morning I find out the vent behind the aircon is open (or something - I am not sure what). So when the aircon is off, cold air rushes in and road noise comes through. I mentioned this when I checked out but I am not sure if it was followed up.

Otherwise decent size room with great shower. Breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louis1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sandton hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.6 mi away
Park Inn Sandton
Park Inn Sandton
#25 of 49 in Sandton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Sandton
Courtyard Hotel Sandton
#21 of 49 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
FNB Conference & Learning Centre
0.3 mi away
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
#27 of 49 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
3.5 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Bryanston
City Lodge Hotel Bryanston
#26 of 49 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town Lodge Sandton-Grayston Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town Lodge Sandton-Grayston Drive

Property: Town Lodge Sandton-Grayston Drive
Address: Cnr Grayston Drive & Webber Road | Sandown, Sandton 2146, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Town Lodge Sandton-Grayston Drive 2*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A patio overlooking the swimming pool makes the hotel a relaxing spot in the hub of Sandton. Situated within close proximity to the M1 motorway with easy access to all major routes, 3 minutes drive to the shopping centres of Sandton City and Village Walk and a 30 minute drive from O.R.Tambo International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Town Lodge Sandton-Grayston Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town Lodge Sandton-Grayston Drive Hotel Sandton
Town Lodge Sandton-Grayston Drive Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing