We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“JUST LOVE IT”
Reviewed 15 January 2013

In the middle of Sandton you will find this ' colonial' feel hotel. The staff is fabulous, friendly, efficient and funny too. You are greeted with a warm welcome and a huge smile the moment you set foot on the grounds.
I stayed in one of the garden rooms; okay they are not the biggest but very comfortable and all possible amenities (okay to me the air-conditioning could be a bit quieter) - but the windows open and that is okay too.
GREAT breakfast restaurant with amazing staff, a steak restaurant next to the hotel with an amazing (very affordable) menu.
The staff of the hotel is ready to help you make last minute arrangements for trips.
They have a small acceptable gym - nothing fancy!
10 minutes walk you will find Sandton mall with loads of restaurants, a cineplex, food courts and a variety of shops.
Honestly ALWAYS looking forward to my stays in Johannesbourg!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terrencets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, 20 January 2013
Dear ‘terrencets’.
Thank you for taking the time to write on ‘tripadvisor’. It is wonderful to read that your all round experience was such a positive one, plus that you praised our friendly STAFF, our lovely grounds and clean rooms. This is much appreciated and will be passed on to the TEAM, who will be very much encouraged by these words
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    452
    175
    50
    42
See reviews for
131
228
77
421
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 15 January 2013

There is a lovely country ambience and yet the hotel is in close proximity to Sandton shopping mall where there are a host of upmarket restaurants, shops, theatres and movie houses. The grounds create a very tranquil and peaceful setting where one can unwind after a busy day. We felt a very welome vibe from our first contact with the hotel staff, including the reception people, managers, waiters and grounds staff. Our entire stay was an overall one of good service, comfort, cleanliness and above all attention to detail. Our accommodation was a well furnished suite. We thorougly enjoyed our meals having a lovely dinner in the restaurant called the Bull Run where there a wide choice of menu and wine list and our breakfast buffet was excellent with a great selection. The buffet facilities overlook the beautiful pool and grounds which create a good start to the day. I would highly recommend this hotel for all travellers.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, 19 January 2013
Dear ‘LinC’.
Your kind words on ‘tripadvisor’ are very much appreciated. How great that you experienced our Hotel and beautiful grounds, as a peaceful and relaxed ‘get-away’. Yes, we feel very blessed to have such an oasis in the middle of the busy Sandton area. Thank you for your praise about our STAFF, the Breakfast Buffet and the Bull Run Restaurant. This truly means so alot to us.
Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback and we look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2013

I have spent many years travelling and get to stay in many hotels in a number of countries. It is rare to find such a combination of comfort, service, spotless tidiness and attention to detail as one finds at the Balalaika. This combined with flawless attention by the staff makes it a genuine pleasure to spend time there. I cannot rate it highly enough and it is astonishing that such an institution has continued to offer such unparalleled service for so long at such competitive prices. It is a credit to the management and staff and long may it continue.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
Dear ‘Denis D’.
Thank you for your praise on ‘tripadvisor’ and for taking the time to do so. It is truly wonderful to read that your all round experience was such a positive one.
We thank you for your loyal support and look forward in welcoming you back ‘home’ again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

The hotel is a nice country hotel situated in Sandton close to the Sandton Mall. When you are in the hotel you are hardly aware that you are in a city as it is really peaceful. It has beautiful gardens, 2 pools and a nice outdoor area for breakfast and dinner.

The airco system are in need for an upgrade. We had to change rooms as first it was not cooling and then it broke down completely. But still would recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

This English inspired hotel in the heart of the financial district in Sandton is a great option for the ones seeking a good stay in South Africa. It is near the beautiful Nelson Mandela square and its awesome selection of restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Dear ‘Irado’. Your positive feedback on ‘tripadvisor’ is much appreciated and for taking the time to do so. Yes, we would have to agree with you a 100% that our location is superb and that our 'English inspired' decor makes us very unique amongst the modern high-rise buidlings in the Sandton area. It is our aim to create a warm and welcoming feel to our valued GUESTS.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Jӧrg Zwinscher
General Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Good location, beautiful people, fantastic breakfast buffet, easy walk to the Nelson Mandela square giving u easy access to shop, nd v some scrumptious meal ranging from African to Italian cuisine etc. quite and green environment. If u gona do balalaika rooms request a king size bed; it's worth Paying for.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xtige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, 31 December 2012
Dear ‘Xtige’.
Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’. It is truly wonderful to read that your all round stay was such a positive one. Your praise about our STAFF, our ideal location and our scrumptious Breakfast is most appreciated. We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Jӧrg Zwinscher
General Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

I'm sorry to only add my review now as I stayed here in Nov 2010 for four nights. I shared a room with my mother and my brother had his own room further down the corridor.

The hotel staff were very accommodating in trying to get my brother's room as close to ours as possible considering that the hotel was quite full during our stay.

I really liked the "garden feel" of the courtyards and the different sections of the hotel. I didn't mind the walk from the reception to our rooms as I was on holiday and find it quite relaxing to amble along to my room every day.

The parking is very convenient and at the time reasonably priced.

I loved the bath and seperate shower in our en suite and I did use the gym and the swiming pools during my stay as well as having very good coffees from their cafe/barista. My brother and I also had drinks and nibbles one evening in the bar.

I will definitely stay at this hotel again when I visit Johannesburg. I found my stay relaxing, enjoyable and value for money. I liked the fact that you could use the minibar fridge in your room for storing your own food items - because if you want them to specially stock the minibar, you need to request this and we didn't opt for this service, being happy to buy our own goodies at the supermarket (Pick 'n Pay) in the adjacent mall to the hotel. Also conveniently located in the mall was a "Clicks" store and a car rental agency. This was very handy as my brother rented a car from here and was able to drop off the car at the Johannesburg airport on our return journey.

All in all an enjoyable stay and look forward to next time!

Room Tip: We had a good sized quiet room with a garden view and twin beds for my mother and I on the ground fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
Dear “Daisy D”.
Thank you so much for your positive feedback on ‘tripadvisor’ and for taking the time to do so. It is truly wonderful to read that your all round experience was such an enjoyable one. Your comments mean a lot to us and we look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#14 of 47 in Sandton
1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.3 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 47 in Sandton
944 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Address: 20 Maude Street | Sandown, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#10 Business Hotel in Sandton
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton on Maude Street, in Sandton, is located in Johannesburg's economic heartland. The hotel's charming colonial theme is accentuated with wooden elements and delicate floral accents. Each of the 330 classically-styled rooms make guests feel as though they never left home - with a king-size bed, LCD television, electronic safe and a full en-suite bathroom with a walk-in shower. Business executives are catered to with a desk, office chair and international plug points. Complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi is accessible throughout the hotel and the Wi-Fi station situated in the lobby provides convenience for guests requiring instant access to the internet. The English countryside atmosphere defines this four-star hotel as a little bit of country in the heart of Sandton. Birdsong makes guests forget that they are in a bustling metropolis. The Johannesburg Stock Exchange, Sandton Convention Centre and the city's most exclusive shopping mall are a short stroll away. A complimentary shuttle to and from the Gautrain station makes the Balalaika easily accessible. Whether it is for business or leisure, the central location and warm hospitality of the Protea Hotel Balalaika are unrivalled, making it your first and only choice when staying in Johannesburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Agoda, Nozio Netplan srl, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Johannesburg
Balalaika Hotel
Protea Hotel Balalaika
Sandton Hotel Balalaika
Protea Hotel By Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing