We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fawlty Towers in the heart of Sandton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I struggle to understand why anyone stays here with the array of similarly priced hotels in the area. I stayed for two nights on business and unfortunately I cannot recommend the hotel and would most likely not return.

The hotel is in desperate need of a makeover. Torn curtains in the room, dirty carpets throughout, cracked tiles and generally peeling interior. The room that I had on the second floor in the rear section was very noisy.

On the upside the staff is generally really friendly and try their best to make work with what they've got.

I arrived at breakfast and there was not a single cleared table available with an exceptionally dirty breakfast area receiving guests. After waiting for five minutes the front desk luckily told me about a place where I could buy breakfast just up the road. A pity that guests staying on a B&B basis have to walk elsewhere to get breakfast. Standing an observing the chaos in the breakfast room it appears to be both a case of simply just insufficient capacity and not enough staff.

Room Tip: Ask if your room is right next to the new construction under way. They start hammering before 6 am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ColdAvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear ‘ColdAvis’.
Your comments on ‘tripadvisor’ refer.
It saddens us to read that your all round experience with us, seemed to have been such a disappointing one.
We believe our hotel to be one of the best in the Sandton area. Our style is very unique, oozing ‘old world charm’ and boasting two beautiful, luscious gardens; not the typical high-rise concrete ‘block’. We believe our service to be friendly & efficient. Our main aim is to ensure that our GUESTS feel welcome and comfortable at all times.
Your kind words about the friendly STAFF is greatly appreciated.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,022)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

446 - 452 of 1,022 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

I was a guest in this Hotel this July. Great safe location, excellent rooms, excellent room service and staff. All the staff were very polite and enthusiastic to help whatever the problem. The staff there even helped me organise all my tours around Johannesburg conveniently from the hotel, to which I had a fantastic time.

I would like to thank all the staff at the Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandon for a enjoyable stay and to add I would happily stay there again. Thank again

Ms Vicky Nicholson

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vicky658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear ‘Vicky658’.

Your comments on ‘tripadvisor’ are much appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to do so. How wonderful that you enjoyed your stay so much and found our STAFF to be very polite and helpful. Your pictures really came out great!
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Very good, clean and modern hotel. Nice rooms including all features you would expect, very good restaurant. We were there 1 night and then got a cab to the airport (400 rands aprox,). Veru attentive service. Would repeat without doubts.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DcRuben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear ‘DcRuben’.
Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’. How wonderful that your all round experience was such a positive one. Your kind words about the attentive service in particular are much appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Reception great, location excellent staff excellent
Rooms are a let down and need serious work to be inline with the hotels reception
Food and restaurant on site good and of value
Valet parking well needed and worked well

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kinetic46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear ‘kinetic46’.
Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’. Your kind words about our STAFF in particular are much appreciated. You will be pleased to know that there are exciting plans in the near future to give our rooms a ‘facelift’.
We look forward in welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Location is great, a few minutes walk from Mandela Square, service is great, 'feels a little like on safari already' is great, rooms are OK if not the best but very comfy and slept well. I will definitely come again !

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DogoWar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear ‘DogoWar’.
Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’. How wonderful to read that you’re your all round experience was such a positive one and that you slept so well.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Nice hotel. Service and restoran are very good. Near to great shopping center (Mandela Square) and flea market.
For early check out consider that breakfast open 6:30 h. Wifi very good and free. No problema with room temperature

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Teodoro W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear ‘Teodoro W’.
Thank you for your positive feedback on ‘tripadvisor’. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. Your kind words are much appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed for two nights before heading out to Kruger Park and private reserves. It was a good spot to meet up with friends, get our bearings, have the care delivered, eat in, etc. Internet was down and a few minor things were not perfect, but overall, it was what we needed.

The hotel dining room serves a very goon buffet breakfast, with a wide variety of fresh foods and made-to-order egg dishes. Service was good. The adjoining restaurant for dinner was convenient and the food decent.

The KLM flight crew was checking in as we did--a good sign.

Finally, the area is a safe one by Joburg standards.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear ‘Bruce M’.
Your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’ is much appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to do so. How wonderful that your all round experience was such a pleasant one.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 46 in Sandton
1,373 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
0.4 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
#11 of 46 in Sandton
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton

Address: 20 Maude Street | Sandown, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#10 Business Hotel in Sandton
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: £61 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton on Maude Street, in Sandton, is located in Johannesburg's economic heartland. The hotel's charming colonial theme is accentuated with wooden elements and delicate floral accents. Each of the 330 classically-styled rooms make guests feel as though they never left home - with a king-size bed, LCD television, electronic safe and a full en-suite bathroom with a walk-in shower. Business executives are catered to with a desk, office chair and international plug points. Complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi is accessible throughout the hotel and the Wi-Fi station situated in the lobby provides convenience for guests requiring instant access to the internet. The English countryside atmosphere defines this four-star hotel as a little bit of country in the heart of Sandton. Birdsong makes guests forget that they are in a bustling metropolis. The Johannesburg Stock Exchange, Sandton Convention Centre and the city's most exclusive shopping mall are a short stroll away. A complimentary shuttle to and from the Gautrain station makes the Balalaika easily accessible. Whether it is for business or leisure, the central location and warm hospitality of the Protea Hotel Balalaika are unrivalled, making it your first and only choice when staying in Johannesburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Splitty, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Johannesburg
Balalaika Hotel
Protea Hotel Balalaika
Sandton Hotel Balalaika
Protea Hotel By Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing