We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impacted by renovation, but still good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Midrand, South Africa
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Impacted by renovation, but still good experience”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We wanted to spend a night in Sandton to avoid having to drive after dinner, and found that the Balalaika offers reasonable value for bed and breakfast. Because of the renovations to the Village Walk centre next door, it was difficult to find the parking area, and one had to enter the hotel through the service entrance, which was disconcerting, and then it was difficult to find reception once inside!
However, once checked in we were assisted with luggage to the room, and the room swapped without complaint when we discovered that the fan made an incessant noise.
Accommodation was comfortable, and would be ideal for a visiting business person, with a desk and internet connectivity supplied, as well as TV.
Breakfast was as expected from a large international hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathieWebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear ‘CathieWebb’.
Your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’ is much appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to do so. It is great to read that you found our beautiful property value for money and also found our service up to your standards.
Please accept our apologies that you found our temporary parking difficult to find. As you can imagine, we are all very pleased, once the Village Walk demolition has come to an end.
We look forward in welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    441
    168
    48
    39
See reviews for
125
221
76
409
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I chose to at this hotel for location and my dad loves the breakfasts at this hotel. A have to mention that the staff and service was good but I have to name specificly that Mathew at the reception who was ever soo patient and not giving up on me. Nick the night manager. Viwe at the reception are credit to the the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear ‘Rena D’.
Thank you for your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’. We were delighted to read that you and your Dad enjoyed your stay and our scrumptious breakfast so much. Your praise about our STAFF, especially about Viwe, Nick and Matthew is much appreciated and means a lot to them. We look forward to welcoming you & Dad back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
150 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I just got back today from 4 nights at the Protea Balalaika in Sandton, Johannesburg.
I had decided on the trip to Johannesburg on a rather short notice and was delighted when my email inquiry was replied to almost at once. Christine went out of her way to accommodate my request and answer my questions - including arranging for a transfer from the Airport.
I arrived early and was very happy to get an early check in – as well as a late check out on the day of my departure.
The breakfast provided every morning was great and very enjoyable and a good selection of food. Edna is a gem . Room service was speedy and of good quality as well. Everything was clean and in good order. The hotel seems like a “grande dame” amongst all the glass, concrete and chrome polished hotes one usually finds in a location like that – she aged well and with style.
The staff at the hotel whether front desk, porters or the breakfast restaurant were very accommodating and make this hotel a no brainer in recommending. I will definitely stay here again whenever I return to Johannesburg. The location of the hotel in the heart of Sandton next the Johannesburg Stock Exchange, Mandela Square and Mall is great and the hotel is easily accessible from the Sandton Gautrain station.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timm1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear ‘timm1203’.
How wonderful to read your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’. Thank you for taking the time to do so. It is great to read that you are one of the many GUESTS that find our location convenient for your travel purposes and that you also enjoyed our gardens, which are ideal to ‘switch off’ from a busy day. Apart from our excellent location, we are pleased to read that the service received was of the high standard, to which we strive. Thank you for your kind words about our friendly STAFF. Your praise about Edna & Christine in particular are much appreciated. Please know that they were very touched by it.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jὄrg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I have stayed at this hotel several times. On this occasion I had the privilege of being upgraded to a luxury suite. What an experience. The room was excellent with all the amenities one can wish for. The ambience and atmosphere of the hotel always impresses me and the customer service is excellent. The location of the hotel in the heart of Sandton next the Johannesburg Stock Exchange is great and the hotel is easily accessible from the Sandton Gautrain station. I can really recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manfred K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear ‘ Manfred K’.
Thank you for taking the time to write your positive feedback on ‘tripadvisor’. Your kind words are much appreciated.
We look forward in welcoming you back ‘home’ again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel in February, 2014 for several days to see Johannesburg before going to a safari lodge. We picked the hotel because it was reasonably priced, close to the train station, and provided breakfast. We were very satisfied. The hotel is lovely, the staff are very helpful and accommodating, and the breakfast is superb. The distance to the train station was a little further than it appeared but absolutely walkable and very safe. It was the perfect location for seeing the city. We will definitely stay again if we return to Johannesburg.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LC9653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear ‘LC9653’.

Your comments on ‘tripadvisor’ are much appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to do so. It is delightful to read that you enjoyed your all round stay with us, that you also enjoyed our beautiful hotel and experienced our STAFF to be friendly & helpful. How wonderful that you found our location to be of great benefit to you.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kshitiz
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

When i was checking this hotel on the website honestly i dint expect anything but his hotel came as a surprise. The Rooms were nice. Service was good and Breakfast was one of the best in all hotels i stayed on my trip to SA (since i am eggetarian i am unable to comment about Non vegetarian meals ).I also Like Sandton Area. The Neighborhood was cool with shopping malls and all. Even it felt quite safe as we were roaming in the night and found it perfectly fine.

Cons:The only issue was the its a big property and many rooms are far away which might not suit families.

Room Tip: please choose room which are near the reception area
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kshitiz007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear ‘kshitiz007’.
Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’. Your kind words about our Breakfast, service and rooms are much appreciated and we look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & the Balalaika TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I am very disappointed at the standard of breakfast I enjoyed at a seminar at the hotel, I realsied the eggs were under cooked but in my hungry state indulged in the breakfast.
I am 5 days later a victim of very bad case of gastroenteritis.I belive due diligence must be taken in preparing delicate food stuff for people especially for large number of people????
Balalalika this is not what I am used to

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sansa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear ‘Sansa S’.
Thank you for taking the time to let us have your comments.
We sincerely regret that you appeared to have suffered from a stomach ailment, which certainly can be very unpleasant.
It does not however appear possible for you to have contracted this as a result of attending a breakfast seminar at this hotel, because none of the almost fifty other guests, who attended and ate the same food (breakfast ?) reported any symptoms.
Also, the fact that the symptoms arose almost five days after having been here, does seem to indicate that the cause is more than likely to have been something else.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.3 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 48 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#4 of 48 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Address: 20 Maude Street | Sandown, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#11 Business Hotel in Sandton
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton on Maude Street, in Sandton, is located in Johannesburg's economic heartland. The hotel's charming colonial theme is accentuated with wooden elements and delicate floral accents. Each of the 330 classically-styled rooms make guests feel as though they never left home - with a king-size bed, LCD television, electronic safe and a full en-suite bathroom with a walk-in shower. Business executives are catered to with a desk, office chair and international plug points. Complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi is accessible throughout the hotel and the Wi-Fi station situated in the lobby provides convenience for guests requiring instant access to the internet. The English countryside atmosphere defines this four-star hotel as a little bit of country in the heart of Sandton. Birdsong makes guests forget that they are in a bustling metropolis. The Johannesburg Stock Exchange, Sandton Convention Centre and the city's most exclusive shopping mall are a short stroll away. A complimentary shuttle to and from the Gautrain station makes the Balalaika easily accessible. Whether it is for business or leisure, the central location and warm hospitality of the Protea Hotel Balalaika are unrivalled, making it your first and only choice when staying in Johannesburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Johannesburg
Balalaika Hotel
Protea Hotel Balalaika
Sandton Hotel Balalaika
Protea Hotel By Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing