We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding customer service .....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I was at this Hotel again for the third time and the customer service agent that did the check in was able to accommodate me and checked me in at noon, the room was very large with free wifi, breakfast was very delish....I will recommend this establishment to anyone visiting SA , its a walking distance to the mall and Mandela square.

Room Tip: Ask for room on the second floor , they come with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pius p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear ‘pius p’.
Thank you for taking the time to write on ‘tripadvisor’. Your feedback is greatly appreciated.We are pleased to read that we were able to check you in earlier and that your all round experience was such a positive one. Yes indeed, our (limited) balcony rooms looking into our luscious gardens are just too lovely. It is thus no surprise that they are so popular.
We look forward in welcoming you back again.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,022)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

489 - 495 of 1,022 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014

Nice reception and front but after walking long,long corridors to finally reaching a remarkable boring and dark room ,my dissapointment was complete.
A room with few lights and a dangerous and broken electric socket on the desk. The minibar was empty and I woke up too early because the noisy water pipes when the room next door took a shower. This was a bad experiance!
The location is very good and central ...but I understand that there are also other hotels in the vicinity.

Room Tip: Ask "how far to the room?"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl_Berg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear ‘Karl_Berg’.
Your comments on ‘tripadvisor’ refer.
Your praise about our location and ‘nice reception and front’ is appreciated; however, how sad to read that it seems the rest your experience at our hotel was such a disappointing one and that you found the room to be ‘boring’. Please accept our sincere apologies for the broken electrical socket, which is concerning. This is not the usual standard we are proud to offer. Minibars are filled upon request. - It is the first time that we are made aware of ‘the noisy water pipes’? Sadly it seems that you did not speak to any of our TEAM members, whilst staying with us, so we are unable to check which pipes in which room, you are writing about. We are sure that any shortcomings would have been rectified immediately and to your satisfaction.- Our hotel is not the typical high-rise hotel like many others in this area, but is spread out, having 2 beautiful gardens; so yes, some rooms might be a bit further to walk to. Most of our valued GUESTS enjoy 'the long walk' through them, as it helps them unwind after a busy day. However, if there are GUESTS who do not wish to walk ‘far’ to their room, we will try to allocate a room for them in the first section, the Balalaika section of the hotel.
Kind regards,
Jὄrg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The Hotel is very centrally located, location is its USP. The rooms were decent, nothing fancy or anything; clean and with the basic amenities. Wi-fi was free (A plus point for the business hotel). Though the staff didn't seemed trained in the hospitality industry. Overall, the hotel could be rated as a good centrally located business hotel!!

Room Tip: Do not choose the basement rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abhi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This hotel looks beautiful at first sight. Lovely reception area and lounge, beautiful garden too. I checked in on the 11th of March with my colleague after booking two rooms. The two names were given but on arrival, my colleague's name was the only one in their system. Well no problem with that, they just gave us two rooms, 1128 and 1125 at the back end of the hotel. Nice location you will think, with the rooms just by a bushy garden. The room I stayed in 1125 was neat but damp. The sliding door leading to the garden was stuck and it takes the strength of a tiger to open. At the restaurant, the waiter serving us an elderly lady tried to be friendly until she produced the bill and treated us with suspicion as to whether we were able to pay the bill for our meal. She ran to the reception to confirm if we could sign for the bill. At the reception, the young man had an attitude and wasn't much help either. Tops up for the food in the restaurant. Also, the good thing is that the location of the hotel is great. Near the Sandton Center, it is quite convenient if you are visiting the Convention Centre or you want to shop. The door men receiving us were equally warm. The downside may be the inbuilt prejudices of the people here which is unbecoming of a top class hotel. Definitely I won't be spending my money here next time I am in Johannesburg.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Godsent007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear ‘Soji A’.
Thank you for feedback on ‘tripadvisor’ and for taking the time to meet with Christine, our GUEST Relations Manager. I am very pleased that we were able to rectify your shortcomings. Your praise about our prompt action and customer care is much appreciated.
We look forward to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jὄrg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stopped over in Johannesberg for a few nights en route to the Cape and booked the Balalaika for its central position and its spacious gardens to get away from the rat race of Johannesberg.

The historic hotel was attractive, well presented with excellent service and I'd definitely head straight for it again. The classsical colonial buildings are absolutely beautiful against the modern monstrocities of the new impersonal clinical concrete modern tower hotels. The feeling of old world charm greets you as you drive around the fountain into the forecourt and are welcomed by the concierge and ushered into the colonial foyer and reception.

The pianist in the evening is wonderful as he so expertly strokes the keys of the grand piano to create the most soothing melodies.

The gardens with their two pools provide a haven from the fast business world - they are ideal for relaxing with a refreshing drink or to entertain your business or personal guests.

Everything is well maintained and the staff are , without exception, pleasant, courteous and so helpful - in the main, South Africa, more particularly the Cape, does customer service very well.

The restaurant facilities are superb with a high standard of food - the Bull Run has substantial size servings and obviously specialises in beef but has a menue with a wide choice.

Location is perfect - it is within a five minute walk to the Nelson Mandella Shopping centre and just up the street there are lots of local craft and souvenier sellers with a wide variety of craft items to take home for gifts.

The room we stayed in was of an adequate size and was well appointed, clean and very comfortable. As previous reviewers mention, the hotel is based along many passageways, but bear in mind that it is an old colonial hotel with lots of wings however, you don't feel restricted in any way as it it all light and bright - very colonial - think Singapore Raffles, Penang's P & O or Sri Lanka's Majestic - classic and lovely, each with its own character.

I enjoyed this stay very much.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room which initially seemed a long walk from the reception but we later found short c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geni7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear ‘Geni7’.
How wonderful to read your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’. Thank you for taking the time to do so. It is great to read that you are one of the many GUESTS that find our location convenient for your travel purposes and that you also enjoyed our gardens, which are ideal to ‘switch off’ from a busy day. Apart from our excellent location, we are pleased to read that the service received was of the high standard, to which we strive. Thank you for your praise about our friendly STAFF. Your kind words are much appreciated.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jὄrg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel with top notch styling, quality, comfort, service and experience. Very Good location (their offer free transfers to Nelson Mandela Square. Would book here again. For tours/transfers ask for Johannes he is nice guy and tour guide.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RigvedRaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear ‘RigvedRaut’.
Thank you for taking the time to write on ‘tripadvisor’. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we are pleased to read that your all round experience was such a positive one.
We look forward in welcoming you back again.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Rooms furniture old, wasted. Doors on corridor look more like of a hostal standard, all beaten up, no maintenance, no repairs. Staff seams to be tired of their jobs, rather rude - reception, bar, maids. Only breakfast staff very helpful and happy with their jobs. This is a good 3*, no where close to 4. They miss the attention, sense of customer service and refurbishment is needed soon! There are better hotels in the area.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Zoi17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear ‘Zoi17’.
Thank you for taking the time to write on ‘tripadvisor’. It is very important for us to make all our valued GUESTS feel at home and welcome, plus strive to offer the best GUEST service at all times; it is thus very sad to read that it seems that a part from our Breakfast STAFF, the rest of your experience was so disappointing. May I ask if you brought your concerns to the attention of any Management? - Due to our high occupancy and popularity, we are constantly upgrading and maintaining our beautiful & unique 4 star property. There are also exciting plans in the near future to give our rooms a ‘nip & tuck’.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 46 in Sandton
1,375 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton

Address: 20 Maude Street | Sandown, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#10 Business Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: £62 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton on Maude Street, in Sandton, is located in Johannesburg's economic heartland. The hotel's charming colonial theme is accentuated with wooden elements and delicate floral accents. Each of the 330 classically-styled rooms make guests feel as though they never left home - with a king-size bed, LCD television, electronic safe and a full en-suite bathroom with a walk-in shower. Business executives are catered to with a desk, office chair and international plug points. Complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi is accessible throughout the hotel and the Wi-Fi station situated in the lobby provides convenience for guests requiring instant access to the internet. The English countryside atmosphere defines this four-star hotel as a little bit of country in the heart of Sandton. Birdsong makes guests forget that they are in a bustling metropolis. The Johannesburg Stock Exchange, Sandton Convention Centre and the city's most exclusive shopping mall are a short stroll away. A complimentary shuttle to and from the Gautrain station makes the Balalaika easily accessible. Whether it is for business or leisure, the central location and warm hospitality of the Protea Hotel Balalaika are unrivalled, making it your first and only choice when staying in Johannesburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Johannesburg
Balalaika Hotel
Protea Hotel Balalaika
Sandton Hotel Balalaika
Protea Hotel By Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing