We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Michelangelo Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$248
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$300
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$292
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Sandton(Sandton)
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$601
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$579
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Maslow(Sandton)
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$276
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$251
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,029)
Filter reviews
1,029 results
Traveller rating
622
267
89
27
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
622
267
89
27
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnelson mandela squareleading hotels of the worldpiccolo mondoshopping mallhead conciergeindoor poolbeautiful hotelhigh teadirect accessluxury hotelrooms are spaciouscape townhotel restaurantsandton citytop classbusiness triplong flight
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
535 - 540 of 1,029 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed there with family on 2 occasions in late April and mid May. Although the hotel is a long way from the airport it is well worth the visit and stay. Rooms are clean, tidy and well appointed with great wifi access throughout the hotel we had 2 standard rooms and were very pleased with our selection and the beds were comfy too. Service was carried out with a smile and the staff showed they really liked their hotel and their country. Breakfast was plentiful and you could order what you wanted and have it supplied hot and tasty from the kitchen and cooked to your desire. The concierge Archie was really a great asset and fantastic at his job. You could call on him or his team to assist you in planning or booking excursions that would be ideal for you individual tastes. We did 2 tours and both were well worth it. For a great coffee or drink you could not go past Oscar who toiled hard to ensure your drinks were always fresh and topped up as required. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a great place to stay and remember you are just on Mandela square and close to the largest shopping centre in the Southern Hemisphere with shops to attract all. There is a supply of local restaurants around the square to cater for your culinary desires.
One of the best hotels we have stayed in.

Room Tip: We booked and wee situated on the 5 floor overlooking Mandela Square. Great views and very quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank review53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear review53
Thank you very much for your detailed review posted on Trip Advisor.
I am truly delighted your stay with us was a memorable one and it's always wonderful to hear that our staff, in particular, Archie and Oscar, made your time with us extra special.
My team and I look forward to sharing our genuine hospitality with you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Great location, expectational service and very elaborate breakfast buffet!! Do ask on check-in for a non-smoking room though as they did not ask me when I checked in so I was automatically assigned a smoking room which was a disappointing experience-arriving at 2am did not help much as al I wanted was to sleep. When I returned a day later I made sure to ask for a non-smoking room and had a pleasurable experience with a view of the mall forecourt. I highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the forecourt and balcony.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Angela J
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.
We are thrilled you had a memorable stay with us and enjoyed our breakfast and service. Apologies for being allocated a smoking room initially.
We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Been a few times on business, most recently just for coffee and a short business meeting.
Lovely hotel, very courteous staff, and useful that its connected to the mall so you can wander around the shops and restaurants without any concerns for security.

I usually stay here or the Radisson Blu Sandton when on business. The Radisson is more businesslike and modern, but if you want to leave the hotel and walk around this is much better. Also, if staying for a few days I'd choose the Michelangelo, for just one night I'd go for the Radissson.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mdp77361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Mdp77361
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Top class in every regard. Perfect yet discreet service, Nothing left to chance. From the consierge through to the laundry staff, it was impeccable. Eight restaurants in Mandela square to choose from,

Room Tip: Upgrade to the larger rooms overlooking Mandela square
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brentcaswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear brentcaswell
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.
We appreciate your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

As you enter the road leading to the hotel, its a little disappointing, until you see the fountains just past the entrance. You are greeted with well dresses bell boys willing so serve. You enter on the ground floor and reception is on the 1st floor, different, but once you are in the reception and base upwards, the views that greet you well, they are unbelievable. A large indoor pool full of Koi fish and a beautiful bar area.
The rooms were nice, if not a little worn, but this did not hinder my stay, food in restaurant was great, a night service menu was also available from about 10pm onwards. There were lots of local food outlets to eat from which were great value for money, a lot of the rooms backed onto Nelson Mandela Square. The downside of the hotel was that, outside local prostitutes would stand, and there pimp would sit in the bar keeping a watchful eye on them.
The hotel came with all the normal things that a hotel of this quality would come with, sauna, steam room, indoor pool and pampering area, massage rooms etc. Would I go back to this hotel ? Yes

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N17LNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelangeloSandton, General Manager at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear N17LNE

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. It is wonderful to see that you thoroughly enjoyed our beautiful hotel and it's surroundings and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Regards
Roberto Rosa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews