We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hilton Sandton(Sandton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,083)
Filter reviews
1,083 results
Traveller rating
296
490
193
59
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
296
490
193
59
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbull run restaurantlords barcrown courtstock exchangemandela squarebit datedgautrain stationsafe locationbuffet breakfastshopping centrefree shuttlereception areaan oasisshuttle servicebeautiful gardensouth africabusiness district
Filter
Updating list...
503 - 508 of 1,083 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My husband and I booked for two nights from 24 July 2014. We were given a room right next to the construction which was noisy and annoying. We endured about 4 hours of noise until we decided to call reception and ask to be moved to another room. We were then moved to another room that smelt like paint and had to ask to be moved again. The fact of the matter is that we were advised there were many other rooms available away from the noise and this begs the question why we were even given the room right next to the construction.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ker F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear ‘Ker F’.
Thank you for taking the time to write on ‘tripadvisor’. Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointment and inconvenience you experienced due to being given a room close to the construction. Your service experience by no means reflects the high standard we are usually proud to offer. It is always of great importance to us that all our valued GUESTS feel as special & valued as they are and that they leave our hotel well relaxed and satisfied. May we ask if you addressed your dissatisfaction with one of the Managers during your stay?
Again, please accept our sincere apologies. Please feel free to contact Christine, our GUEST Relations Manager (christine@balalaika.co.za) , should there be anything else she can assist you with. It would truly be wonderful to welcome you back and to show you our true service.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We regularly use this hotel when in the Sandton area. It is not the best in any topic (price, service, location, furnishings) compared to other options within 2km, but it is acceptable in all. For the price it is the best option and it has the Bull Run attached to it. In summer I imagine the pools are nice too.

Room Tip: All are nice
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S_W_L192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear ‘ S_W_L192’.
Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’. Your words are much appreciated, even though we would have to say that we believe that we are more than just ‘acceptable’. Our hotel is very unique, with its location, beautiful gardens, friendly & efficient service and of course also oozing old world charm..making many of our valued GUESTS feel welcome and ‘at home’.
We look forward in welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This hotel is a bit different; in such way that it does not 'feel' like a hotel: several 2 to 3 floors buildings, salons with relaxing chairs and an open fire to sip your favorite drink, beautiful homy feeling front desk area, great breakfast buffet.
Okay it is NOT the most fancy hotel I have stayed in. And yes the rooms could use an upgrade and the bathrooms a touch of paint. But still, the peace and quiet, the surrounding and the atmosphere makes it up for the minor points.

But most of all the friendliness of the staff. Helpful as well and with a sense of humor too! The staff is all set to help you (if you have any time) to find a great lodge to go on a gamedrive.
The surroundings of the hotel are just great as well; 5 minutes aways from the Sandtom Mall with great shopping, amazing restaurants and a movie theatre.
Next to this hotel is the Bull Run restaurant that offrs great steaks, superb seafood and this all for a great price as well.

Just a 'suggestion': the housekeeping staff could be a bit quiter in the hallways…

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank terrencets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear ‘terrencets’.
Thank you for your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. Your praise about our STAFF, our hospitality and our breakfast buffet are greatly appreciated. How wonderful that you enjoyed the homely atmosphere. You will be pleased to know that there are many exciting projects in the ‘pipeline’ , one of them focusing on our rooms.
Please accept our sincere apologies about the STAFF being noisy in the corridors; your comment has been taken to heart.
We look forward to welcoming you back ‘home’ again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We only had one night in Joberg due to a long layover from international flights from the US. We wanted to get out of the airport and see at least a little of what Joberg had to offer. This place suited our needs very nicely. It was easily accessible from the Gautrain. Coming in we walked about three long blocks to get to the hotel. Very easy. On the way back the driver from the hotel offered us a ride, apparently the hotel does offer a free shuttle, so we took it. Very nice door to door service. The hotel is also a very short walk (less than 2 long blocks) to very fine eating and shopping options over at the Nelson Mandela square. The room itself was great, hot shower, comfortable bed, and coffee/tea station. We didn't have long here, but if we were staying longer this place was very nice.

It was winter during our trip, but the pool area looked fantastic. Reception area/bar area looked nice, but we didn't have a chance to visit. We also had to leave early and our reservation did not include breakfast, but they do offer that as well.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hdempsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear ‘hdemsey’.
Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’. How wonderful to read that you’re your all round experience was such a positive one and that you were able to relax in our beautiful & tranquil gardens.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I stayed here for a night in June 2014. The location is central and walking distance from the best eating and shopping areas of Joburg. The hotel is built on and around an old mansion, so its a bit confusing (to put it mildly) to get to your room while checking in, but inside the rooms are large and comfortable with modern amenities. The hotel and the lobby has a distinct old world charm about it. The front office staff were helpful and did their best to get an earlier check-in for an entire cricket team (Ambassadors of Cricket). Although we dined out for lunch and dinner, the next morning breakfast was excellent! One of the features of the hotel is a smokers bar which was packed, but ofcourse not that great for non smokers like me! On the whole, highly recommended hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden / swimming pool are on the quieter side and therefore recommended.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VikInd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear ‘Vikind’.
Your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’ is much appreciated. It is wonderful to read that you are one of the many valued GUESTS that enjoyed our ‘old world charm’ hotel and also found our location beneficial to your needs. We are pleased that our Front Office STAFF were able to offer you quick & efficient service.
We look forward in welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews