We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and safe area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Sandton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice and safe area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Nice hotel. Service and restoran are very good. Near to great shopping center (Mandela Square) and flea market.
For early check out consider that breakfast open 6:30 h. Wifi very good and free. No problema with room temperature

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teodoro W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear ‘Teodoro W’.
Thank you for your positive feedback on ‘tripadvisor’. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. Your kind words are much appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    429
    160
    47
    36
See reviews for
120
214
72
396
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
387 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed for two nights before heading out to Kruger Park and private reserves. It was a good spot to meet up with friends, get our bearings, have the care delivered, eat in, etc. Internet was down and a few minor things were not perfect, but overall, it was what we needed.

The hotel dining room serves a very goon buffet breakfast, with a wide variety of fresh foods and made-to-order egg dishes. Service was good. The adjoining restaurant for dinner was convenient and the food decent.

The KLM flight crew was checking in as we did--a good sign.

Finally, the area is a safe one by Joburg standards.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear ‘Bruce M’.
Your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’ is much appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to do so. How wonderful that your all round experience was such a pleasant one.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

This hotel does have character befitting its age. I see that Marriott has agreed to buy the Protea chain. I am not especially a Marriott fan, but that will probably result in some much needed upgrades. I visited for 4 nights in July 2014 -- winter. It was impossible to regulate the room temperature (notwithstanding a simple hand-held device), and there was no heat at all coming into the bathroom. Quite nippy for morning showers. There was a half-centimeter gap between the shower door bottom and the shower frame, such that water poured out of the shower on to the bathroom floor. Only placing a towel on the inside of the shower door whilst showing kept the water from running out of the bathroom into the hall. Mine was not the only room with this issue.

Most of the time, wi-fi did not work in my room, which was annoying because my room was close to the main building.

The gym was unavailable (renovation). With the size of the hotel, it seems that the gym could have been moved elsewhere. If priced competitively, I would probably stay here again because this hotel is not a cookie cutter Marriott type hotel ....

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JP&mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

I have now stayed at this hotel twice - once a year ago and the second time in the last month. On both occasions the service was poor and the much touted "free wifi" simply did not work. I could neither connect my blackberry nor my laptop. When I complained the staff initially tried to say that it was my fault because I had not logged on correctly but after several hours of one of their IT people working through one of their managers they only managed to get me intermittent connectivity on my blackberry. As a result I was unable to communicate with my business or personal contacts in JNB and I had to spend much of each day sitting in a coffee shop in a nearby mall (where the wifi worked perfectly) to try to conduct my business. Unfortunately this was not safe at night so and I therefore failed to conclude a lot of important things.

I twice emailed (from the coffee shop) the General Manager and THREE times asked to speak to him by leaving messages at the front desk. Finally on my last morning there he called me and once again tried to put the blame on me by saying that I had refused to allow one of his IT staff to change settings on my laptop - this was simply untrue - I allowed any of the hotel staff full access to my equipment but at no time whatsoever did an IT specialist come to see me and indeed one staff member did change one setting on my laptop but this had no effect.

The General Manager again tried to say it was my equipment but to my personal knowledge at least THREE other people had exactly the same problem while I was staying there as I was present when they complained to the front desk - they were also told that there was no problem and that they must be doing something wrong!!!

I suggested to the General Manager that he keep a record of such issues as (at least in my opinion) there is a systemic failure in their IT connectivity but he declined this suggestion and once again said there was no problem.

Even when I did get intermittent connectivity on my Blackberry internet searches for sites such as bbc.co.uk were blocked (as an unsuitable site).

When I asked what they were going to do to assist me they offered my ONE phone call to one of my associates and a bottle of wine. I asked to check out twice so I could go to another hotel where the wifi worked but as I had paid in advance they refused to give me a refund so was stuck there.

I will NEVER stay in this hotel again and probably not in any PROTEA hotel either - my company will also use other hotels when in RSA as clearly Protea are not suited to the business of the modern world.

The General Manager will deny this but I am quite prepared to swear in court to this experience if he wishes to take action against me for defaming his hotel and him.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank simoncross1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear ‘ Smnuk’.
Your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’ refers.
We believe that we had tried our utmost to assist you. Our apologies if you felt that this was not to your satisfaction.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

A nice cosy hotel in a good location with good people.

Uncle Y (The concierge) gets a special mention to make our stay a pleasant one.

The building is dated 1949 and has its charm. Some staff are here since years and take pride in their work. Some new blood / new age hospitality staff will add to the place.

Overall a good experience !

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank V M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear ‘V M’.
Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’. Your kind words about the Staff, especially about our Concierge are much appreciated. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your all round stay with us.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

My husband and I booked for two nights from 24 July 2014. We were given a room right next to the construction which was noisy and annoying. We endured about 4 hours of noise until we decided to call reception and ask to be moved to another room. We were then moved to another room that smelt like paint and had to ask to be moved again. The fact of the matter is that we were advised there were many other rooms available away from the noise and this begs the question why we were even given the room right next to the construction.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ker F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear ‘Ker F’.
Thank you for taking the time to write on ‘tripadvisor’. Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointment and inconvenience you experienced due to being given a room close to the construction. Your service experience by no means reflects the high standard we are usually proud to offer. It is always of great importance to us that all our valued GUESTS feel as special & valued as they are and that they leave our hotel well relaxed and satisfied. May we ask if you addressed your dissatisfaction with one of the Managers during your stay?
Again, please accept our sincere apologies. Please feel free to contact Christine, our GUEST Relations Manager (christine@balalaika.co.za) , should there be anything else she can assist you with. It would truly be wonderful to welcome you back and to show you our true service.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We regularly use this hotel when in the Sandton area. It is not the best in any topic (price, service, location, furnishings) compared to other options within 2km, but it is acceptable in all. For the price it is the best option and it has the Bull Run attached to it. In summer I imagine the pools are nice too.

Room Tip: All are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S_W_L192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear ‘ S_W_L192’.
Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’. Your words are much appreciated, even though we would have to say that we believe that we are more than just ‘acceptable’. Our hotel is very unique, with its location, beautiful gardens, friendly & efficient service and of course also oozing old world charm..making many of our valued GUESTS feel welcome and ‘at home’.
We look forward in welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.3 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 49 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.3 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 49 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Address: 20 Maude Street | Sandown, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#11 Business Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton on Maude Street, in Sandton, is located in Johannesburg's economic heartland. The hotel's charming colonial theme is accentuated with wooden elements and delicate floral accents. Each of the 330 classically-styled rooms make guests feel as though they never left home - with a king-size bed, LCD television, electronic safe and a full en-suite bathroom with a walk-in shower. Business executives are catered to with a desk, office chair and international plug points. Complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi is accessible throughout the hotel and the Wi-Fi station situated in the lobby provides convenience for guests requiring instant access to the internet. The English countryside atmosphere defines this four-star hotel as a little bit of country in the heart of Sandton. Birdsong makes guests forget that they are in a bustling metropolis. The Johannesburg Stock Exchange, Sandton Convention Centre and the city's most exclusive shopping mall are a short stroll away. A complimentary shuttle to and from the Gautrain station makes the Balalaika easily accessible. Whether it is for business or leisure, the central location and warm hospitality of the Protea Hotel Balalaika are unrivalled, making it your first and only choice when staying in Johannesburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Southall Travel and Agoda so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Johannesburg
Balalaika Hotel
Protea Hotel Balalaika
Sandton Hotel Balalaika
Protea Hotel By Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing