We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for money in Sandton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I have to be in Midrand for business a couple of times a year, and the Balalaika has become my favorite place to stay. It is very close to Nelson Mandela Square, but because of the nice garden still appears to be in the country side.
The rooms are cosy, the breakfast buffet is really great and the staff very professional. The Lords Bar is a Highlight - great setting, very good barkeeps and when I first came, you were even allowed to smoke there ( I would not know now as I stopped smoking). Fantastic place for a sundowner.
I also never had a problem to get a complimentary early check-in which is a nice extra.
Negative: Call me stupid, but despite having stayed in the Hotel a number of times, I sometimes have difficulties to find my room - there are several buildings and floors. Better signs could help. The gym in the Hotel is also not really nice, it is located in an unattractive basement room.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear ‘Chris M’.
Thank you for taking the time to write on ‘tripadvisor’ and for your kind feedback. Yes, our hotel is very unique and not at all like the modern high-rise hotels. We pride ourselves in still having that ‘old world charm’ which still seems to appeal many of our valued GUESTS. Your praise about our STAFF is much appreciated. - You will be pleased to know that our gym is currently being refurbished and we are sure that you will enjoy the ‘new look.’
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,022)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

470 - 476 of 1,022 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

The gym is a room with an old carpet that is full of old equipment. Great staff and food very average. The bull run is a restaurant inside of the hotel: one of the best grill houses in the world! Not coming back to this hotel as this is the second time that disappoints me. Great location. Near Mandela square and a very safe area. Just in front of the stock exchange and many restaurants and some bars in the area and in a walking distance. But is an old hotel that requires investment and attention to detail.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank LuisBricksoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear ‘ LuisBricksoul’.
Thank you for your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’. As you can understand, it saddens us to read that it seems that we did not exceed your expectations.
We pride ourselves in being a unique hotel, which is not the typical modern-styled, high rise hotel. Our décor theme throughout the hotel is English, country style. Our lobby, banqueting area and Lords Bar have all recently been completely refurbished; keeping the same elegant, country charm. There are exciting plans to continue with our rooms this year. - As our notification states in our current gym, we are also extremely thrilled about the (much needed) new look our gym will receive within the next few months.
We consider our hotel not to be old, but rather refer to her as ‘une grande dame’, who has stood the test of time with much class and dignity; just needing a few ‘nips and tucks’ here and there or the odd ‘face lift’. ‘Old school’, we believe our manners to be; aiming at all times to make all our GUESTS feel valued, welcome and ‘at home’.
Please feel free to contact Christine, our GUEST Relations Manager (christine@balalaika.co.za) , who will gladly assist you further.

Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Great hotel, lovely reception, excellent breakfast, smart shower

Walking distance to Sandton therefore good location

Only complaint,they force you to use valet service which is slow on collection of car....

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoePa786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear ‘MoePa786’
Your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’ is much appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to do so. How lovely that your all round experience was such a positive one and that you are one of the many valued GUESTS that find our location to be of an advantage. Please accept our sincere apology if you were given the impression of being ‘forced’ to use our valet service. We merely offer assistance to park or fetch the cars. Our valued GUESTS are under no obligation to use our valet service.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Balalaika at Sandton, Johannesburg is a excellent place in the center business district of Sandton, close to the Nelson Mandela Square. A Garden Hotel inmidst of bussy Sandton, beautiful Garden and a fantastic Restaurant.

Room Tip: Take a room in front of the Hotel because most rooms a far from the Rezeption
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter-Pichler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear ‘pensaogurue’.
Thank you for writing on ‘tripadvisor’ and for taking the time to do so. We are very happy and pleased to read that your all round experience was so wonderful.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

It was a last minute choice from a number of hotels in the area that we usually use when passing through (as a regular traveller I have Diamond membership at a nearby hotel). On arrival we received a warm welcome and immediately felt at home. My daughter had a problem the next morning when she fainted, the response of the staff and Christine in particular was simply incredible. Her concern and the help we received (including the security team) was overwhelming. A very big and sincere thank you to Christine and her team, we are looking forward to our next stay at the Balalaika.

Room Tip: Upstair rooms on South side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DerekRSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear ‘DerekRSA’
Thank you for writing your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’ and for taking the time to do so.
How wonderful to read that you immediately felt ‘at home’ when arriving. Your kind words about Christine and her colleagues is greatly appreciated. They were very touched by your praise.
We look forward in welcoming you back ‘home’ again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This hotel is nicely kept, clean and offers a welcoming stay. Rooms are nice in comparison to the local competition, although not very well lit, making it difficult to work. Internet was slow. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. I found the hotel quiet and easy to rest. The grounds are well kept and it appears to be in a safe area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vmo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear ‘Vrno9’.
Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’.
Your kind words about our STAFF, grounds and all round experience are most appreciated. We are pleased to read that you found our grounds well maintained and help contribute to a quiet and relaxing stay with us. We do consider ourselves truly blessed to have such beautiful gardens in the ‘hustle bustle’ of Sandton. This contributes towards the feeling of peace & tranquility in the heart of Sandton, which most of our valued GUESTS appreciate.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Despite numerous requests in writing - there was no champagne in the room as requested for the start of honeymoon weekend. Requested quiet room and was placed in room next to fire-escape with noisy staff members using it all day and night as well as put in a room next door to a screaming toddler who screamed most of the night. Breakfasts luke warm to cold on both mornings. Noisy revellers round the swimming pool drinking up a storm till 1.30am. All in all a very bad experience. Complaints laid with managers during course of the stay and nothing done. What a pity such a beautiful hotel is so badly run.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulieWils0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear ‘JulieWils0n’.

We were surprised to see your comments on ‘tripadvisor’ posted after our conversation during which we had admitted shortcomings in the service experienced by your clients. We had granted various concessions to you to make up for the disappointment your clients felt. Do give our willing TEAM another opportunity to offer excellent service and meet your expectations. Please feel free to contact Christine, our GUEST Relations Manager (christine@balalaika.co.za) who will gladly assist.

Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manger & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 46 in Sandton
1,373 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
0.4 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
#11 of 46 in Sandton
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton

Address: 20 Maude Street | Sandown, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#10 Business Hotel in Sandton
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: £61 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton on Maude Street, in Sandton, is located in Johannesburg's economic heartland. The hotel's charming colonial theme is accentuated with wooden elements and delicate floral accents. Each of the 330 classically-styled rooms make guests feel as though they never left home - with a king-size bed, LCD television, electronic safe and a full en-suite bathroom with a walk-in shower. Business executives are catered to with a desk, office chair and international plug points. Complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi is accessible throughout the hotel and the Wi-Fi station situated in the lobby provides convenience for guests requiring instant access to the internet. The English countryside atmosphere defines this four-star hotel as a little bit of country in the heart of Sandton. Birdsong makes guests forget that they are in a bustling metropolis. The Johannesburg Stock Exchange, Sandton Convention Centre and the city's most exclusive shopping mall are a short stroll away. A complimentary shuttle to and from the Gautrain station makes the Balalaika easily accessible. Whether it is for business or leisure, the central location and warm hospitality of the Protea Hotel Balalaika are unrivalled, making it your first and only choice when staying in Johannesburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, Splitty, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Johannesburg
Balalaika Hotel
Protea Hotel Balalaika
Sandton Hotel Balalaika
Protea Hotel By Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing