We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant enough hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Ranked #16 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level Contributor
351 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Pleasant enough hotel”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Located in a very nice area and not too far for Jobo, so ideal location for sure. Room was nice, if a little dark, but clean and comfortable none the less. All the staff were pleasant enough and happy to help too.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear ‘Paul B’.
Thank you for writing your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’.
Your kind words are much appreciated and we are delighted to read that your all round experience was a positive one.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon!
Kind regards,
Jὄrg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    448
    169
    49
    40
See reviews for
127
224
77
415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed there for 5 nights and it was most pleasant. The gardens and pool areas are beautiful and the rooms are what one would expect from a Protea Hotel.

The staff was most helpful and friendly (especially Dean during breakfast service), and made our stay with a baby very comfortable. The room service food quality was excellent and good value for money.

The hotel is very close to Sandton City and Nelson Mandela Square, and we walked there most of the time, although there was a shuttle from the hotel.

The only negative that I could find is the price of the wine by the glass in the Lord's pub. R55 to R60 per glass for a standard red wine is in my opinion overpriced. For that money I would expect to get as least a Reserve.

Otherwise a brilliant stay, and I will have no hesitation on recommending the hotel or staying there again.

Thanks!

Room Tip: Garden facing rooms have a nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLubbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear ‘TheLubbes’
Thank you for writing your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’ and for taking the time to do so.
It is delightful to read that you enjoyed your all round stay with us, that you also enjoyed our beautiful gardens and experienced our STAFF to be helpful and friendly. Thank you for your kind words about Dean. We will be sure to pass your comments on to him, which will truly mean a lot to him. – Please know that our prices for glass per wine {depending red or white} range from R 40.- to R 60.-, which is on par with many Sandton Hotels/Restaurants.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Very basic rooms, nothing to write home about but the grounds are beautiful and the restaurant inside the hotel makes the best food, average to expensive but good service and nice atmosphere! Overall a good experience and in the heart of Sandton, close to everything and should you want to go out Mandela Square is within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lechegray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear ‘lechegray’.
Your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’ is much appreciated. Thank you for taking the time in doing so.
How wonderful to know that you enjoyed our beautiful gardens and found our location to be of great benefit to you. Yes, our hotel ambience is truly unique, which we believe assists us in making our valued GUESTS feel welcome and at home.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Staff was really nice and warm. The room was quite small but because of the walking distance to Mandela square it was nice being out. The shuttle service of the hotel is also very nice, expecially when it rains. When the rain kicked in though we needed to go out of the room cause the tv didnt work proparly and the fan in the room was making a terrible noise when switched on. The garden and swimming pool looked really nice and it is nice and quiet to just relax.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear ‘Sanne C’.
Your kind words on ‘tripadvisor are much appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to do so.
How wonderful that you enjoyed your stay and our beautiful gardens.- May we ask if you reported your concerns in the room to any of our TEAM members?
We look forward to welcoming you back to our tranquil oasis.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

More than good hotel on a central location. Luscious garden, nice restaurant (the bull run) next to it. Breakfast extensive. Its an older hotel so rooms are not as cramped as in the new comparable hotels. Staff ( especially reception and congierge) helpful, resourceful and know their way around. Its also home of the klm crew, so lots of Dutch people. Balalaika is like a home.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BerrieW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear ‘BerrieW’.
Thank you for taking the time to write your positive review on ‘tripadvisor’. Your praise in particular about our Reception and Concierge STAFF is most appreciated. We will be sure to pass your encouraging words on to them. How wonderful that you enjoyed our scrumptious and extensive Breakfast Buffet.
We look forward to welcoming you back ‘home’ again soon.
Kind regards,
Jὄrg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This was my third visit to Balalika and I stayed for a period of 30 days with my colleagues for a business purpose. There were quite a few troubles compared to the last two times I visited:

1. The room I checked in did not have the customary bottle of water.
Since it was a late evening and I had been flying for over 14 hours, I didn't inquire them at that point. When I came back from office the next day, I realised it is still not placed, when inquired about this from reception, the person goes "You only get it the first day". I pointed out that I did not receive it even on the day I checked in. She looks at me and says "You can get it from the restaurant".

2. My colleague was checked in to a room that already had a guest.
The other guest was no where close to checkout date. The most hilarious part came up when the reception desk said that they had no record of such a guest.

3. Another one of my colleagues went through the same thing a week later.
This second colleague requested to be moved to a room close to the others because it is easier to discuss matters after work. It seems the desk decided to make them as close as possible and allocated a room that one of our colleagues were already in.

4. It is customary for Balalika to provide guests who check in for a long period with a complimentary bottle of wine. After the water bottle incident, I decided to skip asking about it.

5. The wifi at the hotel was out for two days. They didn't even bother to say sorry, or give a date they planned to fix it.

On such a long stay the food obviously gets out dated, so I am not going to complain about it. However, I do believe that they have an opportunity to switch dishes on at least alternating days instead of serving the exact same dish over and over.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KulendraJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear ‘KulendraJ’.
Thank you for taking the time to write your constructive review on ‘tripadvisor’. We would like to apologize most sincerely for your disappointing experience. Please know that your concerns have been taken to heart and addressed with our Front Office Manager, who has taken the necessary action to avoid such inconvenience from re-occurring. - You mention the food being ‘out-dated’? Which food are you referring to and what would you like to see instead? Your feedback would be appreciated. Please feel free to contact Christine, our Guest Relations Manager (christine@balalaika.co.za) for any further and/or future assistance.
We look forward in welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colombo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

stayed as a business traveller and it is very much easy to visit sandton exhibition centre and Nelson Mandela square. Excellent staff and good hospitality extended especially the resturant staff. Rooms are bit old and dark. Lobby looked really nice and well maintained.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pushpika j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear ‘pushpika j’.
Thank you for your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. Your praise about our STAFF, the new look of our lobby and our hospitality are greatly appreciated. You will be pleased to know that there are exciting projects 'in the pipeline’ focusing on our gym and our rooms.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.3 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#14 of 48 in Sandton
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.5 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#3 of 48 in Sandton
838 reviews
0.3 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#4 of 48 in Sandton
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Address: 20 Maude Street | Sandown, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#11 Business Hotel in Sandton
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton on Maude Street, in Sandton, is located in Johannesburg's economic heartland. The hotel's charming colonial theme is accentuated with wooden elements and delicate floral accents. Each of the 330 classically-styled rooms make guests feel as though they never left home - with a king-size bed, LCD television, electronic safe and a full en-suite bathroom with a walk-in shower. Business executives are catered to with a desk, office chair and international plug points. Complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi is accessible throughout the hotel and the Wi-Fi station situated in the lobby provides convenience for guests requiring instant access to the internet. The English countryside atmosphere defines this four-star hotel as a little bit of country in the heart of Sandton. Birdsong makes guests forget that they are in a bustling metropolis. The Johannesburg Stock Exchange, Sandton Convention Centre and the city's most exclusive shopping mall are a short stroll away. A complimentary shuttle to and from the Gautrain station makes the Balalaika easily accessible. Whether it is for business or leisure, the central location and warm hospitality of the Protea Hotel Balalaika are unrivalled, making it your first and only choice when staying in Johannesburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Marriott, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Johannesburg
Balalaika Hotel
Protea Hotel Balalaika
Sandton Hotel Balalaika
Protea Hotel By Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing