We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Sandton
Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Special Holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

My daughter and I arrived from Perth Australia on a Sunday morning after an 11 hour flight. I had booked a twin room but were taken to a room with a double bed. This was sorted and we were then taken to another room with a twin.
Staff were friendly and the hotel is well presented and the Bull Run Restaurant meals and service were very good and reasonably priced. The hotel is close to Mandela Square and Sandton Shopping City. Not much else to see otherwise. A good place to stay in transit between flights or tours. We had a lot of trouble connecting to the wifi.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear ‘John A’.
Thank you for taking the time to write on ‘tripadvisor’. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we are pleased to read that your all round experience was such a positive one. How wonderful that you also enjoyed the Bull Run Restaurant and found the prices to be reasonable. Our sincere apologies about the WIFI, which has been attended to by our IT Manager.
We look forward in welcoming you back again.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    426
    160
    47
    35
See reviews for
120
211
72
393
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
198 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for three nights and enjoyed it. There is a great pool and the rooms are clean. Staff is friendly and helpful, and the hotel bar is great! Colonial style and good drinks.

Great to visit and within walking distance: The Butcher Shop & Grill. Fantastic meat!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LeidsHertje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear ‘LeidsHertje’
Thank you for your kind words on ‘tripadvisor’ and for taking the time to do so. Your praise about our friendly & helpful STAFF is much appreciated. It is wonderful to read that your all round experience was such a positive one. We look forward in welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

My usual sandton hotel was fully booked, so I decided to try this hotel especially because of its close to the centre do all things Sandton and a part of the protea group as well.

Location wise it is perfect. It's a short shuttle ride from the Gautrain station and if you use a hidden back entrance then this distance is cut to a 150 meter walk straight to the same station. The sandton mall is a straight walk down the road, 5 minutes maximum. The Johannesburg stock exchange is right across the road.

Things go downhill from here. The reception is ably managed by an efficient team, but the area is overdone in a style that I can't quite put my finger on. The rooms are spread round a nice garden with a lovely swimming pool, but beware that you will get lost at least once during your stay. There are so many corridors that lead all over the place including to a 'separate' hotel attached to this property! The signage is poor and you will need to figure it out In order to be able to park your car in the underground parking and also to take the short walk to Gau train station. But don't worry you will be in good company as you walk about trying to find your room.

The rooms are tired and badly in need of a makeover. The interiors are very outdated. Instead of a double bed I got two single beds put together and I could feel the divide between the two. The walls were plain and bare. There was a permanently sited desk with a granite top that was right next to the bed, so no bedside table was present on that side. I guess it was meant to be an in room office.

The Tv was old, but the range of channels was just right.
There were adequate coffee and tea making facilities and supplies.

The bathroom was nice and the toiletries were good. However after every shower the entire bathroom floor would flood as there was a leak between the glass doors.

Would I return or recommend this hotel to someone else........NO! Your better of going somewhere else, great location notwithstanding.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NairobiDreamweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear ‘NairobiDreamwe…’.
Your comments on ‘tripadvisor’ refer. How sad that it seems that your experience with us was such a disappointing one. We believe our hotel to be one of the best in the Sandton area, not to mention its unique Colonial style, our location, our 2 beautiful gardens and of course our friendly STAFF. All our rooms are equipped with 32 inch LG TVs, so one of the best brands. The work-station/desk in the rooms are very popular, as many of our valued corporate GUESTS find them to be very spacious. This is the first time that we have had a complaint about them.
May we ask if you at any stage during your stay voiced your concerns to any of the Management TEAM. I am sure that they would have done their utmost to rectify any shortcomings, like changing you to a king size room?
We wish you well on your future travelling’s.

Kind regards,
Jὄrg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dachau
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Nice hotel with 2 pools and a big green garden in between. I think a had the longest way to the entrance/check in possible. Walking distance, wasn't pleasent. The rooms are ok, but not more. Tv quite small, but very clean. The bed's were good. The WLAN didn't work very good, a lot of sites were blocked, I didn't understand, like News sites, etc. Company access (Cisco VPN) was blocked too, not accecptable for Business travelling. Breakfast was also ok. Overall ok too.

Room Tip: You should get a room near check in, otherwise the Walking distance isn't funny
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foxmuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear ‘foxmuc’.

Your comments on ‘tripadvisor’ are appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to do so. Yes, our beds are truly very comfortable, ensuring a good night’s sleep. - Our hotel is not the typical high-rise, but has 2 luscious gardens. This makes some of the rooms a bit further to walk, however most of our valued GUESTS enjoy the walk through the beautiful gardens. Please accept our apologies regarding the WIFI concerns, which have been brought to the attention with our IT Manager. Please feel free to contact Christine, our Guest Relations Manager (christine@balalaika.co.za), for any future assistance.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

I struggle to understand why anyone stays here with the array of similarly priced hotels in the area. I stayed for two nights on business and unfortunately I cannot recommend the hotel and would most likely not return.

The hotel is in desperate need of a makeover. Torn curtains in the room, dirty carpets throughout, cracked tiles and generally peeling interior. The room that I had on the second floor in the rear section was very noisy.

On the upside the staff is generally really friendly and try their best to make work with what they've got.

I arrived at breakfast and there was not a single cleared table available with an exceptionally dirty breakfast area receiving guests. After waiting for five minutes the front desk luckily told me about a place where I could buy breakfast just up the road. A pity that guests staying on a B&B basis have to walk elsewhere to get breakfast. Standing an observing the chaos in the breakfast room it appears to be both a case of simply just insufficient capacity and not enough staff.

Room Tip: Ask if your room is right next to the new construction under way. They start hammering before 6 am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColdAvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear ‘ColdAvis’.
Your comments on ‘tripadvisor’ refer.
It saddens us to read that your all round experience with us, seemed to have been such a disappointing one.
We believe our hotel to be one of the best in the Sandton area. Our style is very unique, oozing ‘old world charm’ and boasting two beautiful, luscious gardens; not the typical high-rise concrete ‘block’. We believe our service to be friendly & efficient. Our main aim is to ensure that our GUESTS feel welcome and comfortable at all times.
Your kind words about the friendly STAFF is greatly appreciated.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

I was a guest in this Hotel this July. Great safe location, excellent rooms, excellent room service and staff. All the staff were very polite and enthusiastic to help whatever the problem. The staff there even helped me organise all my tours around Johannesburg conveniently from the hotel, to which I had a fantastic time.

I would like to thank all the staff at the Protea Hotel Balalaika Sandon for a enjoyable stay and to add I would happily stay there again. Thank again

Ms Vicky Nicholson

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear ‘Vicky658’.

Your comments on ‘tripadvisor’ are much appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to do so. How wonderful that you enjoyed your stay so much and found our STAFF to be very polite and helpful. Your pictures really came out great!
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Very good, clean and modern hotel. Nice rooms including all features you would expect, very good restaurant. We were there 1 night and then got a cab to the airport (400 rands aprox,). Veru attentive service. Would repeat without doubts.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DcRuben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear ‘DcRuben’.
Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’. How wonderful that your all round experience was such a positive one. Your kind words about the attentive service in particular are much appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.3 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 49 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 49 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Address: 20 Maude Street | Sandown, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#11 Business Hotel in Sandton
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton on Maude Street, in Sandton, is located in Johannesburg's economic heartland. The hotel's charming colonial theme is accentuated with wooden elements and delicate floral accents. Each of the 330 classically-styled rooms make guests feel as though they never left home - with a king-size bed, LCD television, electronic safe and a full en-suite bathroom with a walk-in shower. Business executives are catered to with a desk, office chair and international plug points. Complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi is accessible throughout the hotel and the Wi-Fi station situated in the lobby provides convenience for guests requiring instant access to the internet. The English countryside atmosphere defines this four-star hotel as a little bit of country in the heart of Sandton. Birdsong makes guests forget that they are in a bustling metropolis. The Johannesburg Stock Exchange, Sandton Convention Centre and the city's most exclusive shopping mall are a short stroll away. A complimentary shuttle to and from the Gautrain station makes the Balalaika easily accessible. Whether it is for business or leisure, the central location and warm hospitality of the Protea Hotel Balalaika are unrivalled, making it your first and only choice when staying in Johannesburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Southall Travel so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Johannesburg
Balalaika Hotel
Protea Hotel Balalaika
Sandton Hotel Balalaika
Protea Hotel By Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing