We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Meeting Johannesburg” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Sandton
Mozambique
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Meeting Johannesburg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Balalaika at Sandton, Johannesburg is a excellent place in the center business district of Sandton, close to the Nelson Mandela Square. A Garden Hotel inmidst of bussy Sandton, beautiful Garden and a fantastic Restaurant.

Room Tip: Take a room in front of the Hotel because most rooms a far from the Rezeption
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter-Pichler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear ‘pensaogurue’.
Thank you for writing on ‘tripadvisor’ and for taking the time to do so. We are very happy and pleased to read that your all round experience was so wonderful.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    426
    160
    47
    35
See reviews for
120
211
72
393
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

It was a last minute choice from a number of hotels in the area that we usually use when passing through (as a regular traveller I have Diamond membership at a nearby hotel). On arrival we received a warm welcome and immediately felt at home. My daughter had a problem the next morning when she fainted, the response of the staff and Christine in particular was simply incredible. Her concern and the help we received (including the security team) was overwhelming. A very big and sincere thank you to Christine and her team, we are looking forward to our next stay at the Balalaika.

Room Tip: Upstair rooms on South side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerekRSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear ‘DerekRSA’
Thank you for writing your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’ and for taking the time to do so.
How wonderful to read that you immediately felt ‘at home’ when arriving. Your kind words about Christine and her colleagues is greatly appreciated. They were very touched by your praise.
We look forward in welcoming you back ‘home’ again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

This hotel is nicely kept, clean and offers a welcoming stay. Rooms are nice in comparison to the local competition, although not very well lit, making it difficult to work. Internet was slow. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. I found the hotel quiet and easy to rest. The grounds are well kept and it appears to be in a safe area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vmo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear ‘Vrno9’.
Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’.
Your kind words about our STAFF, grounds and all round experience are most appreciated. We are pleased to read that you found our grounds well maintained and help contribute to a quiet and relaxing stay with us. We do consider ourselves truly blessed to have such beautiful gardens in the ‘hustle bustle’ of Sandton. This contributes towards the feeling of peace & tranquility in the heart of Sandton, which most of our valued GUESTS appreciate.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Despite numerous requests in writing - there was no champagne in the room as requested for the start of honeymoon weekend. Requested quiet room and was placed in room next to fire-escape with noisy staff members using it all day and night as well as put in a room next door to a screaming toddler who screamed most of the night. Breakfasts luke warm to cold on both mornings. Noisy revellers round the swimming pool drinking up a storm till 1.30am. All in all a very bad experience. Complaints laid with managers during course of the stay and nothing done. What a pity such a beautiful hotel is so badly run.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieWils0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear ‘JulieWils0n’.

We were surprised to see your comments on ‘tripadvisor’ posted after our conversation during which we had admitted shortcomings in the service experienced by your clients. We had granted various concessions to you to make up for the disappointment your clients felt. Do give our willing TEAM another opportunity to offer excellent service and meet your expectations. Please feel free to contact Christine, our GUEST Relations Manager (christine@balalaika.co.za) who will gladly assist.

Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manger & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
116 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

My first visit to this historic hotel for a high noon tea event! The concierge desk service was excellent as i only waited 3 minutes for complimentary shuttle service at the Gautrain station. You are treated like royalty upon arrival,car door openned for you, ushered to event room,very friendly and humble smiles around. The tea treats were delicately delicious! Every taste bud satisfied with the delicacies. The conference room are comfortable and temperature well controlled. Will visit again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Koki80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear ‘Koki80’.
Thank you for taking the time to write on ‘tripadvisor’.
How wonderful to read that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel. Your praise about our Concierge TEAM, the conference venues and delicious tea treats is greatly appreciated. Your kind words have been passed on to the TEAM, who were very pleased to receive it.
We look forward in welcoming back soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
324 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Located in a very nice area and not too far for Jobo, so ideal location for sure. Room was nice, if a little dark, but clean and comfortable none the less. All the staff were pleasant enough and happy to help too.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear ‘Paul B’.
Thank you for writing your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’.
Your kind words are much appreciated and we are delighted to read that your all round experience was a positive one.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon!
Kind regards,
Jὄrg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed there for 5 nights and it was most pleasant. The gardens and pool areas are beautiful and the rooms are what one would expect from a Protea Hotel.

The staff was most helpful and friendly (especially Dean during breakfast service), and made our stay with a baby very comfortable. The room service food quality was excellent and good value for money.

The hotel is very close to Sandton City and Nelson Mandela Square, and we walked there most of the time, although there was a shuttle from the hotel.

The only negative that I could find is the price of the wine by the glass in the Lord's pub. R55 to R60 per glass for a standard red wine is in my opinion overpriced. For that money I would expect to get as least a Reserve.

Otherwise a brilliant stay, and I will have no hesitation on recommending the hotel or staying there again.

Thanks!

Room Tip: Garden facing rooms have a nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLubbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear ‘TheLubbes’
Thank you for writing your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’ and for taking the time to do so.
It is delightful to read that you enjoyed your all round stay with us, that you also enjoyed our beautiful gardens and experienced our STAFF to be helpful and friendly. Thank you for your kind words about Dean. We will be sure to pass your comments on to him, which will truly mean a lot to him. – Please know that our prices for glass per wine {depending red or white} range from R 40.- to R 60.-, which is on par with many Sandton Hotels/Restaurants.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.3 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 49 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 49 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Address: 20 Maude Street | Sandown, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#11 Business Hotel in Sandton
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton on Maude Street, in Sandton, is located in Johannesburg's economic heartland. The hotel's charming colonial theme is accentuated with wooden elements and delicate floral accents. Each of the 330 classically-styled rooms make guests feel as though they never left home - with a king-size bed, LCD television, electronic safe and a full en-suite bathroom with a walk-in shower. Business executives are catered to with a desk, office chair and international plug points. Complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi is accessible throughout the hotel and the Wi-Fi station situated in the lobby provides convenience for guests requiring instant access to the internet. The English countryside atmosphere defines this four-star hotel as a little bit of country in the heart of Sandton. Birdsong makes guests forget that they are in a bustling metropolis. The Johannesburg Stock Exchange, Sandton Convention Centre and the city's most exclusive shopping mall are a short stroll away. A complimentary shuttle to and from the Gautrain station makes the Balalaika easily accessible. Whether it is for business or leisure, the central location and warm hospitality of the Protea Hotel Balalaika are unrivalled, making it your first and only choice when staying in Johannesburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Marriott, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Johannesburg
Balalaika Hotel
Protea Hotel Balalaika
Sandton Hotel Balalaika
Protea Hotel By Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing