We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but well located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandton has a lot of old rooms, some of them really far from the reception. The breakfast is very good and the hotel is well located, a few steps from Nelson Mandela Square, Sandton City and Sandton Gautrain Station. Beside the hotel, used to have a small complex with good restaurants and shops, but is now closed for renovation.

Room Tip: Try to get a room near the reception since some of them can be really far from the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenjaminLevitre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Dear ‘BenjaminLevitre’.
Thank you for your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. Our hotel offers ‘old world charm’ and is not the typical high-rise hotel. It has 2 beautiful gardens, which our GUESTS pass through, when walking to some of the rooms. This, many of our valued GUESTS find very relaxing, after a stressful day.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,022)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

518 - 524 of 1,022 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

Let me just say in the first place the Reception area looks a lot better and is more open than previously.Since my arrival all the staff was friendly and extremely helpful.I was helped at reception and the room was perfect as usual.I will recommend anyone to go and stay at this Hotel because it is almost like being at home when you stay there.Thanks to Management and all the staff for making it an exceptional stay for the week.Will be seeing you again soon.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pieter849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear ‘Pieter849’.
Your kind words on ‘tripadvisor’ are much appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to do so. It is wonderful to read that your all round experience was such a positive one.
We look forward in welcoming you back 'home' again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Booked this hotel for our family during a brief stop on a road trip. This was my second stay at the hotel with the first a couple years ago. The attendant was not incredibly helpful as the bags were delivered, he made no effort to explain the features of the room and left without announcing so did not even get the chance to tip. The family room/executive suite is actually two rooms connected by a common area with couch, desk, table/chairs, and TV. This area is shared between two separate rooms. This worked beautifully for us as our daughter had her own room. We could not get the TV to work in our room but it worked in the common area and our daughter’s room. The room itself was clean but appeared quite dated which is a common theme with Proteas I have lodged in recently. The grounds are pretty and pools are nice. The hotel is quite of a maze as other reviewers have stated but it is an enjoyable walk and you do not feel that you are in the hustle and bustle of Sandton.

When I stayed there in the past, it was attached to a small mall that was very convenient. We went there this time to buy some needed supplies and found it to be an eerie, dusty ghost-town. The entire mall was shut down but we did not see any signs and you can still just wander in as we did. This was a little disappointing but there are other shops nearby and Nelson Mandela Square/Sandton City are just a 5-10 minute walk away. The breakfast was included in our rate and had a really good spread. The waitrons were enthralled with our daughter and very accommodating to us. Overall, we had a good stay and would consider coming back mostly due to the spacious (and affordable) large suite option.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Some stuff are frendly but not all. Rooms are old and not comfortable, I was in 21xx room that was very hot I think becsuse it is very close to laundry. There much better hotels nearby.
Breakfast is average
I have recommended this hotel to few foreigners visitors before trying it myself but will not do again.
Regards

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
3  Thank Jalel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Dear ‘Jalel G’.

In response to your less than pleasing review about us, may we say the following: We registered with ‘tripadvisor’ to see what people are saying about us and to use their criticism constructively. Unfortunately there is nothing really to work with in your review, as you just mention the breakfast being average, not all STAFF being friendly and the rooms not being comfortable. WHY was the breakfast average? WHAT did you have and HOW would you have suggested that we improve your meal? With regards to the STAFF, WHO was not friendly? WHAT exactly in the room displeased you? HOW could we have improved your experience at the Hotel?
We encourage our GUESTS to talk to us personally in order to cultivate customer relations and ensure a positive experience every single time. Having said that, may we thank you for mentioning that some of our STAFF are friendly.
We are sorry to hear that you will not return.

Kind regards,

Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I've stayed at many Protea hotels and they seem to have certain standards across their locations and they didn't disappoint. The rooms were impeccably clean, the staff were helpful and courteous, and the breakfast was large and delightful. The hotel itself is in a great location of Sandton. Close to many shops and restaurants and in a safe area so walking around during the day isn't a problem. The hotel itself though definitely needs some maintenance work and is quite confusing to get around. The first night we checked in, there was a bad rainstorm and one entire side of our room started leaving from the ceiling down the entire length of the wall. The hotel was quick to respond and put us in another room with an upgrade. The hotel seems to be made up of two different buildings and it is quite a walk to get from one part to the other with many different hallways before you encounter an elevator.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the Balalaika not the Crown Court, it will be easier to get around and is located...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelbuggie1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear ‘sriani683’.
Thank you for taking the time to write on ‘tripadvisor’ and for your kind feedback. Yes, our hotel is very unique and not at all like the modern high-rise hotels; we have 2 beautiful gardens, one in the Balalaika section and the second in the Crown Court section, which are truly an oasis in the middle of the busy Sandton; ideal for our valued GUESTS to relax after a hectic day. We pride ourselves in still having that ‘old world charm’ which still seems to appeal to many of our valued GUESTS. Your praise about the STAFF is greatly appreciated and we are pleased to read that they were quick to assist. We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Excellent location and spacious rooms but like a maize with no pattern to corridors and wings.Seems as though there have been extensions on extensions.Clean rooms and all other facilities befitting a 3-4 star property.

Room Tip: Bring a compass
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fridge24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear ‘fridge24’.
Thank you for taking the time to write on ‘tripadvisor’.
Your feedback is appreciated and we look forward in welcoming you back again.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I read the variety of reviews in Trip Advisor before arriving to spend two nights at this hotel. It is a pleasant and agreeable hotel with rooms overlooking one of two pools and garden. Bedrooms are adequately bright and spacious and the Bull Run offers an excellent steak. Given its location in the CBD the Balalaika is a convenient and decent hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Smiler_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear ‘Smiler_8’.
Your kind words on ‘tripadvisor’ are much appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to do so. It is wonderful to read that your all round experience was such a positive one.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 46 in Sandton
1,373 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
0.4 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
#11 of 46 in Sandton
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton

Address: 20 Maude Street | Sandown, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#10 Business Hotel in Sandton
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: £61 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton on Maude Street, in Sandton, is located in Johannesburg's economic heartland. The hotel's charming colonial theme is accentuated with wooden elements and delicate floral accents. Each of the 330 classically-styled rooms make guests feel as though they never left home - with a king-size bed, LCD television, electronic safe and a full en-suite bathroom with a walk-in shower. Business executives are catered to with a desk, office chair and international plug points. Complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi is accessible throughout the hotel and the Wi-Fi station situated in the lobby provides convenience for guests requiring instant access to the internet. The English countryside atmosphere defines this four-star hotel as a little bit of country in the heart of Sandton. Birdsong makes guests forget that they are in a bustling metropolis. The Johannesburg Stock Exchange, Sandton Convention Centre and the city's most exclusive shopping mall are a short stroll away. A complimentary shuttle to and from the Gautrain station makes the Balalaika easily accessible. Whether it is for business or leisure, the central location and warm hospitality of the Protea Hotel Balalaika are unrivalled, making it your first and only choice when staying in Johannesburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, Booking.com, Splitty, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Johannesburg
Balalaika Hotel
Protea Hotel Balalaika
Sandton Hotel Balalaika
Protea Hotel By Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing